We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wentworth
Nearby Hotels
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$119
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wildcat Inn & Tavern(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RiverWood Inn(Jackson)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Ellis River(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snowflake Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carter Notch Inn(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
627
185
52
27
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
185
52
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hot tubpiano playerfairlawn suitesarden buildingsteam showermy husband and isurround sounddining roommeal planfonduenew englandmain buildingmeal packagebath saltsgas fireplacenorth conwayno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were at The Wentworth in July - a warm welcome from Charlie, on reception, was a great start to our stay. Our room was lovely and beautifully maintained. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. All the staff we had contact with were helpful and courteous. Many guests enjoyed the outdoor pool.
After a busy day touring, it was a delight to return to the calm and quality of The Wentworth.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yedmondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and for sharing your experience of The Wentworth Hotel with the readers of Trip Advisor. I will be sure to share this review with Charlie at the front desk so that he may be recognized for his efforts.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel is lovely. Our room was in an old outbuilding, which was nice except when the people upstairs moved around or used their bathroom. Room was very dark and was furnished in an old fashioned style, in keeping with the building. Bathroom had huge square jacuzzi. Bed was enormous and very comfortable.
We got free breakfast which was a bonus (and very tasty).
Outdoor pool was unheated, which meant that even though it was a very hot day it was too cold for me!
A wide selection of DVDs can be borrowed from reception.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you so much or your nice review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope the remainder of your New England trip was just as enjoyable.
Thank you again for your visit, especially for traveling from so far and we hope we get to welcome you back someday.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Our room was wonderful and the bathroom was something else! We enjoyed our stay here on our trip around New England as the accommodation and location was really good.
We had breakfast included and it was a disappointment. The service on arriving at the restaurant was slow, we had to wait some time to be seated.The restaurant manager/supervisor did not smile. Whilst we we were having our meal he advised one of the waiting staff about her attitude whilst in the restaurant in front of residents of the hotel, he needed to take his own advice!
The buffet was good however the cooked food took a while to arrive and was disappointing when it arrived.
There are building works taking place, as we stayed at a weekend we did not experience any noise, however would be unsure what it would be like Monday-Friday when works were being undertaken as close to bedrooms/hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for your overall nice review and for giving us five stars even though you were disappointed with your breakfast. I will share your review with the employee in question and thank you very much for bringing this incident to our attention.
In regards to the construction, yes we are just about a week and a half away from completion and nothing occurs on weekends. During the midweek we try to locate our guests away from the construction as much as we can as we have several different buildings that we can accommodate our guests in.
Thank you again, and if you find yourself in our area again we would be very happy if we could have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This property has several wings aside from the main building and I stayed in the Fairlawn Suites, just across the road.

My room was gorgeous, with a separate 'office' area and an outdoor jacuzzi, which I discovered by accident.

The bathroom held another secret...a steam shower...bliss!

The bed was sumptuous and the fireplace kept the room toasty warm.

There was a fridge, a Keurig coffee maker, iPod dock and two TVs, free WIFI and a super breakfast included in the main building.

I also enjoyed a superb dinner in the main dining room, with backlit menus that don't disturb the ambient lighting!

The onsite parking was free and right in front of the building.

I had two very comfortable nights here and I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review and for traveling from so far to see us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Fairlawn Suite and your private outdoor hot tub and steam shower. I also really appreciate the nice photographs you posted for others to view.
Thank you again and if you are ever in our part of the world again we would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We enjoyed an excellent stay at the Wentworth. Our second floor corner room faced the street and the historic church, and was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was excellent. I remember the Wentworth from the 1970's when the buildings were a decaying mess, so It is a joy to see one of the great historic White Mountain hotels well-restored with such attention to detail. Really, thank you for saving a piece of history. And nIce use of enlarged old photos of the property in the dining room. We'd happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the opposite end of the new addition, which is under construction now and a noisy during working hours.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaineAmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to share your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor. We feel very fortunate to be the owners of this beautiful historic building and restoring it to it's former glory has been rewarding. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your main inn guest room and your breakfast. Our addition is almost complete and we hope to be open there at the beginning of August, it has been noisy but we try to keep our guests isolated from the construction as much as we possibly can so I am glad that your room overlooking the church was comfortable for you.
Thank you again and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews