We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected from a spa hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not what we expected from a spa hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We tried to check in early and was told to come back at 3pm. OK fair enough but nobody offered to store bags. The hotel looked almost empty on arrival.
Lisa is phenomenal and was really helpful in making recommendations for hiking. Laconia is about an hours drive from the white mountains so we were disappointed that most of the hiking was a long drive away.
The hotel looks a bit tired, the rooms are big and have the most fantastic view if you get one overlooking the lake. The beds are an acquired taste, they are so soft, you disappear into them!
There is nothing to do around the hotel and it is by no means a resort. Also my biggest gripe was no gym, I have never come across a spa hotel without training facilities, this is the main reason I would not return. The pool is tiny too. Didn't try the spa as I got sick on the first evening.
My tip would be spend another hour in the car and get to a proper spa in the White Mountains.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    63
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
153
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
351 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

If you find this helpful please say so by clicking yes where it asks

Rooms - rooms are big and very well appointed. Beds comfortable. Nice air tub whirlpool for two. Great balconies overlooking the lake.

Location - located in the heart of Laconia yet a street away from the noise. Its near everything but feels so far away.

Service - the staff wouldnt allow me to cancel 48 hrs in advance without charging because they have an unusual 72 hr policy. I didnt find that accomidating. Otherwise they were all friendly.

Breakfast - very basic continental breakfast. For those on a diet - byof. Its all carbs.

Cost - i think it was pricey for what I got but i was there on business. If I were there for the r&r I think it would be well worth it.

Parking - plenty of parking on premisis.

Biggest gripes:

The restaurant attached is just horrible. I wrote a review on them if you should care to know specifics. I personally would NOT eat there and feel bad for the hotel they share space as its a reflection on them. I would never actually stay at this hotel again for that reason only.

The second reason is they dont have a gym. It is hard to imagine a hotel - especially an expensive one not having a gym. Its a must for 30% of their clientele so I would think they lose tremendous business as a result. They do have trails outside for running.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snmurphy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was saved by the Receptionist Lisa who was amazing - other than that this was a real mixed bag of good and not so good. The hotel is in a good location for getting to all of the lakes but you need a car, there isn't really a 'holiday' community on the door step that you could stroll around. There is an industrial unit right next to the hotel that doesn't show in any photos and it was noisy on occasion. The hotel was very clean throughout. The resident dogs Diamond and Kegan a delight. The rooms are all themed which is great if you get a theme that you like but we are not really fans, rather have good simple decor that doesn't make you open the door to the room and say 'oh my'. The beds were a mass of mattress, feather topper and pillows that had me feeling like I had been baked in a sponge cake and couldn't move - I got used to it but it was a bit much. If it were the middle of summer I would think it overwhelming but maybe this was the fall bedding. Breakfast was terrible and like being in a youth hostel where you even have to put your dirty dishes away in the trolley . Everything was individually wrapped in cling film which is ok for hygiene but just really annoying and not at all appetising. On our first morning three members of staff walked by us regularly while we got our breakfast and not one even spoke to see if we were ok let alone wish us a Good morning. The receptionist that morning spent her time having heated personal conversations on the hotel phone and took no notice of guests - really poor customer service. Be aware that the cling film thing goes on in the room too and cups and glasses are covered in it which. When you are tired at night or sleepy in the morning makes for amusing glass filling ! Back to the lovely Lisa - this is the only reason for the rating here. She went well over and beyond her role to take care of us - a real treasure. She organised a microwave in our room because I like tea in the morning that I don't have to get dressed to go and get. She sorted out endless restaurant and attraction guides for us and her eating recommendations were spot on. Thank you Lisa for taking such great care of us.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank julienicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a great time at the location. The staff were excellent and loved the balcony the view and the jacuzzi tub. The room decor was nice and the furniture was comfortable. As a present to ourselves we did the couple's massage our therapists Sara and Meghan were great and added to the great experience. The breakfast was nice and coffee was good. I left a phone charger in room to see if a bad review I had seen was true, I received a phone call the next day and they sent it to me by mail. So overall great experience.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk will tell you the rooms with best views we had the Robin Room great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I went away for a long weekend and racing experience in August. We were pleasantly surprised by the accommodations at the Lake Opechee Inn. They have captured the elegance, simplicity and coziness of a smaller inn. From the minute we walked into the comfortable, New England designed lobby, to the moment we walked into our king bed, cathedral ceiling, fire placed room with balcony, we felt at home. We were there for 3 nights, 4 days and wish we could have stayed longer! The spa was awesome...my husband and I both experienced the services and were very pleased. We were doing a Mario Andretti racing experience in Laudin at the raceway and found the location of the Inn to be conducive to all of our travels! Close to the beaches, racetrack and small towns such as Meredith. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked for our anniversary in February, 2014 before we left!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. All of the rooms are decorated differently and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gigs2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid August. The room décor was pleasant, and we enjoyed having a small balcony. However it actually overlooks the parking lot and then the lake. There is a factory attached to this inn, and if you are staying during the week be prepared to wake up to industry noise. We heard a loud table saw whirring.The breakfast was average, the Jacuzzi tub and bathroom terrific, and our children enjoyed having the small indoor pool all to themselves both nights. We did not sleep well as everything is feather based and the bedding and mattresses were too soft and lumpy to our liking. My biggest complaint was after we checked out my husband had accidently left his new cell phone charger behind plugged in next to the coffee pot. We called later that day, but it was gone! Probably taken by housekeeping or the next guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The biggest disappointment here is that every lake view room cannot avoid seeing the low rise factory/industrial building across the way. I was not prepared for this inn to be in such a "gritty" location, but Laconia is not your typical tourist lake town. It's actually a real town where people live and work all year that happens to be on a small lake right next to Lake Winnepasaukee. If you go into this with your eyes wide open and don't care about the less than ideal aspects of what is here, then the hotel rooms themselves are comfortable and clean and they do provide you with a basic continental breakfast as well as free coffee and tea all day. The televisions in the room are old style rather than flat screen. There is a billiard room and a comfortable lounge with a flat screen tv on the main floor.There is also a small swimming pool and a spa if those things are important to you. By far the best thing about this inn is the attached O's Restaurant which consistently serves superb food. We will not return to the inn but will probably be back to the restaurant next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: Do not pay additional for the lake view rooms since they all look out on the low rise factory/indust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laminmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
3.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Property: Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing