We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously one of the best meals ever!”
Review of Common Man

Common Man
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Seriously one of the best meals ever!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We did not expect to go to this place but were SO glad we did. Hit them up on a Wednesday (HALF PRICED bottles of wine!), they had complimentary cheese and crackers. Décor was so nice - rustic and just added to the appeal of our trip. Started with the boneless wings with watermelon glaze (YUM!!), French onion soup (to die for). Entrees were all delicious and generous. Crab cakes, prime rib, Portobello mushroom entrée and the filet - all amazing, all delicious, all done to perfection! Would definitely go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMC0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    348
    111
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Can't get enough...”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

WHen we visit Lincoln, we spend at least a couple evenings a week at The Common Man. The staff is beyond friendly - a place where they know you on a first name basis is rare these days, not uncommon there! Try the Common Man specials and their seasonal offerings, you will not be sorry. (The Portsmouth Pie is just amazing!)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie-France M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carneys Point
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal - not to be missed”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

After being in Lincoln for 4 evenings, we gave The Common Man a try. We waited until Wednesday because their website said that they have prime rib Wednesdays through Saturday. By far, it was the best meal we have had in Lincoln! We started with the Uncommon Flatbread. It was delicious. My husband and I had the prime rib with the mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. The prime rib was cooked to our request. The mashed potatoes were homemade. Our daughter had the Farmhouse Cucumber and Tomato Salad. It was a fabulous meal!!

The wait staff was friendly. We were told we would have a 30-45 minute wait. It actually was about 10 minutes. Several staff told us about their cheese and cracker bar available, but we did not try it. The waitress was very busy but kept us refilled with drinks in a timely manner and was attentive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at loon and this was the first restaurant we came across so we tried it. The food was terrific, staff was great. It s a busy place and in think we got lucky not having a reservation!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevinwilliamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revere, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice diner in the mountains.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ate here with the family. The food was decent, but the service was excellent. I had the sirloin steak and my husband had the swordfish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcortave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Common Man also viewed

Lincoln, White Mountains
Lincoln, White Mountains
 
Lincoln, White Mountains
 

Been to Common Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing