We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Indian Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Indian Head Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Massachusetts
1 review
“Never again”
Reviewed 7 September 2008

I recently stayed at Indian Head for a week with family and friends. After hearing many great things about this property and seeing the pictures online we decided to book a bungalow, which is said to sleep 6-8 comfortably. We were greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk who allowed us to check in early, but she made it a point to let us know that if we decide not to stay the whole time, we would be responsible to pay for our entire stay. I now know why she said that..Upon arriving at our bungalow, I was alittle disappointed at the outside, all run down and covered with spider webs. Once walking inside, I was speechless and wanted to cry. The inside was gross, mold on the ceilings and in the bathroom, bathroom floor had a slope to it, as did the beds and there was a very strong odor throughout. We were advised when booking that the bungalows were "rustic" but this was disgusting. Inside looked absolutely nothing like the pictures posted online and if actual pictures were posted online we would have never stayed here. Nevermind the fact that there is no way 6 of us would have been comfortable in there. Upon calling the front desk to see if anything nicer was available before we packed up and left, we were advised there was only one other unit available that would fit us all that we could take but it was going to cost us alot more than we had already shelled out for this vacation. We were able to see the other unit before agreeing to it and it was much nicer, although not worth all the extra money but at that point we really had no option as we would be paying for something regardless of whether we stayed there or not. We had to call at 9pm for towels, toilet paper and trash removal as housekeeping left it on the lawn all day and we did not want animals gettings into it..the maintenance man came right out and was very nice about it. The chlorine was very overwhelming at the indoor pool and was burning our eyes so much we had to get out. The kids really enjoyed the bingo and ice cream social as well as the fishing. Overall, the people were very nice and helpful with our request to change rooms but the property was very dated and run down and for the amount of money we paid, I dont feel it was worth it. Our next vacation to NH will not be at Indian Head.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    301
    189
    87
    85
See reviews for
614
286
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott,Ma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This is no resort!! My husband I booked our stay after looking at the website (which is incredibly misleading!!). When we arrived we were not impressed with how run down the property looks. Our room was in the back of a run down building in need of some serious repair. The room itself stunk of mildew and the carpet was filthy. The bathroom was full of mold with tiles falling out of the shower walls and black mold on the ceiling. The shower curtain was gross and smelly. The 50 inch plasma TV was nice but the money spent on the TV should have been invested in fixing the rooms.The hotel offered us another room which was equally as gross and we demanded our money back. We found a spotless room at the Comfort Inn in Lincoln and enjoyed our vacation there mold free.I would not recommend the Indian Head resort to anyone looking for a clean resort!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern MA
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

After finding the resort website online, I eagerly called to book our family of four for three nights. My husband and I really wanted a room with a whirlpool but, since nothing was available our first nite, we stayed in a cabin. I was told that the cabins were rustic. Well, the mattresses were saggy and stinky as were the pillows. The shower curtain had mildew on it and the toilet had pieces of wood under it!!! The miniblinds were dirty and broken. Rustic my foot! Yuck is more like it!
Also, I could hear route 93 at night as it is very close.
Dinner was "neutral" at best. Breakfast was fine. Dining room could use some updates.
We hoped for the best for nights number two and three. I booked a room with a whirlpool bath. Well, it was only for one person (we had hoped it would fit two) and the jets had mildew in them! The front desk offered to clean the tub after I complained but, really, it should have been done! After this, we checked out.
The only thing we liked was the pools and outdoor whirlpool. They were clean and toasty warm. We did not have the chance to try the paddle boats.
They rave about the large HDTV in each room but personally, who cares! Invest the time and money in cleaning and updating.

  • Liked — pools & hot tubs
  • Disliked — The cabin -dirty saggy mattresses and overall dirty interior
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Agent37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Had the pleasure of having a fish hook embedded in my daughters foot as she attempted to go to the bathroom at 3am. while i tried to remove it from her foot and the rug I was cut Asked the front desk to check for additional hooks in rug the very next day my wife was pierced by a fish hook that was placed in the middle of the bathroom doorway. great place to stay if you want to be injured. Stay away.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 55454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My family stayed at this resort for 2 nights in July. We have 2 children, 5 and 8. The rooms were great. VERY clean. The bed sheets were superb. I am very picky about those! The bathroom was also VERY clean. I can't say a bad thing about the rooms, GREAT. My husband loved the flat screen TV. I will say the staff here, especially in the dining room, are very kind and patient. There are families everywhere, and the children are not always in their seats being quiet. The staff are not fazed at all. It is a perfect place to dine with kids, while other families with the kids, are around so it is not a big deal. You can really relax and enjoy your meal and not feel that your kids being loud or out of their seat is bothering the surrounding diners. After dinner is when the fun starts. We ate at 5 p.m. At 6:30, I think, the festivities start, and don't stop untill 10:00 pm fo rthe kids. Ice cream socials, Bingo ( with great prizes..WEBKINZ), magicians, clowns, and kareoke. My kids didn't want to leave. The outdoor pool is gorgeous. VERY clean. We loved the pool bar, the kids could get snacks, and we could sip Pina Colada's. The veiws are amazing from the pool. The tower is fun to climb, the kids loved it. What we loved about the Indian Head was that once we were there, we didn't need to leave for one thing. We HIGHLY recommend this resort for families. This was our first time here, but we will be back each summer. The front desk staff are so welcoming, just like family. You will not be dissapointed. The meal plan is worth every penny. Food is wonderful.

  • Liked — Kid friendly dining, Kid's activities, Cleanliness, Outdoor Pool
  • Disliked — The game room could use better cooling, A/C. Very stuffy.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bricklmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2008

This place was such as disappointment. This was not a resort, this was simply a motel. And the most frustrating part is how misleading the website was. We decided to stay there after viewing the website, who claimed they were a resort and had beautiful pictures of the property. I was disappointed from the second we pulled up when i saw that the property that seemed on line to be nestled in the mountains and have beautiful grounds, was on the main road, an old run down looking motel, and the pool was on the side of the motel, therefore visible to the main road and all the cars going by while you are trying to relax. The pool was also much older and smaller than i expected. We were hoping to have lunch there and were not able to after a staff told us that they do not serve lunch so we went elsewhere only to find out later that they actually did serve lunch. And when they say no checking in until 4 pm they mean it. we arrived by 11am and did not expect to get in our room but did expect they would make an effort to make a room available as soon as possible. we were told to check back in a few hours. well we had no luck and still had to wait when we finally went back at 3:45. a room was not even available 15 minutes early. we were intending on staying the whole day the next day when we first planned the trip and relaxing by the pool but after the whole experience we left by 9am.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank kate123Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We went there for our honeymoon and stayed the week of June 1, 2008 we had fun they even updated our room for no additonal cost the only problem was we were there off season so nothing was open and the entertainment was geared towards 80- 100 year old people we were the only young couple there the whole time so at our age who wants to hear patsy cline and Dolly Parton?? Sing??? Call A head people and find out who is playing and what is open cause your 2 hours plus to the nearest real world. I would for sure go back again but next time more research and planning. Prime Rib is the best so good

  • Liked — The Front Desk girl was Awesome kudos and the food Yummy Prime Rib
  • Disliked — Entertainment and nothing to do
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
619 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
3.3 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
232 reviews
3.0 mi away
RiverWalk Resort At Loon Mountain
2.6 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Head Resort

Property: Indian Head Resort
Address: 664 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4151
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Head Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains at the entrance to Franconia Notch State Park and Scenic Byway. 100 Open Year Round Resort Units and 50 Seasonal Cottages. Profile Dining room voted "Best Restaurant" in 2010 & 2011 Best of Chefs competition. All lodging features scenic views and 50" HDTV with over 60 HD channels. Heated Outdoor Pool and Hot Spa open all winter. Paddle boating and Stocked Trout Fishing in our private Shadow Lake. One of the area's largest Gift Shops features Old Man of the Mountain items, NH souvenirs, Native American craft work, toys, jewelry and more. Close to area attractions, tax free outlet shopping and thousands of miles of outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indian Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Head Hotel Lincoln
Indian Head Motel
Indian Head Resort Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing