We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Gem”

Thorndike's Restaurant at The Monadnock Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Jaffrey
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Mountain Gem”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were first welcomed to the Monadnock Inn on the weekend my wife was to "preach for the call" at a nearby church. Dinner was outstanding, and I keep ordering the Schnitzel every time I go back! (Yes, she was called to that church.) Among other traditions we have built around the Inn is dinner on Christmas Eve after leading the church service. Our visiting children consider this a part of the holiday! The formal dining room (and porch in warm weather) is as good as it gets. The Pub menu is more homey, but just as good. Always our choice for something special.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbMotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After traveling for over a week and eating (so-so) food we decided to try what was recommended as a "high end" (which can mean high priced) place to eat. They said reservations were recommended and we reserved. When we arrived (a bit out in the boonies') we thought maybe they were closed - hardly a car. But, a lovely old inn warm and welcoming from the outside. When we entered, there were a few people at the bar. Otherwise, we were the only ones in the restaurant! So, we weren't sure if this was a good sign or not. But, we were absolutely overjoyed with the meal - San Francisco Yankee Pot Roast - well - I was raised on New England Pot Roast, so of course I had to try this. It was really great - not too much difference. Now, why call it San Francisco when they are located in the heart of New England? Just saying...Would highly recommend it! My husband had New Hampshire Veal Schnizel and that was totally awesome - especially coming from our stop in Gardiner, NY at the Gunk Haus (see our review). Now this is really a German delicacy! It was to die for! We actually felt kinda' special being the only ones there - although with such good food we wondered where everyone was? The room was lovely - fireplace and delicate NE feel decor. Don't miss it if you are in the area! Oh, and you may want to call ahead :O)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happyinmountpleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The best meal I have ever had at a wedding, so delicious!!! We had a roasted statler chicken breast, cooked perfectly, very moist and the prime rib, the thickest most delicious steak ever. The bacon wrapped shrimp was to die for as well. The breakfast was amazing as well. Noel the chef, hats off to you, so yummy! We could not be more happier with the food and the feedback from the guests was the same. We are so thrilled with the Monadnock Inn and would recommend it to all our families and friends. Thank you so much!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
283 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An Old Fashioned New England Inn”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Warm and comfortable atmosphere, moderate noise level, mature crowd, fun bar scene, pleasant an competent staff, good food at fair and reasonable prices. The menus is broad and comprehensive without being overwhelming. The quality of the food was excellent. The portions were satisfying. The piano and vocalist in the background singing and playing music with lyrics you remember from your youth added too the experience. This was our second visit...ther will b more! Plan to spend $65 to 70 for a satisfying dinner for two (plus tip).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAILSOC381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Thumbs up for Thorndike's”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

While visiting family in the area, we dined at Thorndike's to celebrate our third wedding anniversary. Having spent the day in airports without decent meals, we thirsted and hungered for the things foodies love most: great food and drink! Thorndike's didn't disappoint. We began our decompression process with a respective delicious refreshing beverage of choice, and coupled these with appetizers of succulent eggplant and roma bruschetta, as well as the mussels Provencal. Curious, we're certain, were the other patrons on the lovely porch about our ability to converse and positively opine as vigorously as we were devouring our appetizers, which included with no shame, sopping provided crusty bread into the deliciously savory mussel broth until the vessel appeared as if one had simply been on a seashell hunt. For entrees we opted for the veal schnitzel, and the shrimp and crab strudel, both of which were scrumptuous, complemented by a nice red wine. The service, atmosphere, and food, were impeccable, and we would highly recommend and definitely return to Thorndike's at Monadnock Inn when we return to the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 49021David_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thorndike's Restaurant at The Monadnock Inn also viewed

 

Been to Thorndike's Restaurant at The Monadnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing