We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel In a Lovely Small-Town Setting--We Wanted to Stay Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Keene's quaint Main Street would seem reason enough to visit this small town with locally owned shops and wonderful eating establishments. What could make it better? I'll tell you: A stay at The Lane Hotel right in the middle of it all. This is a unique place to hang your hat for an evening or two . . . or three. Of course the staff is courteous--most service industry people are--but these folks seemed to be genuinely interested in making our stay there comfortable. And we enjoyed the manager's cocktail hour, which was an excellent way to launch an evening out.

Our room (107) was beautifully decorated with an urban motif juxtaposed against the historic brick walls. Comfy bed. Cool walk-in shower. Everything was tops. We were reluctant to leave to visit family, and even more disappointed when we stayed at another hotel on our return trip--it simply could not compete with The Lane Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear mindroy,

Thank you so much for the awesome review. I am glad that you enjoyed Keene, the hotel and the team that we have in place. As you pointed out we have been very fortunate to have created a team that genuinely cares and where going ‘above and beyond’ is simply the norm. I am very fortunate to have such a great team in place and I love sharing these comments with them; so thank you again.

I am sorry you could not have stayed with us longer on this visit, but I hope that you will soon be able to come back to the Lane Hotel.

Kind Regards

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Decided to take a trip to get away and stayed at 'The Lane Hotel' in Keene, NH. I had never visited Keene in the past but I absolutely LOVED it! It's a beautiful little town with lots of things to do nearby. I was extremely impressed with the hotel. The atmosphere was beautiful and sophisticated. The room we stayed in was a loft bedroom. Lots of space and very charming. Everything was very well kept and clean. No problems with noise and was able to enjoy a nice relaxing retreat! I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS10283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear MJS10283,

Thank you so much for the super review and your recommendation; we can’t wait for you to return either! I am glad you enjoyed the city of Keene, it really is kind of unknown gem in many ways, so please spread the word.

I think the construction team and interior designer hit the nail on the head with this one. For me, personally, seeing all the colors, patterns and designs before hand was daunting, but it really comes together so well when everything is put together. I was glad to hear you thought it was “beautiful and sophisticated” and that you we “extremely impressed”. This is exactly what we were aiming for when we renovated the hotel, so thank you again for sharing!

Please don’t hesitate to ask for me during your next stay, it is always nice to catch up with our guests.

Best regards

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel and were truly sad to leave it. We were in the two-story room which featured a living room area, two bathrooms, and a loft bedroom area. It was amazing! And for the price we paid it was most certainly a good value. Everything was new (the hotel was apparently renovated earlier this year) and of high quality.

The only disappointing things were the elevator (it took a long time for it to arrive and there are only three floors to the hotel) and the lack of a true restaurant. There is a bar area as part of the main lobby but we didn't try any food that they offered. It worked out fine as there were several diners and restaurants around town, though, it was just something we wish we had known beforehand.

Overall though, we were very pleased with the hotel and with the helpfulness of the staff (they even brought us a refrigerator after we requested one). Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarandsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear oscarandsophie,

We are sad you had to leave too! Thanks for this smashing review, I really appreciate you sharing your great experience. Yes the hotel was totally renovated in May of this year. Nothing was left untouched and as you pint out this really shows.

I apologize for the speed of the elevator and acknowledge that it is not as speedy as many. As far as the restaurant is concerned; the good news is that we have just signed with a partner to lease some additional space within the hotel. This will mean that guests of the Lane Hotel with have direct access to the restaurant without having to go outside. We are working out the details now and please watch for updates, but we expect that we will be open late October of this year and also be able to offer room service.

I am glad you found the staff to be helpful and I am pleased that we were able to get a refrigerator for you. Please never hesitate to ask us if you need something, we love a good challenge and it wouldn’t be the first time we ran right out and purchased a new fridge or microwave for a guest to use ;-) We love making people happy whenever we can.

With kind regards

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

My husband and I somewhat fell upon this new jewel. We had been in a near by town for a family reunion and need a place to stay last minute that allowed dogs. We were impressed to say the least. Very clean, great staff and very welcoming to our two puppies! We enjoyed the hotel and the cute little town so much we stayed another night. For a great a place to rest your head and sleep with ease stay at Lane!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greentraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear greentraveler1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Lane Hotel. I am truly glad that you stumbled upon us and that you made the decision to stay for a second night. I hope that we will see you and your dogs again in the near future.

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The lane hotel was an a very pleasant surprise. My wife and I recently stated here for a weekend getaway, and were wowed by our absolutely massive, and comfortable room. I'm a pretty big bed snob, and the one in our room passed the test. The decor both in our room and in the lobby felt very new and tastefully done - something neither of us had expected. The staff was helpful and friendly on check/in and checkout as well.

All in all, a great stay and someplace I'd definitely stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear Freiert,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we certainly appreciate it. I have to confess that I am kind of a bed snob too, and fortunately so is one of our owners. He decided it was worth spending, what at the end of the day, was a pretty considerable amount of extra money on the beds; and it was well worth it. They are some of the best beds in the industry and after a couple of nights on one you can REALLY tell the difference.

I am very happy that the team at the Lane Hotel took great care of you and we certainly look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the lovely town of Keene.

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We just stayed here for 2 nights, in one of the townhouse rooms. The rooms were immaculate and super stylish and comfortable. Everything seemed to be brand new, and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The location is perfect, right in town, walking distance to great restaurants, etc. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We were in the lower level, huge room, beautifully decorated, very comfortable for family of 6

We'll be back

Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerAB, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Dear Q_warrior,

Thanks for the great feedback, I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay. We have many different room types at the Lane, so have the flexibility to cater to lots of different needs. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely

Alex Bates
Area General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
310 reviews
14.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown

Address: 30 Main St, Keene, NH 03431-3732 (Formerly The Lane Hotel)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: £86 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the contemporary new character of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, one of the most unique and interesting hotels in Keene, New Hampshire. Located within a historic one-hundred-year-old building in the heart of downtown Keene, our completely refurbished boutique hotel offers a splendid bridge between past and present. From its coveted position overlooking Main Street, this treasured gem has been updated with the full complement of modern perks and amenities today's traveler expects. Choose your pleasure of accommodations from our 40 uniquely styled guest rooms, each reflecting the beauty and history of our century-old building. Our well-appointed features and amenities creatively deliver on all your expectations. True to our boutique style, no two rooms are alike, but all share one common trait - every modern comfort imaginable and outstanding guest service. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown unfolds something new around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e f Lane Hotel
e f Lane Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing