We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wine, lovely venue”
Review of Flag Hill Winery

Flag Hill Winery
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Lee
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely wine, lovely venue”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We came upon Flag Hill quite by accident, and what a nice surprise it was! We sampled the wines, which were delightful, and came away with several bottles. The gentleman pouring the wine was friendly and informative. Flag Hill looks like it would be a wonderful spot for a celebration.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ailbhe1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding venue”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Flag Hill Winery is a beautiful venue for a wedding or other event. The large tent area has panoramic views of the vineyard. The appetizers were tasty and plentiful, the meal was served hot, but the time it took to serve the guests suggests there could have been more staff.

Con: The bar was fully stocked, but the drinks were made with a consistent light pour. When asked for more rum in a drink was charged for a double just to get a drink that would be considered normal at other bars.

The bar aside, the location of this venue makes it a great choice for a special day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved the Tour/Loved the Wine”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

One Saturday my husband and I decide to take a day trip up to Lee, New Hampshire. There is a winery by the name of Flag Hill Winery that was doing some advertising around here. They were advertising a tasting and a tour of the winery itself. They make many types of wine and have now branched out into vodka and soon, their first bourbon will be unveiled.

We had the tasting first we each got to try 6 of what ever we wanted. I like liqueurs so I chose the cranberry and raspberry. I also tried the vodka and two "sweeter" wines. The pourers knew their stuff and were all very proud of their wines. After the tasting we headed down to the vault for a lesson in wine making, from the wooden barrels they use and how they are reused to the various fruits they use in different types of wines.

The tour is wheelchair accessible except in the winter months. Wheelchairs have to enter the tour from a different enerance which does not get plowed in the winter. We had never been on a wine tasting tour before so this was a unique experience. It was fun, relaxing, and something out of the ordinary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just okay ”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Maybe it was an off day but the lady offering the tasting was not too friendly. Just poured the wine with a grim look and waited for us to chose our next option. No real interaction which is always the best part of these smaller operations. The wine was pretty good but would have loved more knowledge on our choices

Helpful?
Thank Toriliddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
1,004 reviews
452 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,163 helpful votes
“NEW HAMPSHIRE’S LARGEST & BEST WINERY”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Flag Hill Winery won New Hampshire Magazine’s Best of New Hampshire Award for Local Winery in the Coffee Shops, Beverages and Bars category in 2012 and 2013. Voting is done by magazine readership via write-ins on blank ballots.

Although small by Napa Valley standards, it has the largest vineyard in New Hampshire.

Flag Hill Winery is like a neighborhood winery to me because it’s only about 10 miles from my house. I've been visiting since it opened to the public.

This is my favorite winery for several reasons.

First, it produces award-winning wines from grapes grown in its own vineyard. It is not a buyer of other vineyards’ grapes. Niagara, Cayuga, La Crescent, and Vignoles grapes are used for the white wines. Marechal Foch and De Chaunac grapes are used for the red wines. These factors all add up to quality wines.

Second, it offers a variety of wines from the serious conventional wines such as the medium-bodied Marechal Foch, a dry, earthy red wine and the sweet Flag Hill Cayuga White with notes of citrus and exotic fruits to the fun/dessert wines such as the smooth Flagg Hill Wild Blueberry Fruit Wine and the rich, sweet Flag Hill Raspberry Fruit Wine. All four mentioned are among my favorites.

Third, the staff is very knowledgeable.

Fourth, most of the prices are in the $12.95 to $13.95 range so they are very affordable.

On my most-recent visit, I discovered and purchased the brand new Limited Release Flag Hill Red Plum Fruit Wine at $15.95 per bottle. It’s balanced with both sweet and tart tastes and features the slightly crisp taste of fresh plums.

And, this Red Plum wine leads me to Reason #5 which is the fact that Flag Hill innovates and creates new and exciting products. This was evidenced when Flag Hill also became a distillery and released the award-winning General John Stark Vodka and went on to create Karner Blue Gin, Flag Hill White Rum Josiah Bartlett Barrel Aged Apple Brandy, White Mountain Moonshine, and several liqueurs including the unique Sugar Maple Liqueur.

For anyone visiting the New Hampshire’s Seacoast Region, Lakes Region or Merrimack Valley Region, I highly recommend a visit to Flag Hill Winery for a tour that is reasonably priced at $5.00, followed by a visit to the tasting room and small gift shop. The visit could be coupled with a visit to Bedrock Gardens, also in Lee, on one its Open House days which will be Saturday and Sunday of the third weekend of month from mid-spring to early fall in 2014.

The winery also hosts events and weddings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurene_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flag Hill Winery also viewed

 

Been to Flag Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing