We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place for a quick stop...or longer.”
Review of Belknap Mill

Belknap Mill
Ranked #5 of 23 things to do in Laconia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This mill, no longer active, is one of the oldest of its kind in America, built in 1823.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
982 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for a quick stop...or longer.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I did not have much time in my schedule, so was pleased to find the Mill was a convenient stop in Laconia. There are actually several historic mill buildings in a cluster on the river with a parking lot adjacent.
I went in and was surprised to find the volunteer attendant sitting busily at her desk with the museum exhibits all in the dark. We managed to get the lights on. I did not have a lot of time, so focused on the room with all the different sock machines. They are fascinating. Apparently they run them occasionally. That would be neat to watch. The big wheels out side were also very interesting. I figured it was a fifteen minute or less museum but I could have lingered an hour. Who knew? I did buy some Vermont socks which while expensive are very good. We will see if they are as tough as they claim. I passed on the " made in the museum" socks as looking uncomfortable but they would be nice to hang on the mantle at Christmas.
The grounds are really beautiful. Worth the stop even if the museum is closed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great piece of history in town!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Belknap Mill is a very unique setting for an event. It has a wonderful history, and displays it with ease. If you can afford it, an event here is a worthy option in the Lakes Region.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hoghey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Historic Mill”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Located in the heart of downtown Laconia, the Belknap mill was once the employment centre of the town. Today the mill is a museum that demonstrates what the mill was in the past and even allows visitors to knit their own pair of socks on the original machinery! The nearby Winne-pesaukee River which powered the mill provides scenic views of the town.
From time to time, the mill hosts local art exhibitions and similar activities.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank limeyl8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilford, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Holiday Bazaar and Year Round Events”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The Saturday Holiday Bazaar just before Christmas is a great way to support local crafters and complete your holiday shopping list. Vendors offer a variety of reasonably priced gift items. Visit to see the historic knitting machines, seasonal displays of local artists and the gift shop offerings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historical Gem”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A focal point for history in the Lake Region. We had a private tour from a knowledgeable gentleman. He showed us the knitting and looping machines, described the architecture of the mills, and the generator area. Small, but great for history buffs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianeVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belknap Mill also viewed

 

Been to Belknap Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing