We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A wonderful evening

I went with friends, while on vacation in New Hampshire, to attend a performance of "Seussical... read more

Reviewed 19 August 2018
LarrySElPaso_Texas
,
El Paso, Texas
Seussical, Wow

We attended Seussical at Jean's Playhouse while on vacation in New Hampshire. To say we were... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2018
P J
,
Duluth, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
62
11
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
11
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews year round small town theater amazing theatre great cast entire cast young actors new hampshire kids and adults production performers musical comedian boston watermill
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Went to see "Annie" last night, looking forward to the music, but wondering if the local young "orphans" would be up to the caliber of the shows we have seen at Jean's. They did not disappoint! The entire cast was fun and energetic and talented. It is always our pleasure to visit this playhouse to see the shows. The musicians are good, the seats are comfortable and ticket prices are reasonable.
Jean' Playhouse is a hidden jewel! The Addams Family Musical had been enjoyable also earlier this summer. We are looking forward to seeing some of the other offerings. Keep up the good work!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Great show - great cast - great venue! Costumes, scenery, music, choreography all blended together with excellent acting and vocals. Loved every minute of it! Very professional and entertaining. It was our first time at this comfortable theater and we will be back. Looking forward to the next musicals.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank bkbelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

This is not New York nor Boston. This is northern New Hampshire community theatre at its best. The production of The Addams Family was over the top. The cast were all very talented with both vocals and choreography. The set design was well done. Kudos to all

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank jplatassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Amusing, decent live keyboards, fair singing some good plays on words.

Jeans Playhouse replaced the Papermill Theater which was torn down with the old mill buildings. They designed it with heat and A/C for year round use. But they failed to add a top notch sound system and seem to have relatively average shows.

I had to ask that the A/C be turned on as the air was getting stagnant as people entered the theater. I was told that it was cold when they opened up for the evening. However that was before people arrived. They turned it on and it was comfortable at the opening number.

In the past they used recorded music for the actors to sing with. The addition of 3 keyboards and a percussion section made for a big improvement. Future plans include an orchestra pit.

Although it wasn't great it was fun. Support the arts and take in a show.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank c2h5oh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We always try to attend a show or two at Jean's Playhouse when we are in Lincoln. And last year we traveled north twice just to see the Sept. and October plays. Always excellent and the seats are so very comfortable. Not a bad seat in the house. Granddaughters loved seeing the Emperor's New Clothes and Aladdin - Wednesday mornings.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank racreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews