We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for one or two nights”
Review of Sunset Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lebanon
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acceptable for one or two nights”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed two nights at the Sunset Motor Inn late August and found it acceptable. The rooms are dated and small, but clean. However, no housekeeping was done after the first night which was a little odd. Since the bathroom was too damp for our towels to dry, we had to ask for fresh ones. The view is great though, especially from behind the building.
Breakfast was good, the usual motel fare, but with real maple syrup.
Advice: In the dark, it's very easy to miss the hotel, so drive more slowly when you think you get close.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rivzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    27
    9
    19
See reviews for
31
30
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is an old-style motel only 2 miles from downtown Hanover on Route 10. Our room was dated but clean. We were there at a time when neither AC or heaters were needed so cannot vouch for either. The shower/toilet/sink were good but the hot water temperature fluctuated (but not all the way to cold). The floor in front of shower rotted at one time but had been shored up so only posed problems esthetically . Not the fastest wi-fi connection but better than at some better motels we've used. The manager/owner (I believe) was helpful in dealing with a 2am arrival (due to a delayed flight) as well as a temporarily misplaced key; no issues there. No coffee maker in the room. We did not partake in their breakfast because of other early commitments but it looked at least average with a waffle iron. The wooded setting was nice with a spectacular view of Connecticut River from the back side of the motel (which is not accessible from each room except by walking around the end of the building) where there are lounge chairs. Being on Route 10 is convenient not only for Hanover but for access to I-89 and I-91 but expect some road noise. All in all, an acceptable choice for the price; we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hahnecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

After the first night of a multi-night reservation, we chose to move to another lodging. The place is really dated and the desk staff not very hospitable. In my opinion, the sun set long, long ago on The Sunset motel of Lebanon, NH. It doesn't take much looking around to find better. Beware!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpu1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lebanon hotels

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

To start off we did not book this ourselves. Another couple we were staying with did all the leg work. Room was standard hotel, nothing special. Door opens to the parking lot. One parking spot per room right outside your door. Lobby was recently redone and looked real nice. Good breakfast included. Waffles, cereal, muffins etc. There is a really cool spot behind the building that has a bunch of chairs and a picnic table looking out over the river. We bought some beers and hung out there to watch the sunset. Short drive into town and short drive to Hanover. It is run by a foreign couple. The man seems very strict and by the book. He may come off as pushy or rude, but I think he means well. The woman is much more relaxed and kind. I would recommend dealing with her mostly if possible. Especially when hashing out the room price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWern7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had a one night stay at the Sunset before starting out on a hike along a section of the Appalachian Trail in the NH and VT area. The Sunset is south of Hanover and not really walkable from down town Hanover or WRJ. Fortunately it is along the Orange shuttle route that connects the two towns and is easily reached from either the AMTRAK or Dartmouth Coach stops. The room was clean and orderly. It had a microwave and small fridge. TV was a nice flat screen. You can enjoy a meal or sunset from picnic tables located at the rear of the motel along the river.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdchief100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

As with all things in my life, I get what I pay for. It was clean. That's what's important. Don't expect the Ritz here. The place is dated and a bit low end, in dire need of renovations, but then, it would probably cost a lot more. So the price quality ratio is more than acceptable. Very close to Hanover so that is convenient. WIFI reception was poor at best. Management was accommodating but distant. You'll understand when you meet or when you read the other reviews. Bottom line is that there were no major issues. As I mentioned, you get what you pay for. Our visit included continental breakfast, which we could not benefit from since we had to hit the road by 7:30 am and breakfast is only served between 8-9. What's up with that? Overall, 6 on 10. Oh, and did I mentioned...very clean. Thank God, since the first impression is OMG. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quintanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebanon
3.2 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
349 reviews
1.9 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
266 reviews
2.0 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites West Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motor Inn

Property: Sunset Motor Inn
Address: 305 N Main St, Lebanon, NH 03784-1033
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Lebanon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lebanon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motor Hotel West Lebanon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing