We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!”

The Stage Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 97 Restaurants in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Family run business, Chef owned and operated for 34 years
Center Tuftonboro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The wait staff was delightful, very efficient and helpful. We had some of the best calamari ever - tender and delicious. The tempura shrimp over pasta was also tender and nicely seasoned. Even the chicken salad that my husband had was fresh and tasty. The restaurant was within walking distance to our hotel and we had a lovely walk around the charming square after dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harriet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    132
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, Casual atmosphere”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The many different foods that are offered here are delicious and there are lots to choose from. To start, they have wonderful breakfasts from eggs to French toast. Great coffee, For lunch, Sandwiches to soup can be enjoyed. Dinner has full meals from 'soup to nuts.' Great burgers too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisSpring_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The food and service was excellent, glad we came here. The Salmon was well cooked, the Steal Morgan was cooked perfectly. The Calamari was the best my daughter ever had according to her 13 year old opinion. The bread pudding and lava cake were both great.

Helpful?
Thank rjfurce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First time and we will return!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stopped by as we were in Keene at lunchtime. Nicely decorated with a Manhattan theme. Well sized and prepared sandwiches and their corned beef was excellent. Attentive waitstaff. We look forward to returning for more of the same.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarienDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Food very good but parking and floor space difficult”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Restaurant needs a sign - there is none. I had the directions, even OnStar (which turned out to be useless for this specific location), and drove by three times in a confusing area if you are not used to that area of Keene. If you have people in your party who do not walk well, once you locate the restaurant, you will need to stop on the road (which is a turnabout) in front of the restaurant and drop them off. There is no dedicated parking for the restaurant and parking in that area is difficult. We parked in the busy municipal lot which is about a 5-7 minute walk to the restaurant.The name of the restaurant is etched in the window to little avail. When you enter, there is only about 8 square feet to wait for the hostess. So with lines, you will be waiting outside or at the bar - reservations recommended!. The floor space itself is odd. We had a party of six and needed to squeeze in a chair to make it work in a circular less than optimal booth for comfort.. Those are the negatives. Positives are a nice wait staff, reasonably good wait time to be served, and the food was quite good for a reasonable value (although some might think a little pricey). Overall, once we settled in, we had a nice time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebenik, Owner at The Stage Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your dinner at The Stage. Our sign is being redone at the moment but I'm glad you found us! As in any downtown area, parking can sometimes be an issue but unfortunately that is out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Stage Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing