We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm great location.. .but rooms are way too damp”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mmmmm great location.. .but rooms are way too damp”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Perfect location on Paugus Bay with beach side bar/restaurant. Food was mediocre but drinks were excellent...also points for convenience. Indoor pool, hot tub and sauna all superb....honest! But our room was so damp...ground floor good size and bathroom was fine with heat lamp but the carpet in the room I swear was wet during our whole stay. They had fans and dehumifiers in.the hall but that didnt help us much....would have been nice to open the lobby bar when it rained but I guess they didn't think of that'...would stay again but never on ground floor facing lake. Also beach chairs were all always taken with no one sitting in them....oh well. Beautiful area!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Dear Elsabud, I appreciate your honest comments. I also understand your frustration with the dampness in the air. The bottom floor of the Lake Building is partially underground which the reason behind this is. As much as we try to battle this, it is difficult to overcome. We do have dehumidifiers in that area to help the situation, but sometimes it is still noticeably humid down there. I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    220
    116
    48
    65
See reviews for
273
202
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is our 5th year staying here. We love the location. The beach, views of the lake, grassy landscape are great. The docks are very convenient and rarely full. Even the free breakfast is good. They upgraded the HVAC and locks in our rooms, but there are still some areas of opportunity. First, the beach bar is ALWAYS understaffed. It's nice that the location and view are perfect since they always take so long to take your order, bring your food, check on you, take payment, etc. Don't plan on getting in/out of the beach bar in less than 90 minutes, even at non meal times. The other opportunity is the pool. There is something wrong with the chemicals or equipment. If you don't wear goggles, your eyes will start stinging and burning as soon as you go under water. As in years past, we told the front desk and were told "we called maintenance." In the end, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for your kind comments and your detailed review. We take all comments seriously and use them as a tool to improve. We have done many upgrades, and we do them constantly. For you to notice is a compliment. Our indoor pool uses bromine as it main chemical. The levels are checked every morning, and sometimes they can fall out of line when the pool is used heavily. But when that happens we do our best to get the chemicals back into balance. We do appreciate your loyalty to the Margate Resort and look forward to seeing you again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

It's still like walking into 1976 when you enter the main building. Very dated. Unused restaurant and bar, such a waste and so much lost revenue. I'm sure it was great in it's heyday but now it's just pretty sad. Mediocre at best options at breakfast. No other meals served except for what limited menu they have at the beach bar and if it's raining the beach bar is closed and you have to leave the premises to eat or order take out.
Our room was ok. We had a slider that opened out onto the beach side. Our bed was lumpy and very loud. One suggestion, curved shower rods will provide more space in the showers.
The staff was very nice.
Please do away with having to pay to use kayaks and boats. That's just ridiculous. I was not going to pay $18 for my son to go out for 15 minutes. The Naswa gives free use of their equipment. And limiting the "free" snow cones and popcorn to one per child pee day is a bit much. How much could it cost to give the kids some free snacks? It's already built into our room price. Throw us a bone. The only reason we returned was because we were in town for the Zac Brown Bamd concerts and needed a place to stay where the kids could swim on the lake.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two4mans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and understand your frustration with the couple of issues you mentioned in your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having the main restaurant open for dinner, but it is not feasible for us to open it at this time; for different reasons. Dinner service in Blackstones was closed in 2004, and since then we offer lunch and dinner service at our Beach Bar during peak season. We do utilize the indoor restaurant and lounge area for other events that suit the Margate’s needs right now; so it is far from wasted space. The kayaks and boat rentals are priced per hour, not 15 minute increments. We do not foresee making this a free amenity. By doing so, the equipment may be monopolized by some guests, making it impossible for other guests to get a chance. Then we would field more complaints and may have to impose limits, much like the free snack limit you mentioned. Regarding the free popcorn and snow cones for the kids, from past experience we decided to limit them for several reasons. 1) Because there was too much waste. 2) Parents would complain that they didn't want the kids to have too much sugar (when serving snow cones) 3) Kids would use the extra popcorn all day to feed the ducks, which is against the law and can create a lake water quality hazard. This free amenity was not priced into the room rates, it was just something we added at our expense to improve the overall summer beach experience for the kids. We are sorry to hear that it was a negative point for your family. But in revisiting this issue, perhaps we can increase the limit to 2 per person per day. I think that is reasonable and at the same time it satisfies the concerns I listed above. Thank you for recognizing our staff, we appreciate it, and we hope you will consider The Margate again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for someplace different to go for a few days last summer. A co-worker recommended the Margate and we are so glad he did. Clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Close to many attractions but also has a very nice quiet beach. We would tell anyone headed to the Lakes Region to book their room at the Margate. Our highest praise for any place is that we go back. We went back this year and are already looking at dates to go back next year as well.

Room Tip: Lake front room with king sized bed is the best bang for your buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our clean rooms and close attractions. Being so close to shopping etc. is definitely a bonus. Our staff works hard at making sure our guests are comfortable and content. We value hearing from our guest and thank you for recommending us to others. It is truly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We spent three nights at the Margate in connection with a concert over at Meadowbrook. The hotel is dated but very clean and comfortable. We had a lake view room and with the air conditioner on, didn't notice any noise during the day or at night. The breakfast is a great value and very good. The best part of our stay was the staff at the beach bar. The food was very good and priced reasonably - not sure what people expect but I realize sometimes you pay for the view and ambiance. Our waitress Olivia was not only very attentive and friendly but gave us the name of a great place to go out to eat and celebrate my husband's birthday. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our beach bar food and the wait staff. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We honeymooned at the Margate and we returned to celebrate our 30th anniversary this month. The Margate is still a great property with a beautiful location right on the lake. We especially enjoyed the lakeside bar and restaurant. the rates are very reasonable for what you get.

Room Tip: Go for the lakefront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed everything about our resort. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed at The Margate a few nights this week - weather was beautiful and the location is great - right on the water, pretty views etc...Our room was across the street and the rooms a little old (please replace the hallway rug - yuc)!!! but otherwise fine. Easy enough to cross street with the cross walk, but be careful as MANY cars do not stop!

Ate at the bar / restaurant each night and the food was ok - nothing great and a little on the pricey end. Ate here more for convenience than anything else. One night 3 people next to me complained and had to send their food back, but was replaced and they seemed fine. The food was also a little cold as it is traveling across a lawn from one building to another - some sort of cover should be put into place which would alleviate this issue.

Overall the staff was good, but at the restaurant there were 2 young female bartenders (Wed night) who were not that friendlly or attentive and also one of them ate some food right in front of everyone - this should have been done elsewhere.

Otherwise - decent stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the Margate Resort. We agree with you that the lake view is breathtaking. Being a family driven hotel, things do get messy at times. Believe it or not, the hallway carpets in the Inn were replaced last year! So that should give you an indication of how much wear and tear we experience just in one summer. Most of it is kids spilling soda, or adults spilling coffee. Sometimes I think more ends up in the carpets than in their bellies! But our housekeeping and maintenance staff work very hard to mitigate these disasters. Especially with the Inn Building, as that is where our family suites are located. We do superficial cleanings of the carpets almost twice a week during our peak time of year, and then a deep clean after the season is over. Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#8 of 13 in Laconia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing