We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lake, no pool, lots of rules, a bit dated.”
Review of The Naswa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Naswa Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice lake, no pool, lots of rules, a bit dated.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Naswa was recommended to me by a local resident. We stayed two nights and I cannot say we were tragically disappointed but just a bit underwhelmed. Rooms are adequate. View outstanding if you get beachside accommodations. Front desk spent a cordial but not warm and friendly five minutes telling us what wasn't allowed on the property. The hallway to the room was narrow and scary, we had to pay first night upfront non-refundable when making reservation then pay for second night non-refundable when we checked in before seeing our room. Gotcha! Lock on our porch side did not work, air conditioning took a full day to finally get the room cooled down, just basic cable. Nice sandy beach and might be a good spot if you have kids, and are looking for a resort thats reminiscent of thirty years ago.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Sorry to hear that our Resort underwhelmed you. At the NASWA we try our best to extend amazing customer service and hospitality to each of our guests. Please accept my apologies since your stay was not all you expected. We have addressed the problems in your review regarding the porch lock and the A/C unit. It is unfortunate you did not bring this to our attention during your stay as it would have been attended to immediately. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the NASWA sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    129
    53
    17
    18
See reviews for
172
144
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I must first say that all of the staff was nothing but pleasant. The young ladies at the front desk, our waitress in the Bistro, and our two house keepers that stopped by every day, were all as friendly as can be. Now for the bad news. Our cabin we booked for 5 days was a dump, not in it's sanitation, but in it's up keeping. Not only was it noticeably slanted from the outside, but the floors creaked badly whenever you walked inside it. The furniture was very old and had much character to it, along with the rugs. The comforter on my bed not only looked like it belonged to my grandmother but it had a cigarette burn at the bottom. The windows had meer shades but no curtains. The a/c worked fine but was extremely noisy and appeared to be from the 80's. The refrigerator and coffee pot in our full kitchen were so old they had yellow stained plastic look to them. It was just not worth the money we spent in my eyes unfortunately. With some good TLC and renovation it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback about the NASWA Resort with others on Trip Advisor. The NASWA prides itself on exemplary customer service and treating our guests as if they were guests in our home. We are glad you were happy with the staff and our customer service.

The NASWA Resort celebrated its 78th year this summer! While the Resort is always neat and clean, we are an older resort with old lakeside charm. With over 80 rooms and cottages it is impossible for us to renovate all our units in one year. Consequently each year several rooms and cottages are updated. There are many units which have already been updated and unfortunately this guest stayed in a cottage which has not been renovated yet. We have invited this guest to stay with us again in one of our modernized rooms and are hopeful they will give us the opportunity to win back their confidence and trust.

Sincerely,
Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My family rented 3 rooms for a family vacation at Naswa. One of the rooms was a pet friendly room as my son wanted to bring his dog. We were assured that the Naswa was pet friendly based on their website and when we contacted the office. However, our dog wasn't really allowed anywhere on the grounds and pretty much was confined to the room. When my son went to the beach for a half hour we got a call from the office saying there was a complaint from the folks staying next door that the dog was barking. Needless to say my son decided to take the dog home and cut the trip short since there really was nowhere for the dog to go on the grounds and there was no sense in both of them being confined to the room. If Naswa were truly dog friendly, they would have at least a designated area for pets outside and would also keep all the pet friendly rooms together instead of intermingling them with non pet rooms. My son ended up leaving a day early and of course Naswa did not reimburse him the extra night he couldn't stay there. We definitely won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thanks for your review of our pet friendly resort. The NASWA welcomes well behaved pets. We have 4 units and one cottage that are pet friendly. Our pet policies and common courtesy rules are posted on our website and explained at check in. When guests arrive with pets they are given dog treats, potty bags and a dog toy. Guests may walk their dogs in designated pet areas and must clean up after their pets. Owners are asked to keep their pets quiet when in the room so not to disturb other guests. Pets are not allowed on our beach however you may take them to Weirs Beach which is just a short walk from the Resort.

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay because of our pet policies which do not allow you to bring the pet into public areas at our Resort. While we ourselves are pet lovers there are other guests who are not and everyones feelings and enjoyment must be considered. We have written this guest privately and hope to have them return to the NASWA with or without their pet. We are confident that their next visit to the NASWA will be a pleasurable one!

Sincerely,

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have been returning to the Naswa since 1983!! You have so much be outdoors for there!! The sunsets r beautiful and the beach bar is fun! (with tables and chairs available IN the water!)The Lake is a better place with the Naswa there!!!

Room Tip: the beachfront is lovely...the food is good at both the Bistro and the Nazbar..great dock hands, eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
For 78 years the NASWA has been hosting and serving guests on the shore of Lake Winnipesaukee. We are blessed with loyal guests like yourselves who have been coming to the NASWA year after year. The NazBar & Grill is a wonderful place to watch a beautiful sunset. Hope to have you relaxing again with us sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston,ma
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

we did not stay at the hotel because we have a home up there. l just want to let you know that the beach bar there is GREAT! we went for the birthday celebration. food was good. service was good. the 'bouncers' were so nice - could talk to them anytime! the location is amazing! there are even chairs IN the water to relax. maybe cabana service at some time?? there are theme weekends throughout the summer - 80's, parrothead, reggae, - you name it!
you can walk barefoot on the beach under the tents to get to your table. kids can splash in water. we will be there ALL SUMMER!! we used to do the margate, we are now going here! keep up the great work guys! love the music and way to relax!

Room Tip: stay on the water side you you have a good view. cottages are cozy but small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed all that is offered at the NazBar & Grill. As you know there are many themed weekends planned for the entire summer. Our entertainment schedule is posted on our website. Don't miss some of the best entertainers and bands in the Lakes Region!

Thanks for sharing and letting others know that the Beach Bar is the best!

Have fun!

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This review is for the Naswa Inn...located across the street from the main building. I was very disappointed with this place. I booked through Expedia, but was charged more than I was quoted. When I asked for a breakdown of the charges (which you don't get, just a credit card receipt with the amount charged), I was told they were unable to accommodate my request....uh, ok, I guess. I spent close to $600 for three nights there (July 3, 4 and 5). The rooms were VERY outdated. The sheets are too small for the bed and kept coming off, exposing bare mattress....YUCK. Hotel beds creep me out as is...never mind waking up to find your face is touching exposed mattress. I had big black ants crawl on me several times...another yuck. They charge extra for a mini-fridge...even though this resort has hardly any amenities...for the price I paid it just should have been included. Small room....old rugs. We went down to the beach to use the boats and were told not to swim there on account of "swimmers itch" cause by too many ducks. Ok, there goes the main reason for us staying there. The boat captain that took us out up front mentioned that he takes tips...I thought it tacky. Breakfast was good, but not enough staff and very slow. We waited so long for our meals that a manager came out and offered my son a free fruit cup while we waited....and we then waited 15 minutes for that to come out....lol. I cant comment on the cottages or other facilities...perhaps they are better. The bar was fun, and the staff all friendly....the only good part in my opionin

Room Tip: Try to get another part of the "resort"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We have contacted this guest and thanked her for posting a review on Trip Advisor regarding her recent stay at the Inn at the NASWA Resort. Our guests’ reviews are taken very seriously and used to improve the facilities, amenities and services offered at the NASWA. We are always sorry to learn that a guest's expectations were not met.

It is not my intent to be argumentative or make excuses but wanted to take a moment to address some of the specific comments in this review. Her reservation was made with Expedia. This is our second season working with a company called Leisure Link. Leisure Link administrates our on line bookings with all of the Expedia type booking agents. It has been a challenge for us to work with them and get our rates and procedures to adapt to their system. Rest assured that we are improving these procedures since many of our guests use these type of booking agent services. We do encourage our guests to reserve directly with us at the Resort to insure the best service and rates.

Around the time that she stayed with us we did have a mix up with our linen service which caused some beds to be outfitted with the wrong sized sheets. This issue has been resolved.

We are happy that this guest plans to return to our resort. We are confident her next visit will be a pleasurable one.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the lake with a private balcony. I can't say enough how wonderful it was. The room wasn't fancy...but was clean and cozy! We rented a boat for the week which we docked there at the resort...which was great. We loved the beach bar where you can have your feet in the water, listening to great live music and having nice cool drinks! The Blue Bistro was unbelieveably good! Breakfast never disappointed us nor did dinner. But what REALLY put our stay over the top was the service. Whether it was at the NazBar or the front desk or at the Blue Bistro...you were made to feel welcome and like you were the most important guest there...you can't beat that! Everyone congratulated us all week...they left us champagne and a card...and it was so great that we booked an extra night! We're thinking of going back for our anniversary! LOVE LOVE LOVE it there!

~Susan Kennedy

Room Tip: We liked the rooms facing the lake with the private balconies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naswa, Owner at The Naswa Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
It was our pleasure serving you during your Honeymoon stay at our Resort ! The NASWA is family operated and our guest's satisfaction is our top priority. We look forward to celebrating your future anniversaries with you at the NASWA! When making reservations please remind us that it is your anniversary!

Cynthia Makris
President
NASWA Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
0.3 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
0.8 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naswa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naswa Resort

Property: The Naswa Resort
Address: 1086 Weirs Blvd, Laconia, NH 03246-1625
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Naswa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Waterfront Resort w/ Hotel Rooms, Studio Suites & Cottages. Family run resort for over 75 years. Located in Paugus Bay on Lake Winnipesaukee. 1000ft of beach frontage w/ dock space and swimming areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Naswa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naswa Hotel Laconia
Naswa Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing