We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a peaceful getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franconia Notch Motel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Great place for a peaceful getaway

My hubby and I recently stayed at the Franconia Notch Motel during a 24-hour getaway. We enjoyed our stay very much. We are not fancy people and our only expectations are for cleanliness and comfort in a peaceful setting at a reasonable price. We found all of these things and more at the Franconia Notch Motel. Another plus is that this is a no-smoking motel, so there is no stale smoke to deal with.

The place was full. We chatted with some of the other guests and found that several of them stay here every summer. There were a number of other older couples, but we saw at least one young family, also. I can see this being a nice place for a family to use as a base for day trips in the White Mountains.

The on-site management team is very friendly and helpful, with free coffee available in the office for several hours each morning. When we went in for coffee, the pot was just being emptied by another guest. Another pot was cheerfully made while we waited. We asked some questions concerning hiking trails and were directed to just the resources we needed to find the necessary information.

We stayed in one of the seasonal cabins adjacent to the motel and found it very comfortable and adequate. There was a large bathroom, a decent size bedroom with closet and a built-in dresser/desk combination, and a nice size living room with a sofa, two chairs, round table by the picture window and even a small fridge and microwave. The TV didn't appear to have a VCR or any means of playing movies, but that was no problem for us as we were happy watching a Red Sox game. (Possibly the motel rooms do have this amenity.) Our favorite feature of the cabin was probably the cute little screened porch, where a small table and chairs are perfect for relaxing with coffee in the morning, or sitting with a newspaper, magazine or needlework project at any time of the day.

The Pemigewasset River (or a branch thereof) babbles over rocks just behind the motel. There are stairs leading down to the waterside where picnic tables and lawn chairs await. This area was a lovely spot to relax and just decompress.

The Franconia Notch Motel brings back memories of the days when the roads through the White Mountains were lined with little cabin colonies. Many of these are now defunct, but this motel is still thriving. Although it is located next to busy Route 3, it is set back from the road among trees and we noticed no road noise at all during our stay except for the vehicles of other guests. We found it a great spot for a quiet getaway and will definitely plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsT201022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

Great.......place to stay. From the moment we checked in until check out our experience was fabulous. The rooms are older fixtures with new CLEAN beds. Modestly decorated, but very, very clean. Friendly staff in the office.
We were floored to see that the river runs behind the motel! These people put picnic tables, chairs and barbeque stands along the river. Take the wooden steps behind the motel to the most awe striking views.
My family and I would stay there over and over. It is close to the Kangamangus Highway, Clarks Trading Post, Cannon Mountain and Woodstock.
If you are looking for value, cleanliness,convenience...THIS is the place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationing_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The motel has rooms & cottages; we had a one bedroomed cottage with parking right outside. The weather was very, very humid at the time which may have explained why we didn't sleep brilliantly (the interior is all wood-lined so it did feel rather warm and the air conditioning unit was very noisy). We were expecting one bed in the bedroom, and a rollaway bed in the sitting room, but in fact there were two beds which was much more satisfactory. The cottage had a porch which had a fly screen all around it, although ours was broken in places so did let in some unwelcome visitors. However, it was very pleasant to be sitting out on the porch with a nice, cold beer (the fridge was brilliantly efficient!). A goody bag was waiting for us which had a variety of travel sized products which came in useful. The cottage didn't have a hairdryer in it, but I was able to borrow one from Reception the whole duration of the stay. The area is great, and I'd recommed a stay here - the young lady on reception was very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aardvarksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We found this motel last minute. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. If you are looking for a clean, quiet and lovely place to say you can not go wrong here. The front desk staff were cheerful and helpful. Although we didn't use the picnic tables by the river, we could see they would be a great place to have a summer cookout and river swim. I am definitely going back. The website to me dose not do it justice.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tkearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

After a hectic trip to NY, we were little skeptical to drive that far to an unknown place. We finally decided to give it a try and boy....what a pleasant surprise we had!!! This motel is almost next door to the famous gorge and so many other fun filled attractions.
The room we had was big, clean and airy with all the amenities that one may need in such a place to have a relaxing, quiet time in the mountains. The beds were comfortable.The rear window opens to a surprise..."The Pemi" that passes thru the backyard so close you can hear the it in the room. That alone is a reason I want to come back again next year!! The picnic tables and BBQs along the bank are a wonderful change to have your leisure breakfast/lunch. The sound of the flowing water thru open window is a melodious soothing lullaby, works like a charm. We stayed at # 8 but # 12 is closer to the river, it’s a corner room.
Convenient eateries’ like Sunny Day Diner, Brittany’s cafe, Woodward's steak house are within reach after a long day at trails and mountains.
Its true this place may not have all the frills and embellishments like other expensive places, BUT IF YOU’RE LOOING FOR A CONVENIENT, ECONOMICAL, YET SQUEAKY CLEAN AND FRIENDLY ACCOMMODATION, ITS JUST RIGHT FOR YOU.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyaJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I thought this would be a cute motel to go to for a weekend with the family and i must say the price was very fair. we stayed in one of the cottages but it did need alot of updating which you could see from the inside and also the outside!my downfalls where we where told it would have a queen and a double bed which it only had 2double then i was also told that it had a shower and tub but it only had a shower, and also the faucets in the bathroom where both leaking.besides that it did have a nice river in the back with picnic tables and the staff lady was very nice and the place was cleaned everyday!it would be nicer also if they had something for children like a playscape to keep the children occupied!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0mma0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The bedroom and living room needs renovations but other than the air conditioner being loud, everything else was fine. The room was maliciously clean and the service was impeccable as well.
Extremely nice and helpful staff. It would be nice to have wireless internet available in the rooms. River adds a nice touch even though it was only viewable from our bathroom.
The bathroom was recently done and was very clean. The toilet did not work very well but the staff came and fixed it right away.
I would stay here again and the price is hard to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBrookline,MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#14 of 20 in Lincoln
634 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#17 of 20 in Lincoln
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lincoln
Days Inn Lincoln
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
671 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,174 reviews
1.9 mi away
White Mountain Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Notch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Notch Motel

Address: 572 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4149
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £46 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Franconia Notch Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Franconia Notch Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Notch Hotel Lincoln
Franconia Notch Motel Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing