We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, But filthy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Club On Loon
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We stayed there about during February school vacation. The hotel appears nice on the outside, but don’t be fooled by the outside appearance. We stayed in a room with 2 sofas/ beds with a pull down wall queen bed. When you stepped into the room, you felt like you stepped into the 80's. Everything in the room was outdated. The beds should not have even been called beds. They were hard sofas with removable side cushions. These were not pullout sofas. I’ve never even seen anything like it and I never want to sleep in anything like it again. When we pulled out the wall bed and pulled down the covers we were disgusted. It appeared that they NEVER changed the sheets from the previous guest. There were popcorn crumbs and what appeared to be chocolate smeared all over the sheets! We called the front desk and they were very apologetic and sent someone up right away to change them, but we never were sure it the changed the other bed sheets from the previous guests. The radiators next to the sofas were covered in about a half inch of dust. Aside from the room being dirty it had a nice view of the mountain. It had big bright windows (with broken shades). These rooms need to be ripped apart and redone. Aside from the room the indoor pool was nice, but the hot tub was OUTSIDE! You had to go outside in the 30 degree weather to go to the hot tub. The restaurants were nice and fairly affordable. The skiing was great. They had many slopes and great skiing lessons with nice instructors. Overall the staff was friendly but the facilities need a lot of work.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BMW47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2008

Stayed for a long weekend and had a great time. At check in I asked if there were renovated rooms, and there are, so we payed a little more and rented one of those. My parents came with my family and we had a suite side room and king side room. Suite has full kitchen, murphy queen bed and murphy double bed (comes out of the wall), couch, chairs, dining room tabel and chairs, private bath. The king side has the king bed, private bath, small table and chair. The accommodations were brand new and very nice...granite, new, clean, attractive everything was perfect. The pool area and ammenities were great as well, my 5 year old went swimming everynight and we had a blast with all they had to offer, hot tub, sauna, steam room, etc.. Also did the breakfast buffet which was great food and reasonabley priced, and at check in they gave us coupons for $ off a few meals, nice added bonus. The resort location is PERFECT! It is right on the slope and they provide a key to a private locker on the slope level to put your things in before you go up to your room. It was just so perfect for my family. Ski in, take your stuff off and go right to you room... it was so easy and convenient, I would definitely go back and stay there! Loon mountain, the trails, lifts, etc was all great too.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TopMastResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days. We were given, what I can only presume (from previous reviews) a refurbished room. The room was neat, tidy and bed was comfortable.
The maid service did clean and tidy the bathroom, but didn't manage to make the bed!
We had booked the room on the Hotels own website, so were given vouchers for Breakfast and Diner in the hotel. These were great as the evening meal that we had only cost us approx £10.
The hotel is in a great ski in, ski out position.
The only down side was that the indoor pool was a little too cool for my liking.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a short ski break in New Hampshire.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2008

The remainder of the unfurbished rooms should be completed this year but as another tripadvisor person stated, avoid the old rooms. Ripped/stained carpet, old glassware, a big eewww. As we had specifically asked for a new room, after a day and a half of complaining, we did get switched.
The layout, convenience, and views this facility provides are the best. The indoor heated pool is barely lukewarm, turn up the temperature very much needed. The outdoor jacuzzi nice but too crowded during the Presidents week we stayed. How about a 2nd one for adults only Loon management? Also, the Loon trail map boasts how they are "green" yet the Mountain Club does not recycle! We had all our plastics and cans neatly separated only for the cleaning staff tell us they do not recycle! Shame! Of course you cannot enforce guests to adhere to a policy but at least have one.
Despite these negative comments, my overall opinion of Mountain Club is very good, ski in/ski out is worth the extra $ (especially with kids) to be able to take a break and go up to your room to fix lunch and take off your boots rather than sit in an overcrowded/over priced cafeteria.
My kids loved the tree skiing and terrain parks. The spa is nice and the locker rooms have a great hot tub.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamj1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

I booked this hotel for our family of four with great expectations during the kid's February break from school. From the moment we checked in there was a two and a half hour delay, with little in way of an apology, even though 5:00 check in was GUARANTEED. The entire resort was not only severely understaffed but it also had very poorly trained staff. The food was actually pretty good but the service that came with it had a general attitude of contempt (not so much for the customers but seemingly for the place itself). All the hotel facilities were well worn and poorly kept. Having 3 very slow elevators for 230 rooms is ridiculous. The beds were uncomfortable at best, if you could keep the sheets on them and the blankets barely clean. You pay 5 star prices and getting less than one star service.

The mountain was perfect, the conditions and the mountain staff were great. It's a shame that the resort couldn't come up to those standard. I would ski the mountain again with my family but will never stay here - don't waste your vacation being aggravated, find another hotel in the area and enjoy the slopes!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Kberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

My husband & I own a vacation home in Lincoln, and we have been frequenting The Villagio Spa at The Mountain Club on Loon for a while now. The staff: Debbie, Ryan,[ who I can't say enough about is extremely attentive to your needs.] Matthew , April, Chanette, and Mellisa are well trained in the expertise of facials, massage, & maicure/pedicures.
Debbie keeps the place running , smoothly, and it shows. That says a lot about the staff.
If your looking for a clean comfotable place to relax, look no further when you plan a trip to the White Mountains.

Stayed: January 2008
3  Thank Patents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

The hotel's facilities are fine, and its food good, but insist that you stay in one of the refurbished rooms, or you may end up as we did in one of the rooms provided with a wall bed which was truly awful. The mattress was thin, and afforded little protection from the springs. A sleepless night resulted.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Village Of Loon Mountain, a VRI resort
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.2 mi away
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
#19 of 20 in Lincoln
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#14 of 20 in Lincoln
628 reviews
2.3 mi away
RiverWalk Resort at Loon Mountain
1.7 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#6 of 20 in Lincoln
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Club On Loon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Club On Loon

Address: 90 Loon Mountain Rd, Lincoln, NH 03251-4303
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lincoln
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lincoln
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Club On Loon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A vacationer's paradise, the beauty, hospitality and convenience of The Mountain Club on Loon is unrivaled. Nestled at the base of New Hampshire's most popular ski resort, The Mountain Club on Loon offers a delightful array of amenities and activities on-site or within a very short walk. Here you will find a luxurious spa and health club, two delightful dining options, and refreshing pool and hot tub. There's also a covered parking garage available so there's no need to worry about your vehicle during your vacation. While staying at The Mountain Club on Loon, awe-inspiring views will make your everyday world a distant memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain Club On Loon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Club On Loon Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Hotel On Loon
Mountain Hotel Lincoln
Mountain Club Loon
Mountain Club On Loon Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing