We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laconia, not Lakeport!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Laconia, not Lakeport!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My wife and I were visiting friends in Laconia, New Hampshire, and went online to find accomodation. We found only one hotel in the city and it was, not to be unkind, not what we were looking for. When we got to Laconia and drove around the city, we spotted the Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, as luck would have it less then a mile from our friends. We could not have been more delighted. This is one of the finest places we have stayed. The rooms are magnificent, the beds the most comfortable ever, the staff friendly and genuinely helpful, the pool and the spa are wonderful too. The public rooms of the Inn are spacious and yet comfy, like an old library. It's right on the Lake, too. We did not get the chance to dine there but were told by our friends that the food and service are first class. There are three golden labs to greet you as you enter the lobby, to make you feel right at home, too! We will most certainly be back. I cannot recommend this Inn highly enough. The one thing I would say though, is to Tripadvisor: Although technically in Lakeport, this Inn should also be classified as being in Laconia, as that's what we looked under and I'm sure most other people would too. And to top it off, the price was just right!

Room Tip: Front of the Inn has Lake views, rear has view of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommciver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana2, Owner at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, our continued efforts is to make people feel right at home. We work really hard to keep it clean, quiet and for lack of a better word, homey. One of my favorite things to see is people hanging around in their slippers in our common areas after dinner. Or playing a friendly game of pool with an after dinner drink and good friends. For those that have been able to find us, I thank you for your kind words and am especially happy that we were the place for you. Those that are searching for us, yes, we are in Laconia and working with Trip Advisor to change our address making it easier for travelers to discover us and our guests to find us. Just remember, we are here and ready to provide you with a quality relaxing visit. Remember everyone, travel safe and discover tranquility every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    63
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
153
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

stylish, comfortable and with excellent service
This hotel is beautifully furnished and tastefully decorated. The guests comfort is unmistakeably the priority and wow it works!
Heavenly rooms, luxurious bedding and towels, good breakfast options are just a few of the many comforts on offer. Loved the billiard room, the seating overlooking the lake and little gift shop.
Go shopping at Tilton outlets then come and relax at this gorgeous inn.

Room Tip: front rooms have a view of the lake and come with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Lake Opechee is tucked away in a surprisingly quiet corner of Laconia on the shores a lovely lake. I stayed for business; the proximity to Laconia was an assett. The rooms were very spacious. Mine was rear-facing (cheaper) but had a glassed-in gas firelplace, two comfortable queen beds, a non-HD TV, and plenty of space for a roll-away if necessary. Interned access (only by LAN cable in most rooms) was reliable, straightforward, and rapid(11MBps download) The lake-facing rooms have balconies as well. The rooms were quiet; mine was silent inside despite a large wedding party in my part of the hallway.
The staff was helpful, attentive, and knowledgeable about the region. Logistics are good: parking is easy; the resteraunt looks nice,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potscrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

You've probably guessed by the title of this review that the Opechee Inn is a great destination if you just want to get away from the rat race, throw your cares to the wind, and simply relax. Our room had a fireplace and whirlpool tub, and we had a very nice view of the lake from our balcony. The champagne and chocolates waiting for us on our arrival added just the right touch to a romantic getaway in the rustic Lakes Region of New Hampshire. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, and they made us feel at home. Had a friendly chat with Josh, a relative of the owners, who explained why our room key cards had pictures of three dogs on them as they were the owner's pets. He said they even have dog-friendly rooms at the inn if travelers were of a mind to bring their pups. (But no cats allowed).

As far as the other amenities, we chose not to eat at the on-site restaurant so can't comment on that, but we did experience the spa opting for the package with two 60-minute massages. My wife and I usually have one massage each year, and we both rated this spa experience as one of the best. Denise and Meghan were very pleasant and were attentive to our particular wants and needs while working their magic. Very relaxing indeed.

The king bed was like sleeping on a huge cloud, and for the first time ever in our marriage my wife gave a hotel bed a five-star rating. I think she only rates our bed at home four stars. The only minor downer on our stay was the complimentary continental breakfast, and that was only due to the coffee being a little weak. But, this is coming from an old retired sailor so it's probably fine for most common folk.

Anyway, if you just need to get away from the hustle and bustle of the working world for a few days to recharge your batteries, Opechee Inn and Spa is definitely the place. Throw your cares to the wind and relax, relax, relax.

Room Tip: All of the rooms apparently have fireplaces, but you have to request a whirlpool tub when making you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeke4649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Looking for a couple of days away in New Hampshire, we came across the Inn. It looked just right for a two night stay. It was not disappointing. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. The hotel staff was welcoming and accommodating. The view of the lake from the front lawn was peaceful. The only thing missing was the woods. We would have loved for it to have been tucked in the woods, more secluded. Would we go back? Absolutely, loved every thing else about the inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katemoran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our 47th anniversary...We were told about the Inn by a family friend. The stay began with a greeting from the owners and her three Golden Retrievers. Beautiful, well mannered, sweet and gentle. Would love to take them all home with me. The room was gorgeous, beautiful view over the lake from a lovely balcony. Sunset was spectacular. The room was beautifully decorated with many apparently antique appointments. The linens... had to buy some. (Don't tell hubby) Michelle has created a beautiful, warm and cozy retreatwith a homey feel. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Where do I begin? We had a lakefront room with a balcony and it fit 3 of us perfect with room to spare, great size and the bathroom was big too! Decorated nicely. The bed, oh the bed! The most comfy bed ever! My husband hasn't liked a bed yet when traveling until now! You can buy the linens, comforter, feather bed, pillows and we sure did! How could you not after sleeping in those beds? Clean rooms. The Inn is decorated beautifully and lots of nice spaces to just sit and hang out in. Billards room was a nice place to hang and shoot pool. "O" restaurant was great and the spa was wonderful! Cute gift shop. Michelle and Staff (SIL too) were so nice, made us feel welcomed, kudos to you all! And can't forget about the pups! Love them, Love them! I could watch them play all day! I would highly recommend this Inn and Spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maine5577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana2, Owner at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! That is all an owner and creator can say when someone appreciates what you have done as much as our guests appreciate Lake Opechee Inn and Spa and the Staff (yes including our pups). Everyone here works so hard and they deserve all the accolades they get. A boss can tell them they are doing a great job but when they see it in print from someone out side of the business it means so much more. Thank you for letting them know what a great job they really do! It is a privilege to work with all of them! Travel Safe All!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
3.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Property: Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing