We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive for NO Ammenities and OLD/OUTdated rooms with no daily houskeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivergreen Resort Hotel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We reserved a 2 bedroom suite from the Rivergreen website a month before our trip. We arrived around 4:00 and were given a room which we were very disappointed with. When we walked in, the bed was unmade like someone had slept in it and it wasn't cleaned. We were on the bottom floor at the furthest away from the wifi service so we had NO wifi in our rooms (with 3 children, this didn't go over well). We asked to be moved to a room that had been cleaned but were told they were sold out on 2 bedrooms. We then found out that the hotel charges a "resort fee" which is for cleaning and what not but they DO NOT Clean your room your entire stay. You must take out your own trash and if you need towels/soap/toilet paper, you have to truck it to the front desk and get it yourself. What's the purpose of a "cleaning fee" if you aren't going to offer daily cleaning services. The rooms were very old and in need of some new items and paint. The beds were not very comfortable and there was no A/C in the bedrooms, only in the main living room. All and all, it was an awful stay. No wifi, no clean rooms, beds unmade when you arrive, no daily housekeeping, no a/c in bedrooms, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone EVER! There are so many other places to stay, dont settle for this hotel. We actually tried to stay elsewhere after our arrival and finding this hotel to be in such poor condition, we called around to other resorts but due to the Lincoln craft fair, everyone was booked. We feel that $745 for 3 nights at a hotel of this level, definitely not worth the price!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your recent stay. Yes, it was an extremely busy weekend and we did not have alternate availability or we would have been happy to move you to another location. However, the 2Bedroom units are only located at each end of the hallways. WiFi is available in all public areas and is installed throughout the building, but due to our construction we do have some locations with signal weaknesses. Whether or not this varies with the type of device being used, we are not sure as a successive guest in that same unit had connection - ??? We are looking into this for future correction.

Regarding the un-made bed, this is a quandary as the room was inspected the day prior (personally) and was fine. The most likely reason is that someone was allowed to view the room unescorted, which is not our typical practice, and we neglected to re-inspect. That was indeed our fault. For that we did and do apologize; the situation was corrected and compensated.
Until recently, daily housekeeping service was not an issue for us and we are addressing this for the future. Resort fee is not for housekeeping, so we apologize if that is what you were told. Staff members have been advised of its correct purpose to avoid misinformation.

We hope that you will return again for a more favorable experience. We do try our best to meet our guests expectations and would like you to give us another chance to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Rivergreen Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I feel like I got what I wanted but others might not be satisfied. The room was spacious for the money. The beds were plentiful and the full kitchen was great. Also I had two full baths and a jacuzzi. The hotel has all the other bases covered but here are the only flaws you will find. There is no free maid service.
Another exceptional thing I noticed is that the furniture and appliances were of high quality.

Room Tip: Book the one bedroom with a full kitchen and two double beds. It even includes a pullout couch.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you for your review; we appreciate your candor and your constructive commentary. Until recently housekeeping service has not been a negative issue for most of our guests. We are considering ways to address this in the future. We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed in the Studio room on the backside of the hotel. On the outside it looked great and the location was ideal for biking around safely. When we reserved our room a week prior the lady was super nice so we expected the employees to be as nice as this lady was. When we checked in the lady was rude and uptight and didn't offer a smile. I didn't take it personally until everyday we saw her she had the same attitude. We went to our room and it was ideal for a lot of people to occupy it, meaning it was big. However, we did not expect the room to be ugly. The wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off the wall, and the walls were white with a ugly stained carpet. We were told each of the rooms were privately owned by people. I will not stay again in a privately owned place because of this.

The bed which was a murffy bed (coming out from wall) was so uncomfortable we had such horrible neck pain every morning we woke up. There is no warning sign for the garbage disposal which freaked me out every time I accidentally hit the wrong switch. Beside that I was upset to find a crappy shower and no bathtub.

I think the main issue here is that we never received fresh towels, supplies, or fresh Linens during our stay!!! They say in the booklet is to keep costs down if you need extra towels so ask at front desk. The pool and hot tub were great. The great room was cute and very nice but it was located at the very end of the other side of the hotel. The exercise room was ridiculous -- there was NO ventilation in the room and it was the size of a closet beside the pool. The only air came from an old metal stand up fan. We had to take out our own trash and the entire hotel had no air condition other than the rooms. There is no air condition throughout the hotel but the rooms.

MY ISSUE with our room was the air condition. Apparently the old television is positioned on a shelf under the air condition which is located on the top of the wall. When it gets hot and you turn it on its inevitable that it will leak due to the hot climate. After the first night we realized the a/c had been leaking on the TV. When we got back to the room to turn the TV on it wasn't working. Apparently the water fried the television. We called the front desk and they sent a guy to our room who told us to not use the a/c for a while. He quickly replaced our TV with another old tv but had to take one of the lamp tables to set it on and then placed a towel over the top of the tv so the water wouldn't damage it. The last night we were there we had the a/c on again only in the middle of the night it made a loud noise and poured water out and the side I was sleeping on the bed started to get wet so we had to shut it off.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Each room is apparently different because of the privately owned owners. My guest had the chance to quickly get a tour of the other rooms. Each one is indeed a little different. Ours had creepy winter stuffed animals and snowmen and odd random decor that was literally placed on the wall for the hell of it.

A little over $110 a night we should of got a lot more for our money. We could of got a cheaper place with more for us like fresh linens than this place including a breakfast. We told the front desk before we left about our stay and all she could say was things happen. I read reviews on this site before we booked this hotel I try not to listen to them but I probably should of for this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is different, due to the privately owned rooms for this hotel. So good luck with finding t...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. We do hope that you will decide to return again in the future and have a more favorable experience. If you wish to rebook in the future, please call us and we will do our best to accommodate you to your satisfaction. We do take all feedback into consideration and will try to correct some of the issues you address, such as labeling the disposal switches or providing better ventilation for the exercise room – the location of the building itself, however, is not changeable.

The customer service issue has been addressed and we apologize for this. That is something that is certainly within our ability to provide to all of our guests.

The air conditioning problem was, unfortunately, a result of an extended period of unusually hot, humid weather. When run too long at low temperatures, they may leak. Without knowing the specific room you were in, we will have to assess how rooms are set up in relation to the air conditioning units and make recommendations to the unit owners regarding re-arrangement. All of our rooms are inspected regularly and reports given to owners regarding condition and suggestions for improvement. We are not a standardized chain resort and units are decorated to owner tastes. That is something that is subjective and variable.

Finally, housekeeping service has (until recently) not been a negative issue for us with most people amenable to the system in place. The subject is open for re-consideration.

Again, we apologize that you were not satisfied. We do take all feedback seriously and will work toward future improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This was a very nice place to stay, however do not book on Expedia because when expedia sends you the email confirmation email the total is way different than what the hotel charges. You will be charged the hotel Expedia amount which is collected in full and then you will be charged at the hotel a 10 cleaning fee per night and another 10 resort fee per night and don't forget taxes are charged on that extra fee. CRAZY!

This is an average hotel, certainly not worth a resort fee, cleaning fee. If you try and dispute anything the hotel will make every excuse but will not resolve the issue. was not worth the money paid with no cleaning daily and even though they make you sign a smoking statement there was burn marks on the rugs from smoking...

To me it would have made more sense to wave the extra fees rather than argue with me about it because in this case the customer is always wrong, and I will not stay there again and will tell other people not to stay there as well, stupid business practices.

Room Tip: There was no service, no cleaning service available only when you leave and you pay the fee for it...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WMoore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

We apologize for the issue regarding the Expedia charges. We do take all feedback, both positive and negative, into consideration and are reviewing how we can resolve this to everyone’s satisfaction. In this age of technology, we must have a presence in the online marketplace, and while it is a convenience for our guests, it requires comparison shopping.
When a guest books directly with our resort, all fees are factored into the total cost of the stay. With online booking sites, only room and tax charges are collected by the agent and reimbursed to us at wholesale rates. This reduced rate is then again divided between the unit owner and the rental management company, so in order to cover our costs, the additional fees are collected. We aren’t charging Expedia guests more, only the same as our direct reservations. No fees are taxable. We have made every effort to have the appropriate disclaimers online; in fact, fees far higher than what we do charge are currently listed and we are working to get this corrected.
Regarding the smoking issues, we do apologize. We are a non-smoking resort, although some units converted more recently than others. We will try to determine what unit has this deficiency and resolve it with the owner.
We do hope that you will return again to stay with us. Please contact us directly and we will make every effort to accommodate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

My family of two adults and two kids under 7 met my sister and her family of 4 last week for a vacation before our kids start camp. We had a great time! The unit we stayed in was a two bedroom + living room with pullout sofa and had plenty of room for everyone. Also there was a full kitchen which is great since we got sick of eating out. There is a large supermarket in town which is a bonus. Units are typical rustic New Hampshire; very cozy. The pool and hot tub were warm and the gym, although small, was fine. The location is amazing - 5 minutes from Whales Tails water park, Clarks Trading Post, and many more. The highlight of our trip was the Alpine Adventure Off-Road Tour -- it was great fun for the adults and kids. http://alpinezipline.com/

Over all a great place to visit in the summer and not just for skiing!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor two bedroom unit-they are two levels and really spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2012

Thank you so much for your comments about us. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll enjoy future stays with us. We truly appreciate our return (and first time) guests. Have a wonderful end of Summer and Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was our 5th year staying at the Rivergreen as a group of 5 families... because they have so many types of accommodations everyone could rent exactly what they wanted within their price range. Our unit was extremely clean, well kept and moderately priced. The front desk staff was very accomodating. We used their "Great Room" and Pool Area as a gathering spot for our group. Great stay as usual!

Room Tip: If you have small children and will spend a lot of time at the pool, request a room near the pool ar...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skbmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Front Office Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

We are so glad you enjoyed your time here with us and we are very happy to have you as return guests. It's nice to hear that you are so happy with the staff and accommodations each time you stay. The staff works very hard to ensure that everyone will have nice time while they are here. Thank you so much for writing a nice review for us. We really appreciate your time.
We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Rivergreen Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We made a reservation for a 2 Bedroom suite for 2 nights at a rate of $279 per, directly with the hotel. We had a death in the family that caused us to miss our first night. Given the circumstances, the hotel graciously waived the two night minimum and allowed us to stay for one night with no loss of our $284 advance deposit. We arrived on the morning of our stay, went directly to the mountain and didn't check in until around 6:30 PM after a full day of skiing. The room number they gave us at check-in was a 1 bedroom. We had been contacted by the hotel in November after our initial reservation was made and asked if we were willing to move to a smaller room to accomodate some other guests. We declined at that time given that we are a family of 5. When we discovered we were in a 1 bedroom, we assumed that maybe they had gone ahead and changed our reservation. At 7:00 the next morning, we let the front desk know and asked if our rate was going to be adjusted. They informed us at that time that we had also had the adjoining room. We told them that no one had mentioned this at checkin and that we had never entered the adjoining room. We were told that someone would check the room to verify but that no one working at that time had the authority to make a decision on the rate change. They assured us that someone would contact us to follow up. After not hearing from the hotel for over a week, we called and were told that they had never looked at the room and that they were not going to be able to do anything regarding what we were charged.

While the room itself was nice enough, our experience with the staff, particularly the front desk and subsequent communication with the Manager was enough to ruin our experience and garner this poor review.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ken c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rgreen16, Manager at Rivergreen Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

We are sorry for the confusion surrounding this guest’s stay with us. The dates in question fell in a sold-out holiday week. Although we had been turning business away for some time, we did allow a last-minute change because of extenuating circumstances and we appreciate the acknowledgment of that in the review. Had we strictly enforced our cancellation policy, the deposit could have been forfeited or the guest could have been obligated for the two nights regardless of the situation. In our area it is not easy to recoup last-minute losses, and as we have a duty to the owners of our units to maximize their rental potential, we are not as able to accommodate as many variables as some traditional hotel-model operations are. We are not a large corporate entity, but a small association of homeowners who rely on rental income that is impacted by factors as diverse as the global economy and the weather forecast. The loss of the first night’s rental was significant.

To address the situation in question, the reservation was made for and confirmed for a 2-Bedroom Condo Suite. The circumstances surrounding the call in November to change the room type booked were due to owners seeking to use units that had existing reservations in them. We do our best to seek out guests who might be willing to change, but if not, we do not arbitrarily re-assign rooms without permission. We simply tell the owners that we cannot accommodate them. At no time was this guest’s reservation changed by us.

The registration signed at check-in was for a 2-Bedroom Suite. Our units are all lock-offs or two connecting rooms with separate main doors and interior connecting doors. We write two room numbers on our key packets. The keys in question were verified to have been made for both rooms. Upon arrival in the unit, had there been any doubt about the room assignment, a simple call to the front desk could have clarified and resolved the issue. Nearly five hours went by before our closing time, but there was no question posed until the following morning. At that time it was too late to resolve the matter for anyone’s benefit, but a monetary adjustment was expected. In light of concessions already made, we opted not to further compensate this guest.

We apologize for the confusion and the delay in responding; that should have been more prompt on our part and was an oversight. For the future we urge any of our guests who have questions or concerns to bring them to our attention while there is still time to resolve them and make their stay as enjoyable as it can be.

Thank you,
Rivergreen Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.5 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
River Walk Resort at Loon Mountain
2.2 mi away
Mountain Club On Loon
Mountain Club On Loon
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Kancamagus Lodge
The Kancamagus Lodge
#5 of 20 in Lincoln
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivergreen Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivergreen Resort Hotel

Address: 48 Cooper Memorial Drive, Kancamagus Scenic Byway/ Route 112, Lincoln, NH 03251
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lincoln
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: £106 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rivergreen Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivergreen Resort is a great place to stay and has something for everyone! The accommodations range from a deluxe hotel room to a 2-level 2-bedroom condo, and everything in between. We are close to many of the White Mountains Attractions and 2 great ski areas. There is always something to do in the White Mountains and the Rivergreen is a great place to stay any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Rivergreen Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivergreen Hotel Lincoln
Rivergreen Resort Hotel Lincoln, New Hampshire - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing