We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good well run, clean hotel with good amenities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Yes...a well run hotel not too far from town, in fact about 12-15 minutes walk. It is set back from the busy road so noise is not an issue. There is an authentic Irish pub (I am Irish and know a thing or two about an Irish pub!) and a restaiurant. Our room (150 paces from reception....so get your walking shoes on!) was big, clean nicely furnished with a decent speed wi-fi connection. Bathroom was spotless and had nice toiliteries.

Breakfast was about average+ and had all you would need. It has waffles and pan cake machines (we don't eat either).

A good place to stay for a short break or an overnight.

Room Tip: Take a walk to The Elm City Brewery nearby for a great burger or home brewed beers.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Best Western Plus of Keene. Our location creates a perfect destination for anyone traveling to Southern New Hampshire. We are very proud of our on site restaurant Waxy O' Connors, and are delighted to here you were impressed. Thank you , and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2012

We truly enjoyed another stay at BW. We requested a quiet area in the hotel, and that was provided upon arrival although there was a fairly long walk to the lobby and breakfast area. This hotel has easy access from the highway with several restaurants close by. The hotel has an in-house restaurant which we did not use. Coffee is great and provided 24/7 in the lobby. There is a very nice business center with 2 computers. Flat screen TV is provided with a good channel lineup. We did have a little bit of food residue on the plastic lineup guide. We were provided a "clean" remote for the first time in a hotel. Coffee and tea, a microwave, and fridge are provided in the room. A pool and fitness center are provided although we did not use them. A rubber mat was provided for the bathtub and provides more safety when the bottom of the tub gets slick from soft water and soap.

A wonderful full hot breakfast was provided. We liked using paper cups and plates instead of styrofoam which is not as ecological. There was a real nice courtyard with tables and chairs.

The guest directory needed to be updated. The name on the restaurant was not current, and there was no mention of a fitness center.

Overasll, the hotel is clean and provided a wonderful night's sleep. We will be back when in the area!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaleSwansea_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Thank you for the great review. Maybe upon your next stay you will have the opportunity to enjoy all of the amenities we provide. The onsite restaurant Waxy O' Connors is also a highly rated favorite on TripAdvisor, we highly recommend you give a try on your next trip. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

Very, very pleased with the room, cleanliness, furnishings, and amenities. Was also surprised that they offered more than just a continental breakfast. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with a variety of options. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artistwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our full hot breakfast we provide every morning for our guests. As you mentioned we offer a very extensive menu for breakfast, all at no extra cost. We will be looking forward to your return at the Best Western Plus of Keene, where go beyond our guests expectations.Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed on the way Loudon and were glad to finally relax after a long drive up the east coast. The pool was great and it was a pleasant surprise to find a grill so we could cook out in the courtyard. Keene is such a cute town and just a short drive from the hotel! Nice stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandeemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and your day at the races. We are a proud sponsor of NASCAR and love to accommodate racing fans. We are very conveniently located off the highway, within a mile of both the downtown area, and Keene State College. We hope to see you again at the Best Western Plus for the next race.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Please make sure to read the edit which follows my original review.

The hotel property it self was wonderful except for the fact the drain didn't work in our sink. It took forever for the water to drain.

When making the reservations at the hotel I requested the latest check out possible. I was told that I would be able to stay there until 1pm. Upon check in I doubled checked that the request had been added to our account. The person checking us in informed us that our request could no longer be honored because the hotel was sold out. Had I known this information beforehand I would have stayed at another hotel. I felt the way the staff handled this situation was poor.

Also for people staying here you should know that the second floor has two parts and doesn't connect with each other. For the section we stayed at we couldn't find an elevator to use.

Another important note is that there is a bar connected to the hotel. It is really loud and you might want to request that your room be on the other side of the hotel from it. The bar also makes finding parking very difficult.

Edit: Since I posted this review the manager of this hotel did everything he could to improve my experience. Rest assure if you are to book with this hotel and things to do not go well that Mr. Patel will go above and beyond to rectify the situation. Thanks to him if I am staying in Keane I will give this hotel another chance.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the bar.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreamergirl4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hotel was a mid-way stop on recent trip. It's convenient location was just the beginning of a wonderful stay. Mr. Patel was very welcoming and eager to personally insure our stay was more than satisfying. (He personally provided additional coffee for our room.) Accommodations/amenities were spotless. We appreciated the fact that the AC efficiently cooled our room shortly after arrival. The on site restaurant offered unique as well as traditional pub fare and complete dinners. Would definitely return to this hotel.
Note: As a pet friendly hotel, there was no evidence of furry friends having visited inside or out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for the fantastic review. We are always proud to provide our guests with superior service. We do offer specifically designated pet friendly rooms to our guests, but as you mentioned you would never know it. Our award winning housekeeping staff makes sure the hotel is cleaned with perfection daily. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just spent two nights at the Best Western in Keene. Great budget option. Room was serviceable, despite crack in sink. Overall accommodations were clean and decent. Indoor pool looked lovely, but was cold as ice. Breakfast was slightly above average. Room smelled more than a bit of smoke, lord knows why.

The highlight of the hotel for us was certainly the crazy Irish bar that is attached, Waxy's. Truly looks like it was transplanted panel by panel from Dublin. Tremendous space w pool table, darts, tons of beers, and great atmosphere. We happened upon a jam night, and heard some great live blues. And don't miss the casino in the back. Some crazy NH law allows some bars to have small real low-stakes casinos. This one has poker, blackjack, roulette, and another game.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grrr212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy Waxy O' Connors our on site restaurant and lounge. We offer live entertainment every weekend, so hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
13.7 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
284 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Keene Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431 (Formerly Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: £81 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing