We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Close and Comfortable.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Keene B&B and Inns
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, Close and Comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Colony House for 2 days to attend the annual Pumpkin Festival. We were greeted by the owner the moment we entered the house. The house was very clean and had nice furnishings. The kitchen and dining room were spotless. Our bedroom was roomy and also very clean. The house is located next to a main street but there was hardly any noise. The breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, bagels and very good muffins. We were pleased with the meal. We were pleasantly surprised to find our room already made up by the time we finished breakfast. The house is only a few blocks from Main street and made the stay so much nicer. You could would back to the house and take a break from the Festival in just a few minutes. We don't know when we'll be going back to the festival but when we do we will definitely stay at The Colony House.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scoop5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I loved the Colony House Inn. The rooms are immaculate with old-fashioned looking -- but new -- bathrooms, the breakfasts are simple but delicious, the innkeeper is gracious and intelligent, and Keene is an interesting, pretty town. You are a short drive from some of the prettiest sights in New England. I'd return to the Colony House Inn in an instant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed two nights at the Colony House while I had a business meeting in Keene.

I never met the owner. Was sort of left alone to fend for myself.

The place was clean and nice furnishings. As someone else said there is a stocked fridge so that was nice.

I would stay again if the need arose.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

As others had mentioned, this is how B&B's should be. Very clean, excellent attention to the details. Nice rooms without tons of lace (cannot figure out why B&B's are addicted to lace). Nice breakfast. Friendly folks. Etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woldage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

There was a bit of 'Upstairs, Downstairs' to this lovely and lovingly restored home; a well-polished formality. A quiet that had weight to it. It is both elegant and absolutely comfortable. On the days that we stayed, we were the only guests, and the owner was away, so the house truly was ours to enjoy, and we did. There was a pretty living room with cushy sofas and lots of good magazines that I don't usually see, but really enjoy reading on occason, a sitting room with television, and a fine butler's pantry...beautifully restored, where there were drinks in the fridge. We were in good hands each morning for a buffet light breakfast in a beautiful kitchen bright with morning light. Upstairs, around the corner from the stair, I noticed a laundry room unlike any I have ever seen. There was an old fashioned linen press, and the sumptuous vintage linens that made the beds so lovely to sleep in, hung on pegs on the wall. Our room was very nice, well lit, with carefully restored windows that easily opened, and had a wonderful bathroom. The inn is located just two blocks from Main Street, but the nights were quiet. I wish that we had had the chance to meet the owner and creater of this exceptional place; I am sure she is as fascinating as the home she has created.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallymcwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eaton Center, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My son was graduating from Keene state college, and our plans were to stay in Keene for the weekend. Being a flight attendant for 40 years I knew I did not want to stay in a motel/hotel! So I located this b&b in downtown Keene. Wow were we pleasantly surprised when we walked in. The lovely owner was pleasant and the beds and pillows were VERY comfortable!!!! She has a beautiful home and we felt at home. She serves a perfect breakfast. I could go on but this a 10!!!

Room Tip: Choose a good room? All four are delightful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smilysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Joslin has developed a beautiful and inviting guesthouse in this historic property, and she takes great delight in sharing it with her guests. Colony House is a wonderful place to stay while visiting the area - I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a truly first class experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmsdrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
12.4 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
14.0 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colony House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 104 West St, Keene, NH 03431-3311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1819, the federal-style brick home offers rare accommodations to tourists and business travelers year-round. Situated in the downtown historic district, the house is listed on the National Historic Register and was selected for a New Hampshire Preservation Award in 2005 for excellence in restoration. Based on independent reviews, the Colony House was selected as a "Best of New England" winner in 2008 for fine accommodations, amenities, hospitality and service. Located within easy walking distance of the theatre, shops, colleges, restaurants, parks and walk/bike trails, the Colony House welcomes visitors to this distinctive destination. Guests are treated to an expansive continental breakfast, exquisite amenities including fine linens and china, elegant art and antique furnishings, as well as comfortable contemporary conveniences. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing