We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Stay”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Millbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Wedding Stay”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The woman at the front desk when I checked in and out was super nice and helpful. The room was great. The only thing wrong was that I wanted to use the outside pool but it wasn't ready yet. I booked again for a July concert.

Room Tip: If possible... I recommend staying in the building on the lakefront and at the get one of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerspa072671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review. We very much appreciate your rebooking, and our outside pool should be open when you return, as it usually opens in mid-June. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    220
    116
    48
    65
See reviews for
273
202
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was rude, we were not acknowledged when we got there, four of us had hamburgers...they were terrible. Had to chase down a waitress to try and get waters and we were told that she wasn't our waitress. WHITE tomatoes were served on our hamburgers. Location is great, but nothing else is!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I would like to take this time to apologize for your beach bar experience. I am not sure if your visit was on Motorcycle Week, or another extremely busy time of year. Please be assured that our wait staff does do their best to serve each and every guest in a timely manner. As a rule, we do not serve “white tomatoes” as a garnish for the hamburgers. They are a ripened vegetable, and may not have been as red as you would have liked. Again I apologize for that. You didn’t mention any details about your room and our amenities during your stay, but I do hope everything else was to your satisfaction. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Margate Resort while in Laconia last week. The staff was excellent and very helpful. We had a big and comfortable king room with a lake view. The grounds and lake area were immaculate. Due to busy schedule, we were not able to use the pool or hot tub. But, they looked very nice and inviting. The lake view was worth the stay. The only problem was that our room (425) air conditioner was a bit noisy and the electrical plugs were loose, when charging electronics. But, we hated to leave and would definitely stay again. Note, we did not use room service, but once I accidentally clicked on it, I could not uncheck it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C J x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time to write a review for the Margate Resort. Feedback from our guests is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the inconvenience of the air conditioner and outlets. But leaving your room number gives us a chance to do our best in correcting the problem. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Margate is a beautiful place to stay, and it provides a good place to rest after a day at a conference. The only thing I'd suggest is that a more comfortable chair be provided to permit better TV viewing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at The Margate Resort. We are constantly doing upgrades to the rooms and the property as a whole, making every effort so all of our guests have a positive experience. Thank you and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My family and I stayed during a convention, plus one extra day to relax. It was hard to leave! The staff was extremely helpful in making the convention run smooth. They were very accommodating when we needed anything. The waitress who was there for our breakfasts was also there during our banquet. She was so sweet, helpful and attentive, our whole group felt like she was part of our "family". The event manager was also extremely helpful and easy to deal with. I feel like this was more than a business relationship but a friendship. Facility was clean, pool and jacuzzi were sparkling. Just a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting such a great review. We are grateful that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I will pass along your kindness to Michelle, our breakfast Manager. Hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The Margate was everything that I expected from a lakefront hotel and more. First let me say that we are easy going people, we do not stay at 5 star hotels and do not need those amenities to make us happy. The Margate is a bit dated so to speak, but it is clean and accommodating to our families needs. We live in Connecticut so going to Laconia is a hike for us, but we were dying to go there to experience the famous Lake Winnepesauke! We brought our 24 ft boat with us so we could really enjoy the lake. The Margate was very accommodating and let us leave our boat and trailer across the street at their second property. We put our boat in the water daily in a nearby marina, but there are docks that are available right outside the resort on a first come basis. We found ourselves tying up with other boats near the hotel as it is a hang out spot for other boaters. This was really fun to meet so many people from the region as well as vacationers like us. The free breakfast is good, and the add on is nice and reasonably priced for something more substantial. The beach bar has excellent food, but a tad bit pricy. Nice to sit and have a drink and be able to watch my daughter play on the beach. The beach is quite nice for a lake, combed and straightened up each morning. Bon fire almost nightly was a nice addition. The underground tunnel was a nice surprise. The keurig in the room is great! I read it prior and brought enough kcups for the week. The only thing that was upsetting to me was the fact that the roll away bed for my daughter cost a fair amount of money every day that we used it. We travel quite a bit and have never had to pay for a cot before! Not even at Disney! I will bring my own bed for her this next trip as this was money we could have used for a nice dinner or gas for our boat! Overall a great trip. Can't wait to return! Booked our 2014 trip already!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your kind words and your honest opinions. We pride ourselves on our lakefront property and the extras we can offer our guests because of it. The tunnel seems to be a nice surprise for everyone. Our newly upgraded overnight rooms with the Keurig coffee makers, flat screen TVs, and new bedding to mention a few, are one of our new features. Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The rooms have double beds and not queen size. The heating and cooling units are very loud and hard to control . Either very cold or boiling hot. Bathroom was Ok but the hairdryer was broken; front desk said they would send one up "right away" but is took over a half hour and my wife was late to the event we went there for. That did not make for a pleasant evening. Breakfast was passable but nothing special. Kids liked the indoor pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltonfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Judging by the location of the reviewer, the content of the review, and the locations reviewed by this reviewer, and the reviewer of the previous negative post entitled "Nice location but very sub par", this is a duplicate post by the same guests. Therefore we will provide the same response :

Using a tactic that we had not yet seen, this guest contacted our front desk to complain about a broken hairdryer and to demand a new hairdryer be brought to their room (511). They added that they had a negative review written and loaded up on their computer screen, which they would submit if they did not receive the hairdryer within 3 minutes. You are reading this review because we failed to meet the guest-imposed 3 minute deadline. Our front desk call logs note that we received the hairdryer complaint at 6:19pm, and that we followed up with a call at 6:40pm to confirm the hairdryer had been delivered, which it was. That puts our response time at a reasonable 21 minutes, especially on a busy winter ski weekend when we had a full house. On nights like these we have countless requests for extra towels, cots, assistance with luggage, and other various needs which we are happy to accommodate. We are sorry that in a commercial hotel environment, sometimes things like hairdryers will break and I can imagine that it can be an inconvenience, but we are always happy to provide a new one as quickly as possible. In response to the other comments, the bathrooms in our lakefront units measure 6 feet by 7 feet, for a total of 42 square feet, which is a standard sized bathroom for most hotels. Our guest rooms contain a choice of either one king bed, or two double (full XL) sized beds, as accurately advertised on our website and in every booking channel. We had no complaints of no hot water in the lake building on the night of this guest's stay. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectations, and sincerely hope you find a hotel that may better suit your needs the next time you are in the Lakes Region.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#8 of 13 in Laconia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing