We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Politics over fun”
Review of Jean's Playhouse

Jean's Playhouse
Ranked #6 of 17 things to do in Lincoln
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Year-round theatre and entertainment in Lincoln, New Hampshire -- the heart of the White Mountains. Jean's Playhouse now houses the professional, community, and educational performance groups: Papermill Theatre Company, IMPACT Children's Theatre, Playhouse Players, and Jean's Teens.
Reviewed 16 July 2018

In an era when divisive politics permeates so much of our lives, I seek opportunities like the theater to avoid the divisiveness that is out there. It's a chance for everyone to set aside their differences and to be entertained.

The Putnam County Spelling Bee is supposed to be all about having fun. It's a light comedy, after all. But no... Jeans Playhouse inserted several political jabs that were gratuitous at best. Even though I may have agreed with what was said, this was gauche. I spent a lot of money to have an escape. Thanks for ruining that opportunity, Jeans Playhouse. You could have brought people together but instead you reinforced what drives them apart.

Date of experience: July 2018
4  Thank kilarneyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Producing Artistic Director at Jean's Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

We're sorry that your experience was one of disappointment, because most audiences thoroughly enjoyed the humor, pathos, and music of this look at a slice of time when losers turn out to be the winners. Jean's did not arbitrarily insert political jabs; in fact, the authors of the script have allowed/planned for several places where it is expected the producers will use updated/contemporary references to issues/headlines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"year round"
in 4 reviews
"small town theater"
in 2 reviews
"amazing theatre"
in 2 reviews
"great cast"
in 2 reviews
"entire cast"
in 2 reviews
"young actors"
in 2 reviews
"new hampshire"
in 5 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 2 reviews
"production"
in 11 reviews
"performers"
in 8 reviews
"musical"
in 9 reviews
"comedian"
in 5 reviews
"boston"
in 10 reviews
"watermill"
in 4 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Saw The 25 Annual Putnam Spelling B play and was very disappointed. Halfway through, politics was brought into it. I take my family to a play to have some release from stress, work, and the current political climate. Why ruin a great play ? I found it to be a sophomoric display of selfishness.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank TrishHarrington19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Producing Artistic Director at Jean's Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

'The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee' does not bring politics to the fore, but the authors have written in several places where current event/headline issues are meant to be updated as a way of looking at them within the humor of this very popular musical. We're sorry that the you were disappointed by what remains a very popular production nationally and around the globe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It’s great to have live theater and performances up here! Went to a comedy night. Good comedians, all seats had a good view and you could hear well. Nice treats from local bakery and wine and beer or cocktails. Looking forward to seeing another show this summer,

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Votenochains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

I've got to at least give credit that they are trying to keep the local arts alive, but I have seen more poor performances here than good. Ridiculous prices.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank 674wendyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel M, Producing Artistic Director at Jean's Playhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. November through May we have a large variety of comedians and cover bands that come in so it looks like you were not a fan of the particular act you saw in April. Again, we are sorry to hear that. We are told by many that our prices of $15 - $25 depending on the act is lower than other neighboring venues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2018

This is located in small town, but they do a really awesome job with there shows. They have an awesome summer line up with there own shows, and they also bring in acts. They have comedians there, Magic Mike, small shows.

Great Job!

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank RachB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jean's Playhouse also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Jean's Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing