We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to every detail...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Attention to every detail...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

There was a bit of 'Upstairs, Downstairs' to this lovely and lovingly restored home; a well-polished formality. A quiet that had weight to it. It is both elegant and absolutely comfortable. On the days that we stayed, we were the only guests, and the owner was away, so the house truly was ours to enjoy, and we did. There was a pretty living room with cushy sofas and lots of good magazines that I don't usually see, but really enjoy reading on occason, a sitting room with television, and a fine butler's pantry...beautifully restored, where there were drinks in the fridge. We were in good hands each morning for a buffet light breakfast in a beautiful kitchen bright with morning light. Upstairs, around the corner from the stair, I noticed a laundry room unlike any I have ever seen. There was an old fashioned linen press, and the sumptuous vintage linens that made the beds so lovely to sleep in, hung on pegs on the wall. Our room was very nice, well lit, with carefully restored windows that easily opened, and had a wonderful bathroom. The inn is located just two blocks from Main Street, but the nights were quiet. I wish that we had had the chance to meet the owner and creater of this exceptional place; I am sure she is as fascinating as the home she has created.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallymcwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eaton Center, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My son was graduating from Keene state college, and our plans were to stay in Keene for the weekend. Being a flight attendant for 40 years I knew I did not want to stay in a motel/hotel! So I located this b&b in downtown Keene. Wow were we pleasantly surprised when we walked in. The lovely owner was pleasant and the beds and pillows were VERY comfortable!!!! She has a beautiful home and we felt at home. She serves a perfect breakfast. I could go on but this a 10!!!

Room Tip: Choose a good room? All four are delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Joslin has developed a beautiful and inviting guesthouse in this historic property, and she takes great delight in sharing it with her guests. Colony House is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the area - I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a truly first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmsdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stopped there on my way to Boston by bike. My bedroom was great, the living room is perfect and the breakfast was delightful. Keene's beautiful central square is a couple of blocks away. And the host is very friendly.

Perfect spot if you bike around the region!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuillaumeL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Our first time in Keene and in the Colony house, it almost brought us back in time. Everthing was excellent so we extended our stay from 2 nights in to 6.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb_d5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Quiet elegance is the key to this wonderful property. Much thought has gone into making the Colony House a very desirable destination. Enjoy it all!

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely/
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterBConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for a family wedding and received a recomendation for the Colony House. The room was very nice and the private bath (although across the hall) was beautiful. Robes in the room were a nice treat in a B&B. There were little candies in the room and quality bath products in the bathroom. Everything was very clean and well kept. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. It was a very convient location. A great find! I'll would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
12.4 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
14.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 104 West St, Keene, NH 03431-3311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819, the federal-style brick home offers rare accommodations to tourists and business travelers year-round. Situated in the downtown historic district, the house is listed on the National Historic Register and was selected for a New Hampshire Preservation Award in 2005 for excellence in restoration. Based on independent reviews, the Colony House was selected as a "Best of New England" winner in 2008 for fine accommodations, amenities, hospitality and service. Located within easy walking distance of the theatre, shops, colleges, restaurants, parks and walk/bike trails, the Colony House welcomes visitors to this distinctive destination. Guests are treated to an expansive continental breakfast, exquisite amenities including fine linens and china, elegant art and antique furnishings, as well as comfortable contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing