We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite AMC HUT”
Review of Zealand Falls Hut

Zealand Falls Hut
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zealand Falls Hut
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This hut is the most unique of all the AMC huts. It has everything. You can hike over 2, 4,000 ft mountains or you can take the Zealand trail located on the bed of an old railroad track and almost level. The Coo turns out fantastic meals. The skit in the morning is always well done and brings out laughs from everyone. An evening nature talk always make the area more interesting. The design of the lodge encourages conversation whether inside or out on the porch while taking in the expansive view.

Room Tip: I would try to find a bed away from the door to the bath house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ptravelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2012

Zealand is an easy hike up from the road, the falls are magnificent, and the hut crew matches. The water was very high and to get to our next hut we needed to cross a stream at the top of the falls. The hut master and crew came out to help us get the kids across. All in all a great experience.

This is luxury camping - someone else cooks and cleans up but other than that it's camping type experience - food quality what you would expect given that it's carried up the mountain in someone's pack and cooked by college kids. The sleeping accommodations are bunk rooms, the bunks have just blankets (bring your own bedroll). For a hostel completely off the grid (no appliances) cleanliness was outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ascreenname1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Our Boy Scout Troop and a local Venture Crew stayed overnight last Saturday at Zeland Falls Hut; we had 11 teenagers and 5 adults in our group. The teens had a wonderful time, and it was a great introduction to hiking for those who had never done it before. They got out into the wilderness, got a sense of what it means to carry everything you need with you, and saw some beautiful scenary. And they got to do it with friends, best of all.

At this time of year the hut is on caretaker status. Caretaker status means you bring your own food, and do your own cooking in the hut kitchen. You also need to bring a sleeping bag, as the wool blankets are put away for the winter and the bunkrooms are not heated. Still, you don't need to carry a backpacking stove, or cooking fuel, or a mess kit, or a tent, or water filters. You may think you have a heavy pack, but you really don't in comparison to a full backpack outing.

The trail up was in excellent shape, with bridges in place over the all major water crossings (they get flooded out every few years) and the road was open to the trailhead, so we didn't have to hike the additional 3 miles from the main road to the trailhead; the road to the trailhead does close once it snows. The kids flew along the trail up to the hut (2.8 miles) in about an hour. The adults took another half hour to get there. It's a very mild hike until the last quarter mile, and then it is rockier and steeper.

There are electric lights in the common room until lights out, and there is a wood stove in the common room which helps heat things up. People enjoyed playing cards and scrabble, reading, and drinking hot cocoa. The caretaker was very knowledgeable about the local trails, and gave our oldest boys a mini-seminar in planning a five day group back-pack outing.

There are two small 4 bunk bunkrooms, and two much larger bunkrooms -- so this isn't a place to go if you expect privacy. The view from the from porch is amazing, and on a clear night the night sky is breathtaking, with no light pollution. I've been to this hut many times, and I know I'll be going back many times more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russell-benoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Staying at an AMC hut is camping with benefits - it's rustic, but the food is amazing, if you are hiking with kids, the pack is much lighter, and the camaraderie in the huts is great. This was my second trip to Zealand and it remains my favorite hut - the view is amazing, kids love the waterfall, the hike is easy except for the last .2 mile, and the croo (staff) is so friendly. The dinner was delightful - especially the soup and bread. We even saw a bull moose on our hike up. A great way to introduce kids to hiking.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lizkayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
12.6 mi away
Days Inn Lincoln
Days Inn Lincoln
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
684 reviews
12.2 mi away
Indian Head Resort
Indian Head Resort
#7 of 20 in Lincoln
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#16 of 20 in Lincoln
245 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Lodge at Lincoln Station Resort
13.9 mi away
White Mountain Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zealand Falls Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zealand Falls Hut

Address: Zealand Road, Lincoln, NH
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lincoln
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Zealand Falls Hut Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing