We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOMEY”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage Barn Guest House
Ranked #2 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Northeast
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“HOMEY”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The owners are very nice, and careful who they rent to, so dont be surprised if she asks you why you are visiting the area. I had a friend who stayed here, and thought everything was great except bedroom walls are thin. They keep the place clean and like to get it done so dont make plans on sleeping late!

Easy to walk up center of town, and get to nearby Keene State College. Not really walking distance to a large Super Market, but if you have a car, only a five minute drive with no traffic. Lots of places to get something to drink up town, about a 10 minute walk up the street as this is the main street everything is on.

The house is a large white New England style house that has been updated and added on.

Shabby Chic

Room Tip: Room with own entrance to the parking area (first floor) that has its own bathroom and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My maid of honor and I stayed at the Carriage Barn for one night while visiting Keene (we are both 20). Check in was at 3. The owners were not at home when we arrive, but their mother was there to greet us. She was VERY old, and VERY adorable. She showed us around and gave us our keys. We stayed in Room 1. It was decorated in a rose theme. There were two twin beds (they were VERY hard), our own bathroom that was very clean and cheerful. In the back there was a closet with extra towels, blankets and pillows. We could control our own thermostat. There was no phone or tv in the room, you had to go to the public living room for that. There is no curfew, which was nice. And Main Street was just a few minutes away. We walked down there for dinner. There is a microwave and a mini fridge filled with sodas for the guests to use for free. The next morning at breakfast we met the owners. Breakfast was waiting for us in the "Breakfast Nook". Fresh fruit was sliced and in a glass with a plastic baggie over it. There was boxed cereal and bagels for you to chose from and toast to your liking. Coffee, Hot water, and OJ was also available. The owners, Dave and Mary Lee came to introduce themselves and we swapped stories. The fire alarm did go off at one point because of burnt toast, and one of the guests commented that it had gone off during the night last night, and the owner said she didn't even know that had happened. Because it was a Sunday morning, they asked us to check out by 9:45 a.m. becasue they go to church. Normally, check out is at 11 a.m. They are both very friendly and probably in their mid 60's. They live in a seperate part of the house. I would not recommend this B&B as a honeymoon or romantic get away desination. The walls were paper-thin and the beds were creaky ;) But for our purposes, it was great.

Room Tip: there are only four rooms, and the one with the twin beds was right near the entrance, so we heard e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Everyone uses websites to check for availability. Please keep your website up to date. It says you have rooms the weekend we want to come up, I call to verify, and no you do not have those rooms available. what a disappointment. Please keep it up to date!

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

What a nice experience - clean, affordable & owners very pleasant. A perfect location right on Main St. - but a huge backyard & quiet spot set off the street. Walking distance to Keene State College and downtown events.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newburyport3940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodstock,ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

as previous review about small shower,well it makes up in superb hospitality ,plan on returning next year for sure,televisions in the rooms would make it a 10

Room Tip: only saw one room so i cant comment on others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

This quaint B & B is located in a prime location in Keene, which is especially beautiful in springtime. Right across the street from Keene State College and within easy walking distance of downtown and the historic, picturesque town square. The B & B is run by a friendly, gracious couple who are very knowledgeable about the area, having lived there all their lives, and will point you in the right direction no matter what you are looking for, be it a special dinner out or sight-seeing and local attractions for the next day. Continental breakfast with juice, coffee and tea, fruit, cereal and English muffins or toast. The grounds are beautifully kept and with a large, meadow-like back yard that makes it feel like the country. The rooms are lovely and distinctive, each in a different color scheme, with quaint touches like wainscoting, antique furniture, and sliding doors that open out onto a little porch. There is also a lounge area, post and beam and decorated with folk art, filled with arm chairs, a sofa, TV, movies, books and games and cold drinks in the fridge, all of which give it a homey, cozy feel. Many of the other guests are repeat visitors, as are we, which makes for a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ted1082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, MA
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Needed a one night place to stay in Keene and always try B&Bs first. Bed was comfortable but the shower very small as was the room. Fine for a night's sleep but that's about it.

Only real complaint is I don't consider a fruit bowl covered with a sandwich bag on the table before you seat yourself, boxed cereal, and fresh bread you can toast as breakfast.

Oh and that trash barrel mentioned by a previous revierer is still there.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
14.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
156 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Barn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Barn Guest House

Property: Carriage Barn Guest House
Address: 358 Main St, Keene, NH 03431-4146
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing