We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay ”
Review of Flag Hill Winery

Flag Hill Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Lee
Attraction details
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just okay ”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Maybe it was an off day but the lady offering the tasting was not too friendly. Just poured the wine with a grim look and waited for us to chose our next option. No real interaction which is always the best part of these smaller operations. The wine was pretty good but would have loved more knowledge on our choices

Helpful?
Thank Toriliddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
901 reviews
408 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,863 helpful votes
“NEW HAMPSHIRE’S LARGEST & BEST WINERY”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Flag Hill Winery won New Hampshire Magazine’s Best of New Hampshire Award for Local Winery in the Coffee Shops, Beverages and Bars category in 2012 and 2013. Voting is done by magazine readership via write-ins on blank ballots.

Although small by Napa Valley standards, it has the largest vineyard in New Hampshire.

Flag Hill Winery is like a neighborhood winery to me because it’s only about 10 miles from my house. I've been visiting since it opened to the public.

This is my favorite winery for several reasons.

First, it produces award-winning wines from grapes grown in its own vineyard. It is not a buyer of other vineyards’ grapes. Niagara, Cayuga, La Crescent, and Vignoles grapes are used for the white wines. Marechal Foch and De Chaunac grapes are used for the red wines. These factors all add up to quality wines.

Second, it offers a variety of wines from the serious conventional wines such as the medium-bodied Marechal Foch, a dry, earthy red wine and the sweet Flag Hill Cayuga White with notes of citrus and exotic fruits to the fun/dessert wines such as the smooth Flagg Hill Wild Blueberry Fruit Wine and the rich, sweet Flag Hill Raspberry Fruit Wine. All four mentioned are among my favorites.

Third, the staff is very knowledgeable.

Fourth, most of the prices are in the $12.95 to $13.95 range so they are very affordable.

On my most-recent visit, I discovered and purchased the brand new Limited Release Flag Hill Red Plum Fruit Wine at $15.95 per bottle. It’s balanced with both sweet and tart tastes and features the slightly crisp taste of fresh plums.

And, this Red Plum wine leads me to Reason #5 which is the fact that Flag Hill innovates and creates new and exciting products. This was evidenced when Flag Hill also became a distillery and released the award-winning General John Stark Vodka and went on to create Karner Blue Gin, Flag Hill White Rum Josiah Bartlett Barrel Aged Apple Brandy, White Mountain Moonshine, and several liqueurs including the unique Sugar Maple Liqueur.

For anyone visiting the New Hampshire’s Seacoast Region, Lakes Region or Merrimack Valley Region, I highly recommend a visit to Flag Hill Winery for a tour that is reasonably priced at $5.00, followed by a visit to the tasting room and small gift shop. The visit could be coupled with a visit to Bedrock Gardens, also in Lee, on one its Open House days which will be Saturday and Sunday of the third weekend of month from mid-spring to early fall in 2014.

The winery also hosts events and weddings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
413 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Small but quaint, the Flag Hill Winery is a pleasant surprise! There's not alot of glitz and glamour to it, it's just a simple gift shop & tasting room with one heck of a banquet tent attached. The grounds are beautiful and it looks like the perfect place to hold a special event.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Taste of NH”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The staff was very friendly, knowledgable and personable. They really made me feel like no question was a bad question. They could improve on the merchandising. Found it difficult to find things. Overall, great wine & spirits and staff.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice short tour of small winery”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Tour was long enough to learn about the winery, from growing, harvesting, etc. Tasting room w/up to 6 tastes including their vodka, moonshine, liqueurs & port. Personally didn't like the wine except the port but it was a nice day trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flag Hill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Flag Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing