We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barton's Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Laconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barton's Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Laconia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

This was a great little spot by the lake. Rooms were pretty basic, but everything was clean and the owner was really nice. The price was cheaper than everything else around and a great value!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchadwick17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were married in the area had family and friends stay there a total of about 15 rooms rented on a weekend after labor day when this place would have been vacant. No heated pool as advertised. He only heats during summer which doesnt make sense. You made $3200 for a weekend and you cant heat the pool for a few days. No umbrellas were put up poolside in 80 degree sunny weather, he flat out right refused to put them up. The beach is full of glass ( not a place for the kids), there are spiders and insects CRAWLING around your door. shower pressure is great. DONT ASK FOR RM 37- there are pumps of some sort under this room that run quite frequently. overall very poor customer service, no attempt to make customers feel comfortable or at home. left vacation early. would not refund even with more than 24 hour notice, had to turn to BBB to force him to refund money. oh but the property does have a good view. rooms are outdated but that we can tolerate, no phone, no hairdryer no coffemakers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank massmom2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The first impression we had once in our room was that we were back in the 60'. Excellent situation close to the lake. Never seen a shower with so much pressure, which we appreciated. Room are ok, but rather small.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brattleboro, vt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Right on the lake, close to Weirs Beach, Gunstock, shopping and dining. Room and pool are clean. Always plenty of hot water (maybe too hot). Was away from the road and it was quiet. The owner is friendly and helpful. There is no microwave, refrigerator, or alarm clock. I thought it was a little pricey, but what place there isn't?

Room Tip: A room in the back should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vt-deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, RI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I have been going to Bartons for about twenty years and enjoy my stay every time I go. The rooms are super clean, very clean pool, and the location is great. You are right on Paugus Bay which is wonderful for swimming too. You are not far from Weirs Beach if you want to go there also. The people who run and work at Bartons are always friendly. I am going there in a couple of weeks and I am so looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

My grandparents have been going to Barton's for the past 50 years on vacation for the 4th of July. My mom took my father there with her parents when they were dating in the 70's. My parents took me there on 4th of July summer vacation since I was 2 weeks old!!! (I'm now 28) Barton's motel is exactly as my grandparents rember it... The only thing that I noticed different was they finally go new bed spreads about 6 years ago! It is very clean and the location is perfect. There are alot of old time rules though, no visitors allowed.. etc. Mr. & Mrs. Barton ran a tight ship and they would be proud to know that things have not changed. I will be there for one night this 4th of July to visit my parents.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbrulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

The first thing I noticed was it is VERY clean. Kudos for everything clean and in repair as yes, this appears to have all the original furniture, fixtures... Very friendly staff, pool looked inviting although it was a little too cool the days we were there to want to swim and the location ON the lake is fantastic. Plenty of room for frisbee, croquet near the lake. Down side was no phone, clock (although you could get the time on the tv), microwave or frige. Accomodations were 2 double beds so for us the rooms are not made for 4 adults. Easy access to Meadowbrook and a movie theater right down the road too. Short drive to Weirs Beach and the Outlet shops in Tilton.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.6 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#12 of 12 in Laconia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
0.3 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
3.2 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#1 of 4 in Weirs Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge at Brickyard Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton's Motel

Property: Barton's Motel
Address: 1330 Union Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2123
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Lake Winnipesaukee. Motel rooms, two bedroom efficiencies, two bedroom cottages. All rooms offer AC, Cable TV, refrigerators and are nonsmoking. Private sandy beach, outdoor heated pool, spacious grounds. Bookstore on premises. Free rowboats, dockage and Wi-Fi. No pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barton`s Hotel Laconia
Bartons Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing