We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience with this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible experience with this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I was very disappointed by our recent stay. We were not told prior to check-in that this hotel was under remodeling. It was very inconvenient to say the least, and quite an eye sore. I would have most certainly have not stayed here with my husband and 8 month old twins. The hotel staff were not courteous, apologetic, or accommodating by any means. The list of unacceptable standards was too long for money spent and time traveled. We could not bathe my daughter's in the tub due to it not being clean;there were ants all over the room that they were crawling on; we had a hard time accessing the pool because they were ripping up and putting down the carpet (which also caused another problem when we were checking out and had to bring all of our things out the sliding door because we could not walk in the hall!!) I was very upset at the point of check-out and the front desk clerk (who lied multiple times to me) gave me the general managers card...who I called and left a message for 4 days ago and have not heard anything in response. To sum it all up, I would NEVER stay here again, feel like I wasted my money/vacation, and wouldn't ever recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    156
    76
    48
    27
See reviews for
182
151
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mamaroneck
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ok i stayed here the week of aug 5, 2014. The staff was good and attentive to every question and did keep the rooms very clean. We were told that the hotel was replacing its roof and rugs so the place will a little on the fix up side, which did not bother me.

What i did notice that people were smoking out of the back of the rooms. It may say a non-smoking room but the last person in the room could have been a smoker!

The breakfast needs to last at least till 9:30 am, and they need to change it up, scrambled eggs and sausage every does not work with lack of choices.

The pool needs more attention to regular cleaning….it has lots of long hair in it.

Other then these two issues i have no problem with this hotel.

Room Tip: tell them you want a room away from the pets that stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete-NX-74205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is an older property and some of the earlier reviewers' concerns are accurate--the room decor is uninspiring and a bit worn for sure. The WiFi did not work well, and the TV remote barely worked--probably needed new batteries. (I did not report these things, however). The dark Irish pub was not the most attractive place to eat in the morning, especially with piles of furniture blocking off half of the room.

But the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the breakfast was great. (Fluffy, delicious scrambled eggs, sausage, great bacon, fresh fruit, wonderful apple coffeecake, good coffee and much more. The server came and gave me the last slice of coffee cake "Since I liked it so much" and she didn't want it to" go to waste"!) The front desk folks were very helpful and efficient, graciously giving me a late check out time.

The new breakfast room looks like it will be very attractive--once the remodel is finished, this should be a great place to stay. As it was, I was very comfortable and satisfied with my time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToscaTosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you chose Best Western Plus on your past visit to Keene. We apologize for not exceeding your expectations, we hope you give us another chance upon your next trip to Keene. We hope to see you again soon, Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 seperate times. Each time I have found this hotel to be very clean, the staff helpful, and the rates to be reasonable. If in this area again, I will stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherstocking Region New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

In fairness, the hotel is undergoing a renovation of its' lobby. As a Diamond Elite member I did not get the BEST AVAILABLE room. We could see in some that rooms had been recently updated with tile in the entrance. Our room (#163) had worn out carpet in the entrance. Bed was comfy, with plenty of pillows, but it was DATED. A/C was "smelly", thin walls, tiny bathroom. The room was generally clean, except for thick dust on the headboard. Toilet bowl needed a more thorough cleaning, as we notice on leaving in the reflection from the mirror that underneath the rim was "disgusting".

Plenty of clean towels, dresser space, a fold-out love seat and plenty of room with king bed. Pool area was good, but could only hold 20 max. TOWELS?? I had to go to front desk to ask for pool towels. No signs, or drop off box.

Attached to Waxy O'Connors Pub. We ate lunch there and had a few beers. It was OK. Next morning that is where breakfast was served due to renovations in lobby. Adequate breakfast under the circumstances.

Manage sent me an email response to their website review and offered me a 15% discount next time I stayed...I would rather have some points added onto my account.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, so try to pick one that only has a room on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Flying-Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

If you are visiting Dublin NH for one of The Walden School's summer programs, the BestWestern in Keene is a good choice for accommodations. It's about 15 miles from Dublin, and is probably the closest major chain hotel. Even though the lobby was being renovated, the hotel itself was perfectly adequate, and the adjoining bar/restaurant served food until midnight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank FourEyeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family and I stayed in Keene, NH on our way to our vacation destination. We were given a room that had a glass sliding door onto the courtyard. We had to get up early and drive all day, so we went to bed early at about 8:30 pm. At about this time, a very loud party started out in the courtyard with drinking, whooping and other noises that I could not identify. I tried to go to sleep for about an hour and called the front desk to advise them that we could not go to sleep. The party was still going strong at 10:00 pm, when I had to call the front desk again. This time, the front desk clerk advised me that "You have to realize, they are paying customers, too." After the party finished in the courtyard, it moved up to the 2nd floor. The staff did absolutely nothing to ensure that their customers received the sleep that they paid heavily for. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelToHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren't able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
17.8 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
Address: 401 Winchester Street, Keene, NH 03431-3913 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing