We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed after the good reviews”
Review of Purple Tomato

Purple Tomato
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: We're focused on offering & supporting locally produced foods including: fresh produce, local meats & cheeses, baked goods and lots of other yummy options from our onsite kitchen. We have lunch sandwiches made from local and organic ingredients including veggie and vegan options. We offer grab and go dinner options, lobster rolls and other fresh seafood choices all day. We also have a full selection of wines, both locally produced and from around the world. Also, visit our new Snack Shack in the same plaza for a large variety of grab and go items and lots of health snack choices.
Reviewed 21 October 2018

I stopped here on a trip through NH because the reviews are so good. I am a vegan and eating on the road is not easy. I was not at all impressed with either the selection of products or their freshness. the place really looked like someone had just throw a bunch of old stuff on some shelves and said have at it. I ate nothing and instead drove to Brattleboro.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2018

The fresh produce and thoughtful presentation of our catered lunch event was definitely appreciated. The timely service and personable delivery contributed to the success of the day. Thank you to Susan and the Team.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AdventureatRiverwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

This place is outstanding!
The proprietors are hands on and genuinely care about the product they put out. It's refreshing to see such attention to detail and I can easily see why they are voted #1 for restaurants in Lincoln. Keep in mind that it's not so much a restaurant but a wonderful little grocery store that has limited seating for its food service.
We had their incredible lobster roll. Now, we were on a larger trip that took us through Maine, Boston, and parts of Canada and we determined that the Purple Tomato version of a lobster roll was hands down the BEST we had. There are not enough adjectives to adequately describe the roll. Seriously, look at the photo I took of it..... it was incredible.
We also had a slice of their tomato pie, a fresh green salad, and a slice of their incredibly good S'mores cheesecake.
If you're in the area and are planning a ride along the Kancamagus Hwy or just driving south on Hwy 93, take the time to try this place.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank drill-n-fill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

As good a lobster roll as I've had anywhere. Had a slight almost maple taste but it wore it well. Also had a quinoa salad which was great Carry out and watch the sunset from sunset bridge in Franconia park. Friendly staff but this is a deli, not a cafe. Pricey but top shelf.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

OMG, If you go here you need to get the lobster roll. $15, but hey, I was on vacation.....Hubby got another wonderful sandwich. Great local establishment!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank janetD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Tomato also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Purple Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing