We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appauled”
Review of KOTO Japanese

KOTO Japanese
Ranked #22 of 66 Restaurants in Lebanon
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Appauled”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

After making a reservation we waited for an hour and a half for our table. This should have been our first indication to run, but our children were excited for hiabachi. Once seated we had to flag the manager down to take our order. After ordering we had to remind our waitress 3 times that we had also ordered sushi. Once she brought the sushi it was so warm from sitting out I couldn't eat it. When sending it back she was so rude we left our table. Went to find a manager, a waitress posed as a manager and tried to bill us for entrees and drinks we never received. When I questioned it the waitress quickly told us to leave as the real manager approached. We had to get our own drinks from the bar. It was surreal how terrible this experience was. I have been a tripadvisor reviewer for years this is the first bad review I have left. It was more than bad, the place should be ashamed. We were on a weekend away and spent 3 hours of our Saturday night at a restaurant that we didn't get food at. We ended up at the Wendy's down the street where surprisingly the food and service were better. We were offered a giftcard for our trouble but declined. I will never ever set foot in a Koto based on this sad excuse for an establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erinkhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    33
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nh
Level Contributor
223 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

went for lunch--very quiet--excellent service, very good sushi--a pleasing experience-- a little out of the way at the end of a long commercial strip but right next to Home depot

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NHethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimondale, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ton Katsu, Sushi, and Gyoza”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I lived in Japan for 13 years and I had high hopes of this restaurant being authentic with great food like I find at the Japanese hangouts in NYC. I did not partake in the Hibachi grill festivities as I was by myself but there was a constant flow of people at the hibachi tables and the chefs seemed to make things enjoyable for guests. I am not sure what the hibachi grill items taste like as I did not eat any.

I ordered from the menu: Ton Katsu, Gyoza, Maguro Sushi, and Tekka Maki (Tuna Roll). The gyoza was just okay, the sushi was just okay and the sushi roll was average. The Ton Katsu seemed very dry unlike normal ton katsu which is very flavorful and moist. The presentation of every dish was delightful but the food was not on par for a Japanese restaurant. Maybe it's because the people working at the restaurant are not Japanese. The waitress was outstanding at attending to my every needs...great job to the wait staff!!!

I may come back again and try the Hibachi Grill if I am really craving some Japanese style food but I would not order anything else from the menu.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“HIbachi steakhouse in West Leb”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

OK place where we have gone for lunch.
Prices have doubled in last 3 years.
They also have sushi which we have not tried.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank br_luv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
214 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent Sashimi”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I love the Koto for the deluxe sashimi at the sushi bar, where over the years I have got to know the staff. Very friendly, they make their offerings into an art form. I have also enjoyed their miso soup and shrimp tempura.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bear59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KOTO Japanese also viewed

 

Been to KOTO Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing