We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Clean rooms and great location. There is a parking lot for hotel guests. Easy walk to Main Street and shops. Staff is friendly and helpful. The television in our room didn't work so they changed our room and gave us complementary breakfast. Pumpkins available to carve for Pumpkin Festival!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastcoastgirl1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    134
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
117
92
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is one block off of the main downtown area -- easy walk to a ton of cute shops and tasty restaurants. There's a food co-op just next door, and a walking path close by. The hotel was clean, modern and the staff was friendly. The room was a good size, well kept and comfortable. The cafe downstairs was great for grabbing a morning coffee and a little bite to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Keene Downtown for the Clarence Demar Marathon. The location was very convenient - within walking distance of the finish line and shuttle pick up point - and also right in the middle of Keene's downtown with all of its great restaurants and shops. Additionally there is a nice biking / running trail right along side the hotel.

The property itself was wonderful. The room was clean and the hotel seemed very well maintained. Overall the Courtyard Keene was the perfect place to stay for the marathon!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algonquin Provincial Park, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Many great reviews, so I will stick with a couple of tips for you. I just stayed here for two weeks in Oct 2013.

Tip: the rooms to the back of the hotel are sunny and bright and look onto the rail trail path and Monadnock Coop grocery store. It is pleasant and open. Rooms to the front of the hotel are dark, rarely see sun, and face a narrow street with buildings immediately across from it. Not as nice. There is a long hall and a short hall on every floor (hard to explain) from the elevator. Less traffic by foot if you get the short hallway (my room was x05), but it is further from the stairs if you plan to take those often and lug stuff up to your room. The short hallway is closer to the elevators, though, but I noticed no excessive noise. Most private room...end of the short hallway (if that is your goal, ask for it).

Tip: a two week stay will get you a lower "long-term" rate. Try it when you schedule online if two weeks is in your plans.

Tip: the Cheshire Rail Trail, paved and good, is right behind the hotel. It travels south for only about 1.2 miles, but it travels west for (I think) 20 miles! It's a great run/walk/bike ride. There is a free map available from the hotel that is better than anything you will find online.

Tip: if you have a rear facing room, you can park in the lot immediately behind the building (currently unpaved) and see your vehicle from your room.

Tip: the streets around the hotel are wonky and sometimes one way, but the way you'll leave the hotel almost every time will be driving west in front of the hotel, then taking your first right by the city parking garage, then proceeding west again on Church Street (past the old Cracker Factory), and then to the Central Sq. rotary, from which you can drive anywhere.

Tip: Keene State College is an easy walk across Main Street and if you get on a paved trail behind it, it will take you right to Wal-Mart parking lot (total distance about 1.5 miles from the hotel). Great if you want to "go green" and throw on a backpack and get a few things.

Tip: the best no-waitress/waiter, order at the counter fast food near the hotel (most of it is sit down, higher end fare, but we don;t want that every time, right?) is Local Burger (one block from hotel) and Amicci's Pizza (two blocks from the hotel) (see separate reviews on those places).

Tip: the pool here is very small, about the size of two king sized beds (no kidding) and unheated. The workout area, though small also, has free weights, a weight bench, two high end treadmills and an elliptical trainer, all with TV attached. Free towels to use.

Tip: you can hear footsteps of those above you, but I did not hear any of the rooms next to me. Try for a high floor (it has five floors), but the view doesn;t make too much difference, low or high.

Tip: the food at the hotel is expensive. There is a Dunkin Donuts down West Street a short walk (0.7 miles) from the hotel that gets busy in the morning; park in the D'Angelo's Sub shop next door (they aren't even open yet).

Tip: the Keene library is an excellent place, with books and resources in an old vintage building, about 0.5 miles from the hotel and worth a stop if you like libraries.

Tip: the best outdoor activity around Keene is Grand Monadnock. It's superb, and worthwhile (you can look up Monadnock State Park on this website). It is about 12 miles from this hotel.

Tip: the quintessential small towns to see right around Keene are Hancock, NH (with oldest inn in NH and a gorgeous church), Dublin NH (home of Yankee Magazine and Old Farmers Almanac--stop in!), and Harrisville, NH (a vintage mill town with plenty of photo ops and a country store serving breakfast and wi-fi).

Tip: the best hot dogs are Lee's Hot Dogs in Baldwinville, MA (25 miles from here, but hey, if you;re going that way, try them out!)

Tip: you can access the hotel by the side door (near the parking) and take the stairs to your room without going past the desk by the front door every time.

Tip: the Keene Sentinel is the long-running local paper, and you can get a one month online subscription for about ten bucks. Nice to start a couple weeks before you come to see what's going on, and also for your duration of stay in Keene. A good use of ten bucks. There is free USA Today each weekday at the hotel lobby.

Tip: the Colonial Theater is two blocks from your hotel, and you should look it up before you go. Movies, art house theater, and performers (Amazing Kreskin, Gregg Allmann, moe, etc.)...if you get tickets, you will be able to walk over, no problemmo.

Tip: Coffee drinkers will find a coffee shop two blocks from the hotel. Free coffee is in the lobby every morning.

Tip: the best burgers in Keene, not just my opinion but voted as such by Keeners, is Elm City Brewery (0.9 miles from the hotel at Colony Mill Shoppes), and it is a great burger. As is the beer. It's worth the walk (but they have plenty of parking). An awesome bookstore is also in the Colony Mills Shoppes, Toadstool Books. A great walk.

Tip: the Courtyard rooms DO have small refrigerator (like one of those college dorm cube jobbies), so bring your drinks and food. The beds are comfy, as are the pillows (and I'm picky about beds and pillows, let me tell you). The bathroom is small but tidy and new, granite countertops. There is a desk and a desk chair.

Hope I didn't overdo it, and I wanted to give you tips since I "lived" here for two weeks. Thanks! A great hotel and a superb city.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are with sunny views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WrenSmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I'm Gold with both Marriott and Hilton so travel is a way of life for me. I very seldom review the places I stay. This hotel is pretty standard Courtyard with amenities but what prompted this review was the exceptional customer service from Ariana. She was very helpful and knowledgeable about the Keene area and helped with ideas for a group dinner I was setting up when other friends came to town. She gets 10 Kudos from me!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
575 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly new Courtyard in a restored building just a block off "main st" . Keene is small but packs a lot of charm into a small area. The courtyard is small also. Clean,we'll maintained , friendly staff. Still has free coffee even though they do have the new "bistro" look courtyards are being switched into. No views but 2 major hiking,biking trails right outside . Worth the reasonable price ,suite had fridge,microwave,sink and 2 TV's, Second sink separated from toilet . Amazingly huge shower.
2 large closets and 2 sets of dresser drawers,great room!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReddyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
267 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The room was very spacious and was laid out nicely. The bed was comfortable with nice linens. The room and the common areas were clean. The staff was very nice and helpful - offering good ideas on where to eat and what to do. The location was great - an easy walk to the lovely main street downtown area.

Room Tip: We had room 423 which was a quiet room overlooking a parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarkow314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
12.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Keene Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Keene Downtown

Property: Courtyard Keene Downtown
Address: 75 Railroad St, Keene, NH 03431-3742
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Keene Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a charming New England town, where historic homes and white-washed steeples line the streets, you'll discover a hotel that offers unparalleled service, amenities and meeting space - the Courtyard Keene Downtown. As the only LEED-certified accommodations in Keene, our commitment to the environment is matched only by our dedication to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Keene Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Keene Downtown Hotel Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing