We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Great Experience - Casual Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2007

Room: Spacious, refrigerator, small deck, gas fireplace, TV above the fireplace. When we weren't sleeping, we were in front of the fireplace watching TV relaxing.

Bathroom: Spacious, clean, excellent water pressure, plenty of hot water

Parking: Probably the only issue. Be prepared to walk. It didn't bother us, but could present problems for some.

Value: When we go on vacation, we like to spend so that we can come back refreshed and relaxed. This may be one of the best values we have experienced.

Location: Our intention was to hit hiking trails in the state parks. The centralized location, coupled with the convenience of the outlet mall worked out well for us. We did have a problem finding a variety of restaurants, but we had good experiences in what we did find.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NittanyHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2007

We just returned from a two night stay at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa.. We will never return. It probably seems a contraditiction, but the rooms are beautiful; exceptionally clean and well cared for with many amenities. We would have appreciated a full length mirror for the last look before you go out.

.Despitel the accolades for the physical plant the service was totally unacceptable for accomadations which are at the high end of the scale for the area ($250+ per night).

The inn keeper was totally unresponsive to simple needs based a health condition. I am an insulin dependent diabetic. When I saw there was almost nothing short of instant oatmeal I could eat from the breakfast buffet , I asked to microwave the oatmeal. Although there was a microwave in the back area I was told that guests couldn't use it for health reasons. No offer was made by the inn keeper to at least have one of the kitchen staff do it. I was told to use the water for tea. When I later asked if perhaps a hard boiled egg or a piece of cheese maight be available I was told to put the "complaint" on the guest comment card and leave it at the desk. This again was the directive from the inn keeper. I guess my frustration comes from the fact that we were not staying in a motel room but in a very upscale inn.

Later we asked for directions to a nearby town where there was an Arts and Crafts Fair. We were given a sheet with directions from the town to the Inn and were told to revers directions. End of "helpful" information.

The restaurant at the Inn which serves lunch and dinner and not run by the inn keeper,was excellent; the service outstanding. We will return there.

If you value service and folks just taking a little time to meet simple requests this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

My husband and I decided to take a last minute getaway to the Lakes Region and found that our favorite place, Church Landing at Mill Falls, was booked. We perused the Trip Advisor website and found the Lake Opechee Inn and Spa. We booked a lake view room that had a fireplace and jacuzzi.

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised that it is truly nicer than their website depicts and their website is not bad. We stayed in the Sun City room that had a wonderful South West feel to it with charming antiques and a wonderful bed. The bed is so fluffy and high that they provide a little step stool to help you get into bed. We just loved everything from our room to the restaurant.

We love going to the Lakes Region and now have a tough choice in deciding where to where to stay. If you are looking for a larger place with lots of shops within walking distance then Church Landing is perfect but if you don’t mind a short drive to shopping and other attractions the Lake Opechee Inn is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChancyofMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We like to think of ourselves as professional travelers and have stayed all over New England. The Lake Opechee Inn is definitely one of the nicest and cleanest places we have been to. Every thing was just wonderful from the feather beds to the cozy sitting area by our fireplace.

We enjoyed wine on our balcony and watched wild geese play on the lawn as the sun set over the lake. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. We did have a long wait however; the food was superb and made it all worth wile.

We had a wonderful time and definitely will return. If you are visiting the Lakes Region we definitely recommend the inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimdianej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2007

We have been taking trips for the Lakes Region for years and love the area. We were so pleased to find this new inn that has a little bit of everything but still has the feel of a cozy inn with the service an upscale hotel.

Our room was cozy and very clean with a nice view of the lake, a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub that we could both actually get into. Dinner at the restaurant was superb with some really fun desserts. We recommend trying O Dough. (It is fried dough with ice cream drizzled with hot fudge.)

The staff was very friendly and one the ladies at the front desk gave us a tour of a few of the other guest rooms. They are all different and offer different design themes. We will definitely be back for the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bjohnson591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

I hope it helps others make a more informed decision.

I was very much looking forward to our visit to the Inn. However, I was disappointed upon arrival. The facility is more like a Hotel/Conference facility than a secluded Inn getaway. It is hardly tucked away (as it's right off a main street) or even right on the lake. You can't easily walk down to the water and much of the view of the lake is blocked by the eyesore red building on the left. I feel the website portrayed the facility differently.

The rooms are very Pottery Barn but don't quite have that intimate Inn feel. The facility was very clean.

It is the little things that make getaway spots stand out. As we left, the front desk did not thank us for our patronage. Also, I telephoned the desk at one point to request an address for a restaurant listed in your guest directory (as we were in the car), and was asked why we were not going to the Inn restaurant. We, in fact, were going to the Inn restaurant the next night. All I was asking was for an address.

Additionally, the restaurant experience was disappointing. The food was very good but we were seated at the only two-top flush against the server station, where the waitstaff was constantly present. There were maybe 20 people in the restaurant and we got the worst seat in the house... after asking to be moved because we did not wish to be seated next to a large party nearby with children who were not seated.

As for the spa, the service-providers were wonderful. However, I was highly disappointed with the lack of flexibility in the cancellation policy. My companion was very sick with the flu during our stay and we had to cancel his service. I was still charged half-price for it. Although, I understand the purpose of the policy, I feel as though exceptions can always be made... especially if you are trying to establish a good reputation and encourage return-trips.

Additionally, the prices are a bit much for the location/facility.

We will not be making a return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Jack158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2006

We were actually referred to the Lake Opechee Inn & Spa by another hotel in the area. After reviewing the website we booked a lake view room with a fireplace and jacuzzi and also booked a massage at the spa. When we arrived we were very pleased and surprised that the inn was even better than their website had depicted. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed that had a lot of fluffy pillows and many special touches in the room décor that made us feel at home. The staff was very friendly and the massage at the spa was relaxing. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gregjanadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
3.6 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
24.3 mi away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#3 of 8 in Concord
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Mill Falls at the Lake
Mill Falls at the Lake
#2 of 3 in Meredith
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246-5509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range: £82 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Opechee Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing