We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Style”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were at The Wentworth in July - a warm welcome from Charlie, on reception, was a great start to our stay. Our room was lovely and beautifully maintained. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. All the staff we had contact with were helpful and courteous. Many guests enjoyed the outdoor pool.
After a busy day touring, it was a delight to return to the calm and quality of The Wentworth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yedmondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and for sharing your experience of The Wentworth Hotel with the readers of Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share this review with Charlie at the front desk so that he may be recognized for his efforts.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for The Wentworth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is lovely. Our room was in an old outbuilding, which was nice except when the people upstairs moved around or used their bathroom. Room was very dark and was furnished in an old fashioned style, in keeping with the building. Bathroom had huge square jacuzzi. Bed was enormous and very comfortable.
We got free breakfast which was a bonus (and very tasty).
Outdoor pool was unheated, which meant that even though it was a very hot day it was too cold for me!
A wide selection of DVDs can be borrowed from reception.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much or your nice review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the remainder of your New England trip was just as enjoyable.
Thank you again for your visit, especially for traveling from so far and we hope we get to welcome you back someday.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room was wonderful and the bathroom was something else! We enjoyed our stay here on our trip around New England as the accommodation and location was really good.
We had breakfast included and it was a disappointment. The service on arriving at the restaurant was slow, we had to wait some time to be seated.The restaurant manager/supervisor did not smile. Whilst we we were having our meal he advised one of the waiting staff about her attitude whilst in the restaurant in front of residents of the hotel, he needed to take his own advice!
The buffet was good however the cooked food took a while to arrive and was disappointing when it arrived.
There are building works taking place, as we stayed at a weekend we did not experience any noise, however would be unsure what it would be like Monday-Friday when works were being undertaken as close to bedrooms/hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your overall nice review and for giving us five stars even though you were disappointed with your breakfast. I will share your review with the employee in question and thank you very much for bringing this incident to our attention.
In regards to the construction, yes we are just about a week and a half away from completion and nothing occurs on weekends. During the midweek we try to locate our guests away from the construction as much as we can as we have several different buildings that we can accommodate our guests in.
Thank you again, and if you find yourself in our area again we would be very happy if we could have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This property has several wings aside from the main building and I stayed in the Fairlawn Suites, just across the road.

My room was gorgeous, with a separate 'office' area and an outdoor jacuzzi, which I discovered by accident.

The bathroom held another secret...a steam shower...bliss!

The bed was sumptuous and the fireplace kept the room toasty warm.

There was a fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, iPod dock and two TVs, free WIFI and a super breakfast included in the main building.

I also enjoyed a superb dinner in the main dining room, with backlit menus that don't disturb the ambient lighting!

The onsite parking was free and right in front of the building.

I had two very comfortable nights here and I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and for traveling from so far to see us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Fairlawn Suite and your private outdoor hot tub and steam shower. I also really appreciate the nice photographs you posted for others to view.
Thank you again and if you are ever in our part of the world again we would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed an excellent stay at the Wentworth. Our second floor corner room faced the street and the historic church, and was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was excellent. I remember the Wentworth from the 1970's when the buildings were a decaying mess, so It is a joy to see one of the great historic White Mountain hotels well-restored with such attention to detail. Really, thank you for saving a piece of history. And nIce use of enlarged old photos of the property in the dining room. We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the opposite end of the new addition, which is under construction now and a noisy durin...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineAmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor. We feel very fortunate to be the owners of this beautiful historic building and restoring it to it's former glory has been rewarding. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your main inn guest room and your breakfast. Our addition is almost complete and we hope to be open there at the beginning of August, it has been noisy but we try to keep our guests isolated from the construction as much as we possibly can so I am glad that your room overlooking the church was comfortable for you.
Thank you again and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We rented a condo (unit 6C), which was a two-bedroom unit. It was very clean and had lots of amenities (flat-screen TVs, fireplace, 2 full baths, updated modern kitchen). It was perfect for two couples. There was lots of space and plenty of parking in a convenient location. The price was very reasonable (we stayed there in mid-June, 2014). I would stay there again in a heartbeat. The only issue we had was that the A/C didn't seem powerful enough to cool the entire unit, so it was a little warm/stuffy inside. But there was a ceiling fan over the staircase that seemed to help circulate the air. The people at the front desk are super-nice and very helpful! The entire experience was great, and I am looking forward to staying at the Wentworth again soon!

Room Tip: Unit 6C is perfect when the weather is a bit cooler. Our room was a bit stuffy during a June stay...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destiny252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review of The Wentworth Condominiums and in particular the unit you rented 6C. The owners of that unit have done a very nice job of furnishing and decorating it and it has become one of our most requested two bedroom units so your kind comments will be shared with them. I will check on the AC in that unit as I know the owners did some upgrading to the air-conditioning this spring and I apologize that it was not working perfectly for your visit.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our overall experience at The Wentworth was wonderful. The room was very large with a fireplace,large TV (actually 3 tv's in the suite!) , room darkening shades which made the bedroom comfortable, huge jacuzzi tub that we used! , separate water closet, quiet. The negatives . not many .. were smokers smoking on the porch that we used to go in and out to the main dining building across the street (ugh) , needs two more chairs in the bedroom (only the bed in there)
and trays and cream for coffee in the rooms. I carried coffee across the street to our suite and spilled it on myself! The dinner/food was excellent and service wonderful! Beautiful great room, pool room and bar with a piano player, an over all super experience!

Room Tip: Room across the street was fine but you needed to walk across the main street for breakfast, lunch a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaiserkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you so much for your visit to our hotel and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your room in the Fairlawn Cottage. I appreciate your suggestions of additional chairs and trays for transporting coffee across the street. We do have coffee makers in each room so just in case yours was missing we will check all the rooms over there to make sure we are not missing one. I also apologize for the smokers, not something we encounter very often these days thankfullly. The last time we had an issue we set up a nice table and chairs off in the lawn area for a couple who were more than happy to sit out there and smoke in peace so if you do join us again and heaven forbid a similar situation happens, just let us know and we will take care of it creatively.
Thank you again and we hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: £101 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson
The Wentworth Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing