We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Head Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Indian Head Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Lowell, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

When my friends and I first arrived at the Indian Head Resort we were shocked at the wonderful view that we were greeted by. This resort was put in the best place in all of New Hampshire because of the beauty that was surrounding it. A beautiful lake in the back with mountains all around, and from the front of the resort you could get a great view of the Indian Head profile on a mountain. As we walked inside we were helped by a very nice man at the front desk. He booked us a room on the lakeview side and hoped that we enjoyed our stay. After getting settled in our room, we went across the street to play tennis at the tennis court, but on the way we stopped to look at some of the bungalows. We called the front desk and they sent someone over to show us one. The man who got there to show us cabins said that the front desk says that "it's like camping with HBO" for the cabins that aren't fixed up yet. The man showed us a cabin that was fixed up and it looked like a really nice cottage that someday we might stay in. So after a long day of playing tennis and after our walk around the lake, we wanted to kick back and lay down in our nice compfy beds. But once we turned on the 50 in. TVs, we felt like we were in heaven. Not only were these TVs huge, but they also were high definition, and they had high definition quality, it was so nice. The food in the dining room was very good and we got to enjoy it with an entertainer in the lounge. On the last day of our stay, we were so sad that we had to go home. The Indian Head Resort was a wonderful stay, and I would reccomend this to anybody! When next summer comes, we would love to go back there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness and view
  • Disliked — Should have stayed longer
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    278
    176
    77
    74
See reviews for
561
264
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, MA
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

After paying $30 more a night than originally expected I woke up the next morning to find I had been sleeping in the previous occupants vomit! Didn't even get an apology, never mind a refund. It's been 2 days and I still haven't been able to talk to a manager about this. Next time I'll sleep in the woods and take my chances with the bears, at least it's cleaner. The cabins smell like they haven't been cleaned in decades and there's mold in the shower. It's great that they advertise flat screen tvs and cable but unless you're watching it with nose plugs it doesn't matter. Maybe they should've taken the money for all those tv's and put it into cleaning the rooms.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanut021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

I recently stayed at Indian Head for a week with family and friends. After hearing many great things about this property and seeing the pictures online we decided to book a bungalow, which is said to sleep 6-8 comfortably. We were greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk who allowed us to check in early, but she made it a point to let us know that if we decide not to stay the whole time, we would be responsible to pay for our entire stay. I now know why she said that..Upon arriving at our bungalow, I was alittle disappointed at the outside, all run down and covered with spider webs. Once walking inside, I was speechless and wanted to cry. The inside was gross, mold on the ceilings and in the bathroom, bathroom floor had a slope to it, as did the beds and there was a very strong odor throughout. We were advised when booking that the bungalows were "rustic" but this was disgusting. Inside looked absolutely nothing like the pictures posted online and if actual pictures were posted online we would have never stayed here. Nevermind the fact that there is no way 6 of us would have been comfortable in there. Upon calling the front desk to see if anything nicer was available before we packed up and left, we were advised there was only one other unit available that would fit us all that we could take but it was going to cost us alot more than we had already shelled out for this vacation. We were able to see the other unit before agreeing to it and it was much nicer, although not worth all the extra money but at that point we really had no option as we would be paying for something regardless of whether we stayed there or not. We had to call at 9pm for towels, toilet paper and trash removal as housekeeping left it on the lawn all day and we did not want animals gettings into it..the maintenance man came right out and was very nice about it. The chlorine was very overwhelming at the indoor pool and was burning our eyes so much we had to get out. The kids really enjoyed the bingo and ice cream social as well as the fishing. Overall, the people were very nice and helpful with our request to change rooms but the property was very dated and run down and for the amount of money we paid, I dont feel it was worth it. Our next vacation to NH will not be at Indian Head.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTinMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott,Ma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

This is no resort!! My husband I booked our stay after looking at the website (which is incredibly misleading!!). When we arrived we were not impressed with how run down the property looks. Our room was in the back of a run down building in need of some serious repair. The room itself stunk of mildew and the carpet was filthy. The bathroom was full of mold with tiles falling out of the shower walls and black mold on the ceiling. The shower curtain was gross and smelly. The 50 inch plasma TV was nice but the money spent on the TV should have been invested in fixing the rooms.The hotel offered us another room which was equally as gross and we demanded our money back. We found a spotless room at the Comfort Inn in Lincoln and enjoyed our vacation there mold free.I would not recommend the Indian Head resort to anyone looking for a clean resort!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern MA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2008

After finding the resort website online, I eagerly called to book our family of four for three nights. My husband and I really wanted a room with a whirlpool but, since nothing was available our first nite, we stayed in a cabin. I was told that the cabins were rustic. Well, the mattresses were saggy and stinky as were the pillows. The shower curtain had mildew on it and the toilet had pieces of wood under it!!! The miniblinds were dirty and broken. Rustic my foot! Yuck is more like it!
Also, I could hear route 93 at night as it is very close.
Dinner was "neutral" at best. Breakfast was fine. Dining room could use some updates.
We hoped for the best for nights number two and three. I booked a room with a whirlpool bath. Well, it was only for one person (we had hoped it would fit two) and the jets had mildew in them! The front desk offered to clean the tub after I complained but, really, it should have been done! After this, we checked out.
The only thing we liked was the pools and outdoor whirlpool. They were clean and toasty warm. We did not have the chance to try the paddle boats.
They rave about the large HDTV in each room but personally, who cares! Invest the time and money in cleaning and updating.

  • Liked — pools & hot tubs
  • Disliked — The cabin -dirty saggy mattresses and overall dirty interior
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Agent37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mass
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Had the pleasure of having a fish hook embedded in my daughters foot as she attempted to go to the bathroom at 3am. while i tried to remove it from her foot and the rug I was cut Asked the front desk to check for additional hooks in rug the very next day my wife was pierced by a fish hook that was placed in the middle of the bathroom doorway. great place to stay if you want to be injured. Stay away.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 55454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2008

My family stayed at this resort for 2 nights in July. We have 2 children, 5 and 8. The rooms were great. VERY clean. The bed sheets were superb. I am very picky about those! The bathroom was also VERY clean. I can't say a bad thing about the rooms, GREAT. My husband loved the flat screen TV. I will say the staff here, especially in the dining room, are very kind and patient. There are families everywhere, and the children are not always in their seats being quiet. The staff are not fazed at all. It is a perfect place to dine with kids, while other families with the kids, are around so it is not a big deal. You can really relax and enjoy your meal and not feel that your kids being loud or out of their seat is bothering the surrounding diners. After dinner is when the fun starts. We ate at 5 p.m. At 6:30, I think, the festivities start, and don't stop untill 10:00 pm fo rthe kids. Ice cream socials, Bingo ( with great prizes..WEBKINZ), magicians, clowns, and kareoke. My kids didn't want to leave. The outdoor pool is gorgeous. VERY clean. We loved the pool bar, the kids could get snacks, and we could sip Pina Colada's. The veiws are amazing from the pool. The tower is fun to climb, the kids loved it. What we loved about the Indian Head was that once we were there, we didn't need to leave for one thing. We HIGHLY recommend this resort for families. This was our first time here, but we will be back each summer. The front desk staff are so welcoming, just like family. You will not be dissapointed. The meal plan is worth every penny. Food is wonderful.

  • Liked — Kid friendly dining, Kid's activities, Cleanliness, Outdoor Pool
  • Disliked — The game room could use better cooling, A/C. Very stuffy.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bricklmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
0.4 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.4 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#18 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#20 of 20 in Lincoln
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#4 of 20 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Head Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Head Resort

Property: Indian Head Resort
Address: 664 US Route 3, Lincoln, NH 03251-4151
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Indian Head Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains at the entrance to Franconia Notch State Park and Scenic Byway. 100 Open Year Round Resort Units and 50 Seasonal Cottages. Profile Dining room voted "Best Restaurant" in 2010 & 2011 Best of Chefs competition. All lodging features scenic views and 50" HDTV with over 60 HD channels. Heated Outdoor Pool and Hot Spa open all winter. Paddle boating and Stocked Trout Fishing in our private Shadow Lake. One of the area's largest Gift Shops features Old Man of the Mountain items, NH souvenirs, Native American craft work, toys, jewelry and more. Close to area attractions, tax free outlet shopping and thousands of miles of outdoor adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Indian Head Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Head Hotel Lincoln
Indian Head Motel
Indian Head Resort Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing