We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal, disappointing room”
Review of Monadnock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monadnock Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Jaffrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice meal, disappointing room”
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We booked the Inn at Jaffrey because it was conveniently on our way from Vermont to Boston. The inn is welcoming on the outside, parts of the inside could do with a bit of a sprucing up. For instance, the stair and landing carpets were quite worn and the en-suite bathroom could do with a bit of TLC - it was a decent size but the paint was flaking from the walls and ceiling. The bedroom (203) was ok, but was a bit small (no room for bedside tables) and the ceilings were again flaky. Being at the front of the Inn, it suffered from noise from the public areas and we had to resort to earplugs to be able to sleep. The website gave the impression of luxurious bedrooms, but I wouldn't say that this was the case in 203.

The evening meal we had was quite nice. We were particularly impressed with Sandy, the waitress/Jackie of all trades, who was very helpful and friendly. Max was also very helpful and helped us to navigate our way to our hotel in Boston, without his clear directions we would have ended up in a terrible mess!

  • Liked — Convenient location, helpful staff
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toodlepippus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
13
33
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

The Inn at Jaffrey Center, while not in the center of town, is a traditional American inn. The rooms are spacious and fulfill the "quaintness" criteria: if you close one eye or one side of the brain, you can pretend to be in an earlier century or in the household of an eccentric but ultimately loving grand-aunt. The dining room closes early and there is no AC. However, our dinner was lovely, if a little overpriced. On a screened-in porch, we had, among other dishes, wonderful lamb, tomato salad, and fresh bread. The staff at the Jaffrey Center Inn were friendly, spirited, and relatively young. The pub seemed lively and there are many options for rocking-away a few hours on the porch.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank I1240DMdanielr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2007

This 100-year-old inn was quaint and seemed like it was out of a storybook. At night I was afraid of walking up the other guests because the floors creaked. Be sure to request a room on the 3rd floor! The room I stayed in (Bonnie Room) had the most comfortable bed and the heaters, while old, worked very well. It's a laid-back atmosphere so don't be in a rush if you need to check in or out in a hurry. The innkeepers are usually tending to other tasks (such as making breakfast when I wanted to check out) before they can help you. I would go back and stay at the inn though for a real taste of New England life.

  • Liked — the serene location
  • Disliked — noise from creaky floors and restaurant below
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

On a recent trip back east, I had the delightful experience of discovering the Inn at Jaffrey Center,in Jaffrey, New Hampshire. It was truly a unique New England experience!!! The rooms were not only adorable, but cozy as can be. The smell of the home cooked breakfast was what got my boys out of bed each morning. After fabulous days of shopping and sightseeing, it was a pleasure to spend some time in the lounge hob-nobbing with the locals and hearing their tales. I loved the convenience of the restaurant on site so that once we were "home" for the day, we could just sit back and relax. An added bonus was Max, one of the owners of the Inn, who was great at entertaining my two boys and made them feel that they too were important guests at the Inn. It is very rare that a child is made to feel so important and one that made my boys feel like a million bucks!!! We all ended our visit very relaxed and were sad to have had the time go by so quickly. I believe that my boys left with a bit of "Davey Crocket" in their blood after a wonderful, country experience.

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 March 2006

I've stayed at the Inn at Jaffrey Center several times, and I must say I find it to be one of the most charming inns in the world. Having lived as an ex-patriate in Quebec and Western Europe, I can say that the inn ranks among the most lovely places I have stayed. The rooms are very much "old world"... very comfortable, great antiques, crisp linens and most modern bath facilities. The staff is exceptionally courteous, professional & friendly. I sleep so well here, I hate to get up. But the freshly cooked hearty country breakfast is incentive to get out of bed.

As for the bar and inn, they are unrivalled. Max, the bartender and co-owner makes guests feel like family. Noel (co-owner) manages the kitchen which is known throughout the area for it's fine food. Sitting near the roaring fire in the dining room and enjoying a top-notch gourmet meal is truly a pleasure. Topped off with a drink in the antique bar before bed and the visit can be akin to a dream. The Inn at Jaffrey Center gets 5 stars in my book.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2005

We were given a night at the inn of our choice in the Jaffrey area as an anniversary gift and to facilitate attendance at a family event nearby. We tried to find some choices, but came to find that the Innat Jaffrey was the only place with many rooms available. After our stay there it was easy to understand why they had so many empty rooms.

First, it was an unusually hot June day/night. We were in a 3rd floor room, and it was baking. They have NO air conditioning, and there was not even a fan in our room. We had to ask for one. We were also surprised to find that an inn that did not offer television or even much in the way of seating in the rooms also did not offer any common room for the guests. We quickly discovered why.

The whole first floor of the inn is a restaurant, and as some of the other reviews here make clear, the restaurant is their #1 priority. We did not choose to eat there as we wanted some A/C for comfort. It may be good, but that does not change the fact that the inn as an inn is nothing to recommend. A window in our room was broken with taped plastic over it making it impossible to open. While the rooms are nicely decorated, attention to the details of true cleanliness is also lacking throughout. The people working there were perfectly nice, but they made no effort to ask after our comfort, to check in with how we were doing, or anything else. When dinnertime arrived, that clearly became their only focus.

It cooled enough at night that we could sleep, more or less. But the next morning we had to be at breakfast between 7:30 and 9:00 -- we later assumed this was because of the 10:00 Sunday brunch that was, once again, clearly the inn's #1 priority. While we have often stayed at B&B's with only one food option for breakfast, at this inn not only was there only one option, we were never even told what it was until it was sitting in front of us. As a vegetarian, I was shocked to be given a plate of eggs with bacon slathered on top of them without ever having been asked if this was acceptable. When I said as much I received an icy look which was repeated when a new plate of eggs was brought several minutes later. We were never offered juice -- had to ask for it as did others we saw eating, and in general this whole experience was incredibly disappointing. No apologies were offered to us either -- seems this is their policy per another review here.

Do not stay here unless you want to eat and drink downstairs to your heart's content and not worry about driving home. It is not an inn, it is a restaurant with some bedrooms upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RinfromMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jaffrey hotels

Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2005

Our stay at the inn was a big disappointment. It started when we arrived to learn that one of the rooms we reserved would not be available. We had reserved one room with a queen bed and a room with 2 twins for our daughters. The twin room was not available and the only room they had to offer was a very small room with a full bed. As my daughters don't do well sharing a bed, a fact I had told one of the innkeepers when making the reservation, this was not a good option. We ended up giving the girls our room and they put a cot in it while we had the very small room -- not what we had planned!! She told me that she attempted to call us that day but I did not have a message at home or on my cell phone. If I had known of the change, I would have attempted to find another inn.

We did have a very nice dinner, the food was good. The service was slow which was fine. We then went upstairs, it was 9:30 and the girls went to bed. At 10, a party of 35 to 40 people arrived coming from an art auction -- as the pub is at the bottom of the stairs and our rooms were at the top, we were all unable to sleep while the party went on. My husband and I each went down on separate occasions and were told they would be leaving soon -- the party ended at midnight!! If it hadn't been for the pounding of the heating pipes every 1 1/2 hours, we might then have gotten some sleep.

I think the worst thing of all was that when we came down the next morning, not one of the innkeepers said anything about the noise from the night before even though they were fully aware that it had been a problem for us. It wasn't until we went to check out and my husband spoke to owner about the night that the conversation came up. At no time did any one apologize -- instead there was an excuse for everything. We in no way could recommend this inn. It will actually be a long time before we attempt to stay at any inn again.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camptim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaffrey
13.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
13.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
13.4 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
3.8 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monadnock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monadnock Inn

Property: Monadnock Inn
Address: 379 Main St, Jaffrey, NH 03452-6153 (Formerly Inn at Jaffrey Center)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Jaffrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monadnock Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monadnock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monadnock Hotel Jaffrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing