We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another outstanding meal!!!”

Laconia Local Eatery
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Local Eatery features a year-round menu using as much local food as Chef Kevin Hallifan can find. Even through the winter produce will be preserved from summer surplus or greenhouse grown by special arrangement with local farmers.
Gilford, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another outstanding meal!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Tonight, 3 out lf our party of 4 all had the same entrée at Local Eatery- the seared scallops over mashed potatoes and covered with lobster sauce, with asparagus as the accompanying vegetable. Everything was perfect- the scallops were very fresh, perfectly sealed, and melted in your mouth. Hard to find a better dish anywhere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    35
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meredith, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Gem in Laconia”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Kevin is a magician in the kitchen!! We have been eating there pretty regularly since 2012. Never had a bad meal. Love the changing menu to match what's in season. A real gem!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Back East
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Food but reservations/hostess need help -->4.5 Stars”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

FOOD = 5+; RESERVATIONS/HOSTESS = 3 thus a 4.5 Star review. The food was outstanding. We could not believe that this was located in Laconia. The appetizers were great. We had the asparagus, muscles, and empanadas. Very yummy.

As for dinner, the scallops were great to split between two people. The pork loin was delicious as well. The burger came with a ton of fries. The one complaint was the bun was not good.

As for the hostess and reservations, we had reservations and we showed up and were told it would be a bit. While I did notice a table looking like it was leaving soon, I assumed we would be next. WRONG. There was another party in front of us. Certainly, the hostess could have explained this but did not. We were handed a drink menu and told we could wait outside. Nobody came to see us if we wanted to get drinks. As we waited 30 minutes for our table, I could see that having a high school girl run the reservations desk was not a good idea.

Certainly this needs to fixed. Do not take reservations or have call ahead seating and be placed on a list to grab a seat. There is no reason to wait 30 minutes even if they have a small dining room.

Bottom line- we will go back and we will make a reservation but will show up 30 minutes earlier!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misplaced_Childhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sorry”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Last night was the last straw. For the second time at this restaurant we made a reservation for dinner and when we arrived they did not have a table for us. They asked us if we would like to wait outside for a table to clear and my wife said it is raining. We are done with this place they shouldn't take reservations.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant for Laconia”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

We ate here in May 2014. We sat outside on the "patio." I put patio in quotes because its really more of the sidewalk than a patio. Though, the inside of the restaurant looked very nice.

The food was excellent for NH. We started with the samosas, meatballs, and flatbread (the meatballs were really, really good). For entrees we had the hamburger and scallops. Both excellent as well.

I would definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tacostuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laconia Local Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Laconia Local Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing