We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love it”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The price and accommodations are reasonable...but other than the flies which are all over the area and cellphone reception which is weak.My family always has an unbelievable time with the hayrides,pools, and friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sintia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are so happy you had a great stay with us! Look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here recently with our 2 year old triplets. We had a great time! The motel room had 2 double beds and was still big enough to set up the kids pack and plays. We had plenty of room to walk around them. The property is in walking distance to Santa's Village...Perfect! The staff is wonderful. We met the owners and they were just so friendly and helpful. This was the first time we stayed here. We were nervous driving up because we kept passing other places that I had checked out on line...they were all complete dumps!...Especially the place directly across the street from Santa's Village... But, when I saw The Lantern...I was so excited and very pleased. Thank goodness we chose this place...we will definitely be back. We are going to make this a yearly getaway for the family. We had only planned on staying 1 night but we were having such a great time we ended up staying 2 nights. We loved the pools, petting zoo and playground. Thanks Lantern!!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor if you have small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lcampb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Lantern Motel and Campground is fantastic. We have been staying at the motel for 10 years. The location is great. Right across the street is Santa's Village. Down the street is Fort Jefferson. There are numerous places to eat and grocery stores a few minutes down the road in Lancaster. The motel's guest have full use of the campground's 2 pools and hot tubs! There is a large playground for the kids to enjoy. There are themed weekends, arts and crafts, hay rides, campfires nightly, and beautiful mountain views! Prices are fair and affordable. The staff are always friendly and helpful. A wonderful place to take family and friends!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy61160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We love to people come back year after year! We are glad you enjoy your stays with us and out themed weekend! Can't wait to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the motel and it was perfect for what we needed! The room was clean and big enough for us. The room felt damp even with the air running full speed, not bad just trying to get towels dried was impossible.

We stayed with the Santa's Village package which included one morning of free Farmer John's breakfast. It was considered an extended continental breakfast. Glad we didn't pay for it, because we would have been unhappy. Kind of skimpy for cost, since it was part of package for us we were fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliottML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are glad you had a good stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Lantern is a combination resort that is directly across the street from Santa's Village, a great place to take children. We usually tent camp although they have a hotel, trailer sites and also rent trailers much as you would a hotel room. The tent sites are huge and they all front on large expanses of grass. All of the sites are shaded with numerous trees. The resort has playgrounds for the wee folk, a small arcade, animals for petting, basketball courts, 2 hot tubs and two pools. Not much missing at this campground. But the best part for me are the log cabin bathrooms and shower facilities. They are in great condition and always clean. When i camp and hike the White Mountains I need a clean place for a long, hot shower at the end of the day and there is none better in the Whites and believe me I have stayed in more than a few campgrounds and checked others for their suitability. Coffee shops and restaurants are about 15 minutes away which is acceptable to me. And of course the display of stars over head is just unbelievable to say the least. I will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookingeastat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us! Our maids work very hard to keep the bathrooms looking so great! They do a great job don't they? We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stop for the night. Staff was helpful, opened up the on site store for us, and was friendly. Laundry room had several washers and dryers. Room was clean and rate was very good. Also has a camp ground on site that looked very nice. Was bikrr friendly.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Juull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternResort, Front Office Manager at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

We are so happy you had a good time here with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family and I recently stayed overnight camping at the Lantern Resort Campground. There were many activities: ceramic painting, hay wagon ride, goats at a petting zoo, pools to swim in and a fun playground for my kids (6 and 2)... and even I enjoyed climbing and swinging.

Our battery died on our vehicle (we blame the toddler for playing with the lights!!) and a very friendly and helpful worker (Amanda, she's wonderful!) saved us by giving us a boost with her vehicle. She was also responsible for the evening activities and saw her many times, she always went above and beyond trying to make our stay enjoyable. Our 6 year old really took a liking to her.

The pool was fun, we went in the beginning of June and it was qiuet and nice. I would go back to this campground.

The ONLY thing I would complain about is that the gates around the pool weren't spring loaded and gates were left open quite a few times in the couple hours we were swimming. I went and closed th gates a few times, but they'd soon be open again. This isn't a big problem for us since we keep a close eye on our toddler, but it still concerns me a bit that a little kid might wander in without a parent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelRoseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
4.4 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
217 reviews
14.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
12.0 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
771 reviews
14.5 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
5.3 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground

Address: Route 2, Jefferson, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jefferson
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Lantern Resort Motel And Campground Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Motel Jefferson
The Lantern Resort Motel And Campground New Hampshire/Jefferson, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing