We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Caters to motorcyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kancamagus Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place. Caters to motorcyclists”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great time here. Rooms are clean and if you let them know you are a motorcyclist they will accommodate first floor rooms. Groups events supported nicely and they even provided a bike washing station! Killer breakfast and a nice pool. Will Absolutely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineoutalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review! We are located in one of the most beautiful areas of NH for motorcycle riding. The Kancamagus Highway is right outside our front door! Several of us here at the Lodge have motorcycles and we love to ride in our free time. We host many groups throughout the year and we cater to each groups specific needs. Whether your a family of four or a group of forty we welcome you here into our family and try to make your vacation a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    132
    41
    8
    7
See reviews for
138
165
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I recently took my 4 yr old daughter on vacation to the White Mountains for Labor Day weekend & failed to make reservations until about a wk before the trip. Luckily, I booked at KML, and I'm glad I did! Upon check in I was told we had been upgraded to a balcony room, which is always nice! The woman who checked us in (believe Leo's wife? Didnt catch her name) couldn't have been any friendlier. She took the time to talk to my daughter & I about our visit to Storyland, Clarks trading post, whales tale etc. My daughter loved their dog, Sammy & got to feed him treats when we would pop in to get towels for the pool. The indoor pool was perfect- clean, heated, big & uncrowded! We spent more time in the pool than our room. The firepit, game room & ping pong table were all available & nice options- unfortunately we didnt have enough time to put em to use, though.

The onsite restaurants were great, the food was very good & reasonably priced (plus free kids meal w/ purchase Of entree & a flash of room key!!). I got the thanksgiving dinner panini it was delicious. Also, last day my daughter and i had breakfast, and got to say goodbye to the other families we met at the pool.

As for the actual room:
We stayed in rm 11 (2 queen beds/balcony)
Room was spotless- very clean. Had drawers for clothes, flatscreen tv Etc. the beds were comfortable, linens clean- however i did notice some of the threads on quilt were lifting & the bed may have lost some of its firmness over time- neither a real big deal for me). The bathroom was very clean, plenty of towels, soap, shampoo etc.

At time of checkout, my daughter got to hand over the keys to Leo, say goodbye to Sammy & then what? Went for one last dip in the pool.. Worst part of the vacation, is that it ended.. Will definately be back whenever i get the chance!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjhaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are located next to some of the regions most popular attractions and I'm glad you got the chance to visit them with your daughter. My wife Nicole and I are always here to provide recommendations and directions when needed. We are a family friendly destination with alot to offer as you noted, and I'm glad you got the chance to partake in some of what we have to offer here at the Lodge. I look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future. I'll tell Sammy you said HI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We wanted a stop that was on the Kancamagus Highway but yet could give us options to see areas in all directions. This place was a great find. The price was reasonable and the host and hostess were so very helpful. They ride as we do and were able to give us some routes and stops that were great. The rooms are not fancy, they are practical and clean. There is an outside area for sitting around the fire and enjoying a drink. Many eating establishments within walking distance. Great find in our opinion!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeUSAviaHARLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for the review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Several of us on property do ride motorcycles and we are always willing to share our favorite secret routes of the area with our guests. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy one of our most popular amenities--our fire pit!! It is a nice way to unwind at the end of a day next to a crackling fire! We look forward to seeing you on your next ride to NH!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

With all due respect this place is a dump. After reading multiple positive reviews about KML on Tripadvisor I booked a room with "a balcony that overlooks Loon Mountain" for two nights. Luckily we arrived very late. As soon as we saw the property it became clear that it was a cheap motel in a dilapidated building shared with a sports bar. To be fair the room was clean (ignoring a stain on bedding) and the bathroom looked new (finished with plastic panels instead of tiles). But there was nothing a maid could do with the stale air of a tired room. The reception staff was friendly and kind enough to let us stay for one night only instead of the two booked with no questions asked. I managed to find a hotel in Jackson for the second night. Next morning I checked out our balcony but the view was of power lines and a busy road rather than that of a mountain.
All in all this is a decent place if you are alone and just want to find a cheap place to sleep in for no more than a night but no way is this a family accommodation. If you are looking for a small inn or a nice hotel with view there are much better options in the area, KML isn't that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nijat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I am glad you took the time to post a response. Trip Advisor is a great forum for everyone to express their opinions of our property. We appreciate all comments good and bad, and apparently we did not meet your expectations at all. I do disagree with your opening sentence, as do over 180 other reviewers on Tripadvisor who see us as an excellent place to stay. We are a terrific affordable,clean,convenient destination for families. We offer many amenities such as an Indoor pool,game room, ping pong, two firepits, basketball court, a very popular breakfast and dinner restaurant called Brittany's and the areas only sports pub called CJ's Penalty Box. I am glad our staff took care of you when you left a night early , it is not a frequent occurence for guests to leave unsatisfied and I am glad our staff acted accordingly for you. I apologize that our property was not up to your standards. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

while on vacation with 4yr old son, Anthony and i needed a place on the go after day at Clark's trading post. drove by and notice clean looking motel with family resturant attached, could save lot of time with tired boy. Upon entering Leo(owner)instantly took to paying attention to my son who asked if any rooms where avail. Had one left and proceeded to book room with my son .(he was thrilled) . After some fun small talk we went to room which was very clean and accommidating. Had dinner/breakfast at resturant. Food/service great there also, and to cap of evening they had a nice indoor pool and arcade so son was thrilled again. Upon checking out in am, ran into owner again and chatted as if we were locals. Made both of us very comfortable. even tho was just one night ,i will definatly go again ,now knowing of a great/affordable place to stay while in the mtn. area. HIGHLY recommended!! Thanks again to Leo

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for the great review. I am glad you and Anthony enjoyed your stay. We are a family oriented business and we cater to thousands of families each year. Thanks for noticing how well kept and clean our property is. Our maintenance man, Roger, is diligent about the grounds and the appearance of the hotel inside and out, and he is always building,painting or creating something to make our guests feel more at home. Our housekeeping staff work tirelessly to uphold our high standard of cleanliness in the rooms. I am glad you felt like a local staying with us because now you are a part of "our" family here at the "Kanc"! ...See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Kancamagus Lodge on a quick get-away to the White Mountains. Although a very simple motel, we were overall very pleased with our stay. We had stayed there about 3 or 4 years ago and the motel has undergone several renovations since that time.

Our room had a king size bed, a nice flat screen television, and a balcony that overlooked the mountains (one of the reasons I chose this particular motel). The motel now has wireless internet (not available several years ago). The staff was very polite and helpful. One of the slats in our blinds broke one morning - a real problem when you need some privacy - but it was fixed by the time we came back that afternoon. The room was very clean when we arrived, and housekeeping was excellent. We really enjoyed the restaurant that was attached to the hotel (Brittany's); it was not only convenient, but they made an excellent breakfast.

The Lodge is extremely convenient in its location. It is right at the beginning of the Kancamagus Highway which leads to Loon Mountain, Bear Notch Road (which connects to Crawford Notch Road), and North Conway. It is also very close to all of the attractions that Lincoln has to offer: Clark's Bears, Franconia Notch, and Cannon Mountain to name a few. Directly across the street is a burger place, a steakhouse, a convenience store, and other small shops.

It is motel style, so do not expect luxury amenities. However, if you are looking for a clean, convenient, and affordable place to stay in the White Mountains, be sure to check out this property.

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor with a balcony facing the mountains. This does mean you are facing the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you noticed our ongoing renovations. My wife, Nicole and I have owned the property for 15 years and we are always trying to improve and upgrade the property. We have just replaced all the bedspreads in our Queen rooms and Nicole has finally, after a long deliberation, decided on new furniture for our double/double balcony rooms which should arrive in late October. Thanks for noticing how great our housekeeping staff is, they work very hard and it was a very busy Summer for them this year. Both of our restaurants are popular destinations for locals and a convenient amenity for our guests. We look forward to hosting you again next time you visit the Lincoln area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We chose to book one of the larger rooms which was fine, but I do like hand wash basins in with the toilet and shower! The room was clean, if a little dark due to the balcony. The restaurant staff were extremely polite and helpful and the food was very good. It is well placed for exploring this region being on the start of the Kancamagus Highway which we travelled in the fall two years ago.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of the building which is sideways on to the main road. There were a lot of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrighteyesWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thanks for the review from across the pond! We would like to thank you for giving us the chance to host you on your holiday to the states. I am glad you enjoyed our larger rooms in the West Lodge and our steam baths. I am pleased you had a chance to sample some of our American fare in our restaurant, the staff works hard to make sure everyone enjoys their breakfast, lunch, or dinner! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Hampshire!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
619 reviews
1.8 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RiverWalk Resort At Loon Mountain
2.6 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Profile Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kancamagus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kancamagus Lodge

Property: The Kancamagus Lodge
Address: 11 Pollard Rd, Kancamagus Highway - Route 112, PO Box 505, Lincoln, NH 03251-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kancamagus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kancamagus Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge in the Heart of the White Mountains. Offering clean, comfortable, non smoking rooms, sorry pets are NOT allowed. Indoor Pool, Game Room, and on Site Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Kancamagus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kancamagus Hotel Lincoln
Kancamagus Hotel Lincoln
Kancamagus Motel Lincoln
The Kancamagus Lodge Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing