We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolutely awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kancamagus Lodge
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We vacation in the area a ton, but had never been here. I got a deal so good I thought it was too good to be true and it would be a crummy place... nope! Just wonderful. Clean, cozy rooms. Incredible steambath in our bathroom. Big, clean pool. Close to everything. Two great restaurants... fantastic staff. Two bonfire sites and lodge supplies wood and firecrackers. Could not have been better. We loved it and our kids did too. We will be back, and we would even pay full price :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessefarrenjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thanks for the "Awesome" review! I am glad we exceeded your expectations. I'm assuming you took advantage of our Groupon deal we run from March-June every year. It is a fabulous deal that we run in our offseason to give people a chance to try us out at an extremely discounted rate. We have found ,like yourself, at least 73% of people come back at full rate within the next year. We are very proud of our property and our staff tries so hard to make it a clean, comfortable, fun place to visit for everyone. Thanks again for the review, and I look forward to hosting your family again here at our Lodge soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    126
    40
    7
    7
See reviews for
133
159
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

A small group of us booked three rooms for a weekend hiking trip.

We booked with Leo (the owner) who was a great help over the phone.
When we arrived, we were greeted by Leo again. Leo is a super friendly guy who runs a great establishment and is quick to offer any help that he can.

We visited both the pub and the restaurant while we were there. Both had great service with an excellent selection of beer on tap. Our favorites from the group were the 12" pizza's and the special Caribbean wings.

The indoor pool was large and heated. The deep end is 9 feet! The game room was right off of the pool area, and had machines that were still reasonable to play requiring only a quarter!
There was also a rear door of the pub where the adults could enjoy some beverages and not be too far from the older kids who wanted to play in the game room.

The standard rooms were small, clena and comfortable, and perfect for those who spend more time outdoors than in the room itself. We hiked Mt Lafayette on Sat, and Laconia Falls on Sun. Both locations are very close to the lodge. Also very close is Chutters candy shop, Flapjacks Pancakes, and many other restaurants and shops. It's also a stone's throw from Loon Mountain.

We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Rooms 7, 8, 9, and 10 were very close to the pool and restaurants and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justinhm2fs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for the review! I am happy you had a chance to take advantage of all the amenities we offer. Our Restaurant(Brittany's) and Pub(CJ's) has been open for 16 years and it is a local favorite to get a delicious dinner ,watch the game, and catch up on all the local gossip!! Our Indoor pool is a favorite of all guests in any season, and our younger guests love the Ping-Pong table, Basketball court and game room! We strive to offer "Resort" amenities at "motel" prices , and I am so glad you said, you will "be back for sure" next time your in the White Mountain region!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kancamagus lodge for two nights while we toured the highway. The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating and at your service almost 24 hours a day! The rooms are spacious and very clean, not new but very well kept and maintained. We loved spending early evenings sitting on our balcony looking directly at the South Peak of Loon Mountain. Unfortunately thise runs were closed for the season but it would be a front-row seat during ski season.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for the "Great" review! My wife (Nicole) and I live right on the property and we are here 24 hrs/day....365 days/ year for our guests. We have owned the property for 16 years and we thoroughly enjoy what we do, and we love being a part of our guests vacations! I am glad you noticed how clean our rooms are! Every year we renovate blocks of rooms and this year we added new furnishings to our balcony double/doubles, and everyone loves the new décor of those rooms!! We are replacing the carpets in our 10 lower level double/doubles next week and I look forward to having the chance to show you all that we have done when you return this summer or during next ski season!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Four of my girlfriends and I found a Groupon deal for the Lodge and figured it would be a great weekend getaway. The owner and other employees were all very frindly and helpful. The rooms are not fancy but comfortable and clean. It was great to have a small fridge for drinks and leftovers and it came in handy. The steam shower is fantastic and very relaxing. Are for the restaurant on site we only ate breakfast there but it was very good. The pool would be great for kids and families (or just friends) on a rainy day any time of year but we didn't use it at all. The property is directly across from Loon Mountain and is right on the main drag but makes for a convenient location. it was great to be able to walk to the bar, Common Man, the on-site restaurant or across the street for the burger place or to Gordi's. I would most definitely stay here again. It's right at the beginning of the Kanc which is worth the drive and the stops along the way. I would love to come back and camp in the National Forest if I had to chance. Gorgeous area with lots to do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I am glad that you took advantage of our popular Groupon deal we run from March-June. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our location is great for a getaway weekend like you said, we are close to all area attractions and walking distance to several local favorite restaurants. Our staff goes out of their way to be as helpful and friendly as possible to all guests and I am pleased you noticed. I am glad you will be "definitely" back to stay with us and we look forward to hosting a getaway weekend for you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on a Thursday night at the end of the ski season. We arrived to a friendly staff and an immaculate room. We were happy to be able to walk to the Common Man for dinner. We were even happier to walk back over to the lodge for the Bruins game. We had a nice night drinking and watching hockey. The best part was walking upstairs to our warm clean and comfortable room after the Bruins win. We had a great stay and can't wait to visit next year with our three kids for skiing season. Hopefully we'll have time to swim in the nice indoor pool next time.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. This past ski season was long and cold with an abundance of snow. Being that our Lodge is located between the two entrances to Loon Mtn., we are a popular destination for some fun family ski trips!! I am glad you had the opportunity to visit CJ's Sports Pub to watch the game, it is a great place to eat, drink and get all the local gossip!! I will let our housekeeping staff know that you found our rooms immaculate. They work extremely hard and it is nice that you recognized their hard work. We look forward to hosting your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I picked up a Groupon for a two night stay in a deluxe room with two queen beds. I am always a bit weary about where I stay when I have never been to a place before, but judging by the pictures and reviews I knew that this would be a nice place. It was well worth it with the Groupon. I checked in with Leo, who was a very friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice, clean and warm. Beds were pretty comfortable. The shower also has an optional steam shower, which I have never experienced, but it was great after coming back from skiing all day. What better way to relax. We also received a $20 food voucher to use at Brittany's or CJ's which is a very short walk. The location of the lodge is great, close to both Loon mountain and downtown Lincoln. I'll definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike8710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks for the great review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you stated, our rooms are very clean and nice. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep them in tip-top shape! We are always updating our rooms, and coming this spring we are replacing carpets and changing the furniture in several of our rooms. I am so excited that you will be definitely staying with us again and we appreciate all your words of praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I stay and ski at different places almost every weekend during the winter, we don't require much from a hotel: a bed and a bathroom that's clean and warm. This place meets all of those requirements plus its in a great location very close to the entrance for Loon and in close proximity to town and restaurants including 2 on site and the Common Man across the road. However, I got to find out just how thin the walls dividing the rooms were around 2am on Sat. morning when the guests in the room next to ours loudly stumbled in. I could hear them so clearly, it woke me up and scared me because I thought someone came in our room! Hoping that they would just go to sleep, I turned on the TV to help drown out the sound and tried to get back to sleep myself (and maybe let them know just well you could hear things in the adjacent room!) Well, no such luck. They decided to get, um, "physically active" and wanted to let everyone know what a great time they were having. It was obscene....you could hear EVERYTHING despite my attempts to drown out the noise. After about an hour of this, I knocked on the wall asking them to "keep it down"...it didn't work. This went on for hours. Needless to say, I didn't sleep much that night. The next night, assuming that the same people were there, we came back from dinner and could hear people yelling and clapping. Again, you can hear them so clearly, you would think they are in the same room with you! My husband was not going to put up with this again so he went and knocked on their door to ask them to keep it down. No one answered so he called the front desk and asked them to resolve it, which they did promptly. The front desk informed us that it was actually different people next to us now and they were cheering for a basketball game on TV so we kind of felt bad that we got so worked up over it, but I'll blame it on being way overtired from the lack of sleep the night before. So I realize that our negative experience is more to blame on rude guests than the hotel, but seriously, something has to be done to help sound-proof the rooms a bit more. I was just thankful we were located on the top floor, end unit, and that our 11 year old daughter was not along to experience that! I could not imagine the noise you would hear if we would have had a room on the first floor with rooms on each side of us!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_brice2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leo M, Owner at The Kancamagus Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found your accommodations clean and comfortable, and enjoyed our central location to everything in Lincoln. I am so sorry that you had an unpleasant experience the first night with a guest next to you that was not as quiet or discreet as they should have been. I do provide my cell phone number at check-in to all guests for the rare occasion where there is a need for me to speak to other guests after normal office hours. On the second night you did contact me early in the evening(8:30 pm) regarding some loud cheering in the room next to you. I did speak to the two young female guests who were alumni of a March Madness basketball team that just upset a rival team and they promised to keep it down and as you noticed they did. Unfortunately, I wish I could screen all the rude guests out at check-in,... but sometimes they do sneak in. I try to provide 24 hr service to make sure all guests needs are met, and hopefully I get the chance to host you and your family's' stay again in the near future. I guarantee it will be a quiet one!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.8 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.6 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
InnSeason Resorts Pollard Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kancamagus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kancamagus Lodge

Property: The Kancamagus Lodge
Address: 11 Pollard Rd, Kancamagus Highway - Route 112, PO Box 505, Lincoln, NH 03251-4233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kancamagus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kancamagus Lodge is a family owned and operated lodge in the Heart of the White Mountains. Offering clean, comfortable, non smoking rooms, sorry pets are NOT allowed. Indoor Pool, Game Room, and on Site Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kancamagus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kancamagus Hotel Lincoln
Kancamagus Hotel Lincoln
Kancamagus Motel Lincoln
The Kancamagus Lodge Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing