We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“storm sanctuary..”
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Landmark Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
new hampshire
1 review
“storm sanctuary..”
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Durning a recent ice storm and power outage, I stayed in this hotel. I found the service to be very good, and the overall appearance and upkeep of the common areas to be quite nice.
My room was in excellent condition, very clean and well furnished.
Also, the continental breakfast was very good.
If i was a traveler or vacationer to the area, I would have no problem doing an extended stay there. Overall, I would give this hotel a 4.5 -5 out of a possible five stars.
This is especially true when one takes the very cost effective room rate into account.

  • Liked — the rate
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smacsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkInn, Management Team at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 9 January 2009
Thank you for your nice comments about our hotel. Our staff really appreciates it when their hard work does not go unnoticed, and these comments are shared with all employees at the hotel. We really tried our very best to accommodate as many power outage victims as possible, and to make them as comfortable as possible while we waited out the ice storm. The weather was challenging, and the plowing was rough, but we managed to stay operational throughout the duration. We are definitely not a 5 star hotel. However we agree with you that when matched against other hotels with the similar $50-$80 room rate, our product and services give you the biggest bang for your buck, and our rates are always the lowest! Thank you again for your great review.
The Landmark Inn
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    29
    19
    30
See reviews for
35
35
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
franklin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2008

On Dec 12, 2008 My husband and I stayed at the Landmark Inn due to the Ice storm that created state wide power outages. At a time when everyone should be pulling together to help each other, the Landmark Inn is taking advantage of people's misfortune to make their bank accounts bigger. When we first arrived at the Inn we were told to put any number down for our license plate # because we couldn't remember it off hand. Secondly, the first room we were givin had no heat and when we called down to the front desk we were told it takes a while to heat up. We sat in a cold room for an hour, only to find out the heater was broken. We moved into the second room ,the heater worked, but the room was filthy, and the remotes did not work for either room, when we told the front desk all they did was laugh. The following day we still had no power at our home so we decided we should pay for another night because all the other hotels in the area were booked. WE put our service room sign on our door when we left only to come back hours later to find nothing had been done to our room. We had to empty our own trash, ask for towels and cups and more trash bags. Thankfully, 3:30 that afternoon our power was restored! We contacted the Inn to explain to them that we would not be needing the room, so if they needed to give it to someone else they could. I asked them if they were booked and I was told no , they had plenty of rooms. My husband then went and collected our things, so we would not be tying up the room if they needed it. We asked about gettin a refund seeing as we were not going to need the room and we were told we could , but we had to wait till the morning when the manager came in to sign for it. We returned the next day to speak with the manager about a refund. We were told we would not get our money back because it was The " Inn's Policy". At not time were we ever shown the Inn's policies or told about them. We were told we were not the only ones who were not getting a refund, that their were a dozen other people who were just as upset about not getting a refund due to their power being restored. So not only did we not get our money back but neither did at least a dozen others. Therefore, the Landmark Inn made at least $1000.00 that night for providing no service to patrons. To me that is "stealing"! The man at the front desk was very rude and unprofessional and when asked for his name , he refused to give it to us. I left messages with another manager , general manger, and the owner only to get no response from anyone on this matter! I have contacted the better business bureau, the newspapers, consumer affairs, and will continue until this is made right!!!! This was one of the worst displays of unprofessionalism, human compassion, immoral conduct I have ever seen!! They ought to be ashamed of what they have done. With the economy what it is, and the fact that this was an unforseen misfortune for so many people. not to mention it being a week before Christmas . WE are middle age couple ., and my husband works very hard for his money and with times like they are ,we are living like most of the people today, paycheck to paycheck. So I would NOT recommend the Landmark Inn to anyone for any reason!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — stealing our money
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandmarkInn, Management Team at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, 20 December 2008
The Landmark Inn was pleased to be able to offer our services, at the lowest rates in the area, during the ice storm crisis.

We typically have a 24 hour cancellation policy, however, during this storm we made and exception and allowed guests to cancel their room by 4pm if power was restored at their home. Anyone still booked in the hotel after 4pm was considered "in for the night", and a refund would not be available. We believe this to be more than reasonable.

The above review was made by a guest who was not eligible for a refund, and threatened to post a negative review on the internet if they didn't get a refund. The guest had paid approximately $80 on the morning of 12/13, for a room for that night because they wanted to ensure they had a warm place to stay during the storm. The guest returned to the hotel at 8pm looking to cancel and get their money back. Because it was so late, we were unable to give them a refund.

Up until what time of night should we have allowed guests to cancel without penalty? 8pm? 10pm? How about midnight? We had to draw a line somewhere, and we decided 4pm was very accommodating.

A lot of the other complaints listed by this guest were also unfounded. The guest claims there were 10 others who did not get a refund. In actuality there were only a handful of cancellations that day, most of which occurred before 4pm, and those guests received a full refund.

Unlike other hotels who may have doubled their rate due to the increased demand, we kept our rates steady, and tried to accommodate as many "refugees" as possible. We are happy to be able to offer the lowest rates around, and what we think to be the best value for anyone looking to stay in the lakes region.

Thank you,
The Landmark Inn
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Laconia hotels

Yeagertown PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

We stayed at the Landmark Inn in Laconia NH from Oct. 2nd to Oct 6th. The purpose of our trip wa to work on our property in North Haverhill NH, visit with friends and family, from a centrally located site. The rooms are not the latest style, but are very clean and very satisfactory. The staff is very helpful, the continental breakfast is well done, and ample. The location is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We will use this hotel exclusively due to costs, during the next 2 years as we develop our land. A great value in a great area!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nhivefreeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the hotel and found it to be a great place. The staff was very cordial, the rooms were clean and adequate for the price and the breakfast the next morning had everything you could want . I thought the decor charming and loved the woodwork in the elevators.
It was a change from the moldy old cabins on the water that we had rented in the past.. We will go back for sure.

  • Liked — clean, inexpensive,good breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldiceskater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vermont
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2008

The hotel was good for the most part. The young girl behind the counter that did the check in was helpful and polite. the lobby was nice and well furnished but could use and update. the rooms were clean but yet again could use an update. The hotel is pretty well located to be able to get around laconia and the weirs. the breakfast was good in the morning and well stocked but the coffee was terrible, good thing theres a dunkin's down the road. the guy in the morning for check out was unpleasant and didnt seem like he wanted to be there. Overall it was good for the money.

  • Liked — top floor had a good view
  • Disliked — could be updated
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yankee_candle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

We are so happy we decided to stay at Landmark Inn. The people we so friendly. The continental breakfast was a great addition. Rooms were clean and we got our rooms cleaned along with fresh towels everyday. Would reccomend to anyone.

  • Liked — price, area, staff
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank chrismoore2554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

I have been looking at most of these reviews, many times as I navigate to get the Landmarks telephone number, It seems that most of these travelers have high expectaions on a low budget.
I have stayed at the Landmark many times over the years to go boating on the big lake, and like most boaters, I spend more to lodge my boat than I care do do for myself.
The Landmark is the leaste expensive place around the lake to stay short of a campground. While the lobby is impresive and yes the rooms are short of a five star motel, but they are far from poor. You can expect to pay 2 or 3 times the money for a mom and pop motel in the area and experience much worse conditions, there are a couple of up scale places but expect to pay 4 to 5 times the Landmarks room rate. And to add you have free coffee around the clock, and in the morning free muffins, bagels, cereal's for the kids & more. But sounds like most of these postings are from the starbucks followers, so go spend your $30 bucks for a couple of coffee's and danish. Someone complained about the lack of absorbant bath towels..really.
Go to New York and grab a room at the plaza,

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank skysthelimitNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
4.3 mi away
Econolodge Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
13.3 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
7.1 mi away
Super 8 Tilton/Lake Winnipesaukee
4.6 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Property: The Landmark Inn
Address: 480 Main St, Laconia, NH 03246-3742
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Inn is a seven story hotel centrally located in downtown Laconia, NH. At The Landmark Inn, we believe you should have the comfort and convenience you deserve at the affordable rates you want. The Landmark gives you all the charm and comfort of a country inn with quick and easy access to a number of area attractions. Continental breakfast and free wireless internet access are included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Laconia
Landmark Hotel Laconia
Landmark Inn Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing