We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A bit tricky to get in out of because of traffic circle. Diner next door so we didn't need to leave after checking in. Very busy at check in so, even with two clerks, it was a wait. Attributing the business for the lack of Premium Card holder freebies. However, the oversight was rectified the next morning @ check out. Also, while checking in, another clerk (?) not on the desk, stepped out to allow my husband a very good covered place to park our Harley. Didn't stay for breakfast. It wasn't complimentary @ this particular place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for the review. We offer covered overnight parking under our canopy, to accommodate motorcycle drivers. We hope upon your next visit you can enjoy our complimentary Full Hot Breakfast we offer every morning. Thanks again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

When in Keene we always stay here and have not been disappointed. It is welcoming, clean and good value at around the $80 mark, inc breakfast. You are a little out of town but a taxi is easy and only a few dollars. The good hotel downtown will set you back $150 plus!
You have shopping/dining options right beside the hotel as well as their own Irish bar and dining.
We had an issue with noisy guests outside our room in the garden at 23.00 and thank goodness there was a quieter room available....but it is not nice to move at 23.00. Our room was big, comfortable and well up to standard.
The reception was being renovated and this should be a welcome addition when opened. Breakfast was served in the bar/dining and was a little disappointing.
But overall this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleyclarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for the fantastic review. As you mentioned we are the best value in town. Each morning we offer a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. We are looking forward to your return, see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while passing through. Called ahead and reserved a room. Checking in was quick and painless. The front desk guy was really nice. This hotel is huge! Our room was huge! The price was incredible! A great value.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Chays L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came back to the Best Western Keene this year when visiting friends because of the great service we had last year. This would have been a five star review but I felt I had to deduct a star for two reasons.

One was the construction in the lobby area which greeted us on check in Friday afternoon. We were not told about it when we made the reservations and it did not make a good first impression. However that being said, we were told at check in that we were placed at the part of the hotel furthest from it. It also had a separate entrance which meant we didn't have to go through the lobby to get to our room. They also didn't do any renovation work during the weekend. All of which helped immensely, so we barely noticed it. For what it is worth, we were told it should be done by next month.

Other issue was internet access. We had problems getting on the free wi-fi on three different devices the first night we were there. Front desk gave us a free 1-800 number to call, tech tried for half hour and was baffled. Then suddenly, devices had internet access even though we did nothing diifferently to access it. We had issues briefly once or twice more during our stay but they resolved quickly on their own. No clue what the issue could have been, too many devices trying to access and too much traffic on the server maybe.

Those were the only minor downsides of our stay, which the staff made every effort to resolve. The positives definitely outweighed those minor issues. Staff was super friendly. Room was clean and neat, we loved the fact there was both a fridge and microwave in the room. Slept soundly both nights we were there. Free breakfast was included and more than adequate- scrambled eggs, sausage, home fries, cereal, coffee, juices, toast, danish, muffins. We checked out the pub late one night when, we got in, great live music, good drink prices, and best of all, they still serve food (snacks menu) after 10pm! Definitely try the margherita pizza, kobe sliders and Philly cheese steak egg rolls!

Location is a short drive from several restaurants (definitely recommend JimEddie's nearby!), supermarket, Walmart, major stores, etc. If you find you need something you will probably find it within a 5 minute drive, Main Street is about 10 minutes away. Centrally located to everything you might need or want. We'll definitely stay here again on our next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellefior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for the terrific review. As you mentioned our location is extremely convenient to many area attractions. We are looking forward to your return visit, see you then !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here on our way back to Boston and, after staying in a different budget chain elsewhere, were relieved to return to BW. As usual the room are clean and a good size, the beds comfy and the staff welcoming. They were having some building work down at the front of the hotel so the office had already moved our room to one further away so we wouldn't be bothered with the noise. Very pleased.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PatienceFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

the location was under construction. one of our rooms smelled horrible. The price was ridiculous due to it be graduation. But i would think it a hotel was under this much construction they would take that into consideration before charging such an over priced amount for what they were offering. I was truly disappointed in Best Western this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank fcompetio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Last weekend we spent a night at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel in Keene, NH because of a basketball tournament that our son participated in. For us it was a rare occasion to travel all together so we approached this as our mini vacation. We booked this hotel expecting to experience a nice little brake away from home.

To our surprise, on arrival we found out that the hotel was a construction site. A lot of noise at the entrance, unfinished dry walls all over the lobby. Not a pleasant feeling. The corridors to the room were in a remodeling state. "At least our room will be a paradise" I wished. Our room was next to several very noisy venting machines and next to the hotel laundry rooms. Outside our room the construction noises were so loud that we had to leave after a few minutes. At least we had to catch the game. During the night a number of loud noises woke me up. I thought that there was a fight going on in the corridor. In the morning I realized it was the washing machines.

The room was clean and spacious. However, there was this "wall click" tic-toc sound coming from one of the walls that you could hear it through the night. In the morning I woke up early was always. I took my book and headed towards some sitting are at the lobby. What was I thinking? Nowhere to sit at the lobby. Back to the room. Reading in the dark not to wake up the others. And talking about dark, I also had to be in the dark at the bathroom because the exhaust was so loud that would wake everybody up.

The breakfast was ok. I did not particularly like the plastic cutlery and paper plates but my wife said that I was whining too much. By the way, the advertised on-site gym was closed because of the construction.

So there you have it. A $60 offering that costed us $200. And at checkout I was not even asked if "everything was ok". I guess they knew the answer already.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 129
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for any inconvenience our renovations may have caused you. We are currently updating our lobby, and breakfast area. We are extremely disappointed that you were not 100% satisfied with your past stay and hope you give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
598 reviews
13.7 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
298 reviews
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Keene Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431 (Formerly Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: £77 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing