We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very filthy place”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Lincoln

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Lincoln
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
North Readingl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very filthy place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2009

The Beacon was by far the worst place I have ever stayed at. Room very dirty. Ants in sink, dust everywhere. Could not turn on the air due to unit being so dirty and thick with dirt. Beds very uncomfortable . Sheets were worn and thin. Outdoor carpets near room were wet from the rain and smelled moldy and rotted. Friends we were with found a roach in their room.TV in room was so old that it was a brand that stopped being made about 10 years ago. TV was placed on a 'wooded box with a table cloth over the box. Entertainment was silly for adults. We had to sit on wooden horses with numbers on chest as someone called out numbers. When your number came up 2 young kids pushed your horse with you on it to another space. The one to finish first received play money. At the end, the person with the most "money" received a cheap prize such as you get at the beach when you hit the target and get a prize. Try another motel in the area. Beautiful place to vacation but not at the Beacon.!! Jean

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvelynNorthReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    131
    105
    81
    92
See reviews for
240
149
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rhode islander
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2009

Hi,
Fecal mater! yes I said feces. Feces on the toilet seat, the matress and god only knows what else. When we arrived in our room there it was everywhere. The front desk wanted us to wait for the room to be cleaned. We insisted on another room. There is no way that the feces could have been cleaned out of that mattress. They must have covered it with the sheet.
This hotel is the filthiest place you could ever imagine. If your like me and have traveled with conway tours and AAA befor you probably have trouble believing that they would allow there patrons to stay at such a place. Believe it or not it is true. To describe this hotel properly I would need three pages.
1- filthy
2- rude staff
3- poor quality food (in large amounts)
4- broken air conditioner, broken shower door, broken window,
5- ant traps in room and bath rooms(need I say more)
6-the live entertainment, the lion king show, was a puppet show and the cast lip sinked to the music. I'm not kidding.
Alot of elderly people at this hotel. The price was cheap, so it is affordable for them. My mother and father are in there 80's and I would never allow them to stay at this hotel. This hotel takes advantage of older people with limited incomes. They are so happy to be able to go to a hotel and have a meal and a show that they don't complain about the deplorable conditions. It is a shame to treat THE GREATEST GENERATION OF AMERICANS as second class citizens.
Please do not go to this hotel. You deserve better than this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaconLincoln_NH, manager at Days Inn Lincoln, responded to this review, 26 June 2009
Dear Rhode Islander,

Thank you first of all for your feedback via
the tour operator you booked with. We were in the process working with their managers to respond to your complaint when this review was posted on-line.

Unfortunately your posted your complaint here on Trip Advisor before we were able to set the record straight and respond to you.

The room you entered was a dirty room, this we do not dispute. The room had not yet been cleaned.

However, we have checked the room you were scheduled to arrive into and there
was not any feces on the bed or anywhere else in the room. The mark you noticed on the mattress was coffee, which we steam extracted, prior to the next rental of that unit.
As mentioned above the room you entered had not yet been cleaned therefore any dirt and mess you viewed was not yet addressed by our housekeeping staff.

Our proceedure for check in for all groups arriving by motorcoach is to have our guests go directly to lunch then to their rooms. Our front office staff puts keys in the doors and the housekeeping staff goes through the rooms cleaning in unison. As you by passed the dining room and went straight to your room you were able to enter the dirty room as the key was placed prior to it's cleaning.

Our front office tried to assist you by offering you another room, but again there would be a wait for cleaning as your group was still at lunch.

Our dining room staff tried to assist you with your special diining requests, but unfortunately you did not indicate that you had food allergies. We are sorry if you felt their inabilty to provide for you was percieved as rudeness.

With regard to your maintenance issues in your room we would be happy to assist you with these matters whilst you are on property if you simply let us know.

Our Lion King show is advertized as as a Musical Tribute to the Lion King, we are sorry you did not enjoy the show as many of our guests have.

We agree senior citizens are THE GREATEST GENERATION OF AMERICANS, that is why we cater to this generation. We feel that the pricing of our tours is very reasonable and more often than not our seniors are extremely happy and satisfied. I do understand that you are younger than our average customer so perhaps one of our other packages geared toward the younger set may be more your speed and I would also recommend a suite.

Again thank you for the opportunity to respond to you we would have prefered a less public forum to discuss this matter but regardless it is water under the bridge at this point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln hotels

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

We book this resort annually because it's in the best location for everything we like to do in the White Mountains and it's cheap. However, you get what you pay for. The staff - especially the Office Manager is incredibly rude. No matter how many complaints you lodge - she's still there! The rooms are run down and in desperate need of updating. Their cleaning staff needs to cleaning using cleaning tools and products. The food at Dad's Restaurant is wonderful but overpriced. Our only reason for going every year is because it's a cheap place to stay and it has 4 pools. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and rarely do I even admit to staying there.

Nightly entertainment especially for kids is corny and out dated.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OWizeGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2009

We just returned from a ski trip (organized by Ski93Trips of Bedford NH) and they booked our stay at the Beacon. The owner and staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was really more than we expected. So many options for breakfast and dinner was fantastic as well - down to a ice cream bar with all the toppings!

The location of the Beacon was perfect, near Bretton Woods, Loon and Cannon Mountains. It's great for singles and families and they have accommodations for all wallets. Our room was warm, clean, comfortable beds, spacious and included a small refrigerator as well.

At night, they have a huge lounge with a live band at one end, a bar and a cozy fireplace and sofas at the other end.

Can't imagine staying anywhere else when we visit New Hampshire in the winter or summer, as it's right next to a water park and has pools for the children too.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, lounge and food and location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

The Beacon Resort has a lot of positives: we were treated like friends, the food was good, fun entertainment for families, and if you get the meal plan it's probably one of the better deals in Lincoln. That being said, it's unfortunate that I won't be staying here again. We booked a room that was great for the kids, the front door opened to the outdoor pool and the back door opened to the indoor pool. My kids were psyched! Unfortunately both pools were filthy and I was grossed out. My biggest problem is that the beds were like sleeping on wood. Not comfortable at all. If I'm going to pay for a room I would like to get some rest during the night. I wish this were not the case because if the beds had been decent we might have gone back some day. Sorry.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank crisbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

IN the middle of the white mountains a place with tradition for the person with a all inclusive vacation this is the place to go.

The Beacon resort is a large place abutting the street but has
outdoor pools, indoor pools, all the games for the adults and children to play, entertainment and food all included if you purchase the meal plan.

The meal was very nice and the breakfast good to
but the place is old and needs alot of renovations to be updated

although there is a new part of the place it is still looking old if you know what i mean

other than that it is a good deal for what you are getting

Right next to Indian head and not far from Cannon Mt. it has its good location.

The food was very good the dinner had all the courses and the breakfast was a full menue and included a small buffet also.

ON the fourth of july they had a bbq part of the package outdoors
near the new pool the menue was a very nice hamburg, hotdogs, mellon, chips and salad all you want. and they also had entertainmet a singer that looked and sounded like Neil
Diamond.

The only thing is that it is located next to the street which took away from the feeling like being in the mountains The Indian Head resort up the street has better grounds than here with about the same to offer. But I think the Beacon is more 50 style and the meals have more quality and quantity than the other resort.

The rooms where I stayed were old feeling but you get what you pay for these days in accommodations.

anyway if you want a all inclusive vacation in the White Mountains
then this would be the place to take the family or alone and still have some left over money for the attractions.

  • Liked — I had a room riight near the pool
  • Disliked — The room needs new bedding and furniture a good clean up
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ri
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

I went as a child with my family, I liked it then, but, Nothing has been updated in 20 years! First we were put in a room with a 1960's kitchen, right away my toddler turned the burners on. We requested a normal pool room (which is what we asked for in the first place) The room we got smelled a strong odor of urine! The carpet was stained, the room was tiny, there was no closet, no bathroom counter space, no clock, no iron, and the tv was from the 80's! The pool outside our room had a new liner that was too big for the pool, it was all bunched up, you could feel busted up concrete under your feet when you walked the bottom of the pool, they never fixed the concrete before they put a new liner in! Both indoor pools were too cold! and they didn't have lifeguards. Showers were too cold then too hot! Most people that stayed there were old.
Although the place was about a 2, we were very impressed with food.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the indoor pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atripRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#4 of 20 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lincoln

Property: Days Inn Lincoln
Address: 557 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4128 (Formerly The Beacon Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Lincoln 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon Resort Lincoln
Beacon Hotel Lincoln
Beacon New Hampshire
Days Inn Lincoln New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing