We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely time”
Review of Pemi Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pemi Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights we had cabin #2 which we did like very much. We also brought our dog which was a nice plus. We loved the screened porch over the river and had coffee there each morning ( we brought our own coffee maker). We had a nice fire the second night we were there which added to the ambiance. We liked everything about the place but there were a couple things I would address. If I had to say anything negative about our experience it was that the bathroom had a not so pleasant smell in it. Maybe someone locked thier dog or whatever in there and it urinated on the floor or something but it did stink in there. I would put an air freshener in there if I owned the place. Also there is no where to plug a blow dryer into in the bathroom and that is where the only mirror in the whole cabin is so I had to do my hair blindly in one of the bedrooms. It would help if they put a mirror in each of the bedrooms or at least one of them. Also it would be nice if they supplied you with a fire starter log or whatever you call them because we had a hard time lighting and keeping our fire going long enough to get hot embers... Another suggestion would be the tv needs to be updated to flat screens...they have the old style tv's and they are high up ...it kinda hurt my neck to look at it and a printed channel line up would be good to as would instructions on how to set the heat....we were a bit chilly and we did put the heat on...we thought it would shut off after it reached the temp we picked put it didn't and we were sweating in the middle of the night. All in all we did enjoy ourselves very much and we will be back. The things I mentioned are minor but would make people's stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank naturelover1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for Pemi Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in cabin #2 for 2 nights, really enjoyed it. The knotty pine interior, the fireplace and the screened porch right on the river made for a wonderful, atmospheric time. Rick, the owner, was amiable and accommodating. We decided to stay a third night, but our cabin had been reserved, Rick moved us to cabin #15, a much larger unit with a separate bedroom and kitchen. Although bigger, this cabin didn't have as much charm as #2, and was not right on the river. If we get to return, we'll be sure to be in one of the other units. Many thanks to Rick and his sister-in-law, Cindy (and their awesome cat, Boo-boo) for a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yodelmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Three adults plus a dog squeezed ourselves into cabin #14. It was extremely clean except that the previous renters hadn't washed the pots and plates very well. The bathroom is bright and new, and the cabin has new windows and is not drafty..
The lighting in the rest of the cabin is not so good. They need a few table lamps to offset the bad overhead fixtures. Bring a reading light.
Space is very cramped. The sofa was comfortable but only big enough for two, and there are no other chairs other than the stiff dining chairs.The galley kitchen is very very narrow, with little counter space, so if you intend to cook full meals, only one chef will fit.
The heating unit is in the living/dining area, so it might have trouble getting heat to the bedrooms in winter.
Since the water heater is in the main building, we had to run a faucet or two for many minutes before we could get hot water. Then we had to take our showers in quick succession so we wouldn't have to run the faucets again. There was plenty of hot water once it arrived, though. Big waste of water though!
Nice deck on the river in back, and it was pleasant to fall asleep to the sound of a rushing stream. The cabins are close to the road, so it's a good thing that Rte 3 doesn't have a lot of truck traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Second time..love listening to the Pemi...electric fireplace this time, the fire couldn't go out...very clean...friendly and helpful people...will try earlier for wood fireplace again...handy to everything...love the look!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kathleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Pemi Cabins in August. What a neat place to stay! Right out the back of the cabin was a porch overlooking the Pemi River. You were lulled to sleep at night by the sounds of the river. The cabin was small but cute with a fireplace.A great location to the sights nearby.In the office you have to meet the resident cat Boo-Boo,French Fry, Rose. A super friendly black cat! We will certianly stay here again. The owners are very nice also very accomodating!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We rented cabin 2, 2 bedrooms, wood fireplace, no kitchen. We were 3 adults, and had read reviews prior to booking. We were looking for a cool spot to relax at for 2 nights, close to the cog rail and Franconia Notch. We especially wanted a cabin with a fireplace and kitchenette. We mistakenly thought this cabin had a kitchenette, not their fault. We arrived around 2pm and found the office open. Actually, it was open ever time I went over, which was morning and afternoon. Staff was very nice. They did not charge us for the 3rd adult. Office and gift shop was nice. Free Keurig coffee every morning. Staff let us know the basics (things others complained about here). There is no housekeeping so if you need new towels you have to go to the office, it takes several minutes to get hot water as it comes from the main house, office, recycling, quiet hours, etc. So no surprises. We checked into the cabin, were a little nervous from some of the bad reviews. The cabin didn't have too strong of a smell. What smell it did have wasn't offensive, but a bit musty. It was fairly clean. The trim boards had some dust, dirt and dog hair, but not in excess. The bathroom had a pond smell that got more and more noticeable over our stay. We had to keep the door closed. I do not mind small spaces, but the use of the small space was not utilized well. The tv was old and mounted high up, to the right of the couch so it was awkward to watch it. The couch was a futon and the cushion kept slipping when sat on. It was a deep wooden one so awkward to sit on. I'm tall and my feet couldn't touch the ground. The bathroom door opened up into the two bedroom doors so it was a messy traffic jam to get through there. This particular cabin is extremely slanted. The right bedroom bed is slanted about 4 inches lower at the head than foot, so we had to sleep with our heads on the other end. The other room's bed was level length wise but several inches lower on the right side. You would think it would be easy enough for them to level the beds. It would make a big difference! Each bed was hard yet saggy in the middle. I hardly slept the first night. Each bedroom has a door that opens up to the back porch over the river. That was nice. The river really makes the place. There's access through cabins 8 and 9. Unfortunately, the backs of the cabins are a wreck with debris and very ugly to look at from the river. Heater worked well and quickly, although only in the living room. Fortunately it was still reasonably warm and we didn't need it on and slept with the porch door open. That helped me sleep. A big problem was the lack of electrical outlets. There are none anywhere in the bathroom or nearby. The only mirror is in the bathroom. There are several outlets all together by the tv, but they are all filled with the fridge, microwave, lamp, tv, digital box And so on. The left bedroom's outlet had only one functioning Plug, which is for the lamp. The other bedroom has an additional outlet but is unusable because its recessed, soft and nothing can reach. We had a hard time keeping our stuff charged. The bathroom shower was very small. One of us weighs 239 lbs and couldn't fit! Lol. It's impossible to bend over. There are no wired lights, only lamps. It always felt dark. In the morning I would get up and check email my email, have some coffee and i felt like I was in the dark, so i'd open the curtains, only to be on display for the neighbors, so I'd close them back up again. The grounds were clean. There are chairs, bbq grills, picnic tables and a fire pit Outside. Plenty of restaurants in the area. Lincoln has about everything. All in all, I probably won't go back, at least not to cabin 2. I read that a few have been renovated. Maybe I'd consider those and be less people. I'm very easy going but it was just not comfortable. If I was staying in a hut on the mountain or a real cabin in the woods, I would not expect comfort, just shelter, but this place is supposed to be at least comfortable. I tried to add more photos but was not able to from my tablet

Room Tip: Don't be more than 2, inquire which cabins have been remodeled and choose one of those.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rengem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After our weekend stay, we have decided that Pemi Cabins will become an annual tradition for our family. The cabins are cute without being cutesy and somewhat rustic without the feeling of "roughing-it." One of our favorite parts of staying at Pemi Cabins was sitting on the screened in porch listening to the sound of the Pemi river. Not all cabins are on the river. Read the cabin descriptions carefully or talk to Rick & Kim in the office. They're helpful in selecting a cabin. Various cabins have various other features (kitchen, microwave, refrigerator, etc).

We also enjoyed building a fire in the fireplace. The office sells bundles of wood. Even if you select a cabin without a wood burning fireplace, there are fire pits outside of the cabins in common areas and charcoal grills with cooking utensils.

Kim in the office was wonderful in helping us select a cabin when we made the reservation, and she had great suggestions for hiking in the local area. The cabins are also truly pet-friendly. We felt very comfortable having our one year old pup with us.

For a wonderful mountain feel in a wonderful location, it would be hard to beat Pemi cabins.

Room Tip: There is river access between cabins 8 and 9. That means that these cabins are a bit less private, b...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura_BP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.3 mi away
Profile Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mt Liberty Lodging
Mt Liberty Lodging
#9 of 20 in Lincoln
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mt. Coolidge Motel
Mt. Coolidge Motel
#2 of 20 in Lincoln
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemi Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemi Cabins

Address: 460 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4148 (Formerly Pemi Motor Court)
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rustic and inviting 1 & 2 bedroom cabins nestled on the bank of the Pemigewasset River. We offer cozy fireplaces, complimentary coffee, 14 channels of HBO & Wi-Fi. Our screen porches overlook the river and several cabins have kitchens. We are open year round and are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pemi Cabins Hotel Lincoln
Pemi Cabins Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing