We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Woods!”
Review of Rustic Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rustic Log Cabins
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A perfect get-away! The log cabins are certainly "rustic" but comfortable. The cleanliness, plenty of hot water, babbling brook, and the freshly aired sheets on the bed were perfect! No cell phone, no emails - a great way to get away from the hectic life we wanted to leave behind. Our two night stay was not long enough - we'll DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

We're both disabled seniors, married 5 years and were on our first honeymoon. We stepped into Cabin #5 (which I'v dubbed 'Linger Longer') and we were transformed. Relaxed, mellow, happy, content. Small and rustic, yes, but Alana and Emile have included things you don't get in a 1st class motel - lightly scented percale sheets (in pastel blue!), a full 10-cup coffee pot, double ply and SOFT toilet tissue. As hosts they were warm and friendly, but not 'pushy and Oakley, their collie, was a perfect gentleman! Through my many years I've had many vacations and travels, (Hawaii, Mexico, beaches and mountains) but none have left me with such peace and tranquility. Thanks, A & E, we'll be back 'home' again asap!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyvet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We - my husband, myself, 3 teenagers, and my mother - stayed 2 nights at Rustic Log Cabins, and my only complaint is that we didn't stay longer. The location was great for our trip - some of us skiied on Cannon Mtn one day, some of us browsed through the local shops, we were close to restaurants, and the scenery in the area is picture-postcard perfect. It was my mother's first winter trip to New England, and it couldn't have been a more perfect setting.
The cabins were cozy, well-stocked for fires in the fireplace, and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms are not luxurious - but it's a rustic cabin!
We saw some comments posted previously about a sulfur smell to the water - we noticed it faintly, but for drinking purposes it is fine if the tap runs for just a minute first. That was a non-issue for our drinking, coffee, and cocoa purposes.
I would most definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girleditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We have been going to Rustic Log Cabins the last 2 years. And expect to return this year again. It truely is Rustic. We loved the Babbling Brook, The room and fireplace. And the people that own/run the place we very friendly and helpful. What I have read in the reviews of the place and the people that run it must have been in a bad mood or something else other than what they claimed while staying there. We found it peaceful there. The road near it is NOT loaded with traffic going by. And the people running it were in no way ingnorant or mean to us. Just the opposite. Bottom line is we are going back for a 3rd time (3rd yr in row). And that should speak Volumes to you about how I have discribed and highly recommend this place to everyone. And we both can't wait until we return again during this Winter 2011 . Thanks Rustic Log Cabins..George and Valerie

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weatherman1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

If want you want is a quiet, secluded log cabin in the woods, surrounded by beautiful landscape, accessible hiking trails, and cozy interior of the cabins, then this place is perfect. If you are looking for "at your beck and call" service, 5 star resort, then obviously, don't rent a place called "rustic log cabins". That's exactly what they are, and exactly what we were looking for. We wanted a spot to leave the craziness of Manhattan, after a 5.5 hour beautiful drive, we arrived. We thought ahead and shopped at grocery store en route, planning to stay in and cook for ourselves. On arrival, Alana was more than helpful, giving us directions, firewood, and letting us know if we needed anything, she would be available, but also, we were meant to explore and be on our own. Which was exactly what we wanted. We spent a great day hiking, and an even better night cooking, sitting by the fire. Quiet and cozy. Super comfortable beds, clean interior, wasn't cold in the cabin at all. And yes, our cabin was right on the road, which is not a main road per se, I heard maybe 3 cars go by during our stay. Oh and no cell service, which was even nicer for what we wanted, but plan ahead and be prepared to really leave it all behind.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I felt very angry when I arrived to the cabins. NOWHERE on the site was mentioned that the cabins were right on the main road (exactly 12 feet from it). I also asked the owner on the phone if it was safe for young kids and she said of course.... Try having a 2 year old and a 5 year old running around everywhere and living in fear that they would approach or cross the road ANY minute...It was not FUN and relaxing staying there. And the attitude of the owner did not help. We wanted to move somewhere else but she took our money right away and said that she had to turn down many other people (the cabin next to us was EMPTY the entire week we stayed there...).
And then, we must have gotten the oldest and dirtiest cabin of all because there were spider webs INSIDE the cabin, and many other black things (inside the refrigerator, shower, etc) that gave us the impression that the place had not been truly cleaned in years...
PLEASE SEE MY PHOTOS....and judge by yourself....

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LiveinSunshine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I just dont understand why this place would get any bad reviews because We arrived later than the 3:00 check in time and the owner Alana came out and greeted us in a very welcome fashion.She told us everything we need to know and said if we needed anything to just let them know.We found them both to be very accomodating.The cabins were very clean and comfortable.The noise from the road was not at all bothersome to us,and the babbeling brook behind the cabins was absolutly breath taking,and relaxing.We knew that there would be no ac,so we did bring our own fan,and were very comfortable.There were plenty of blankets on the bed just in case,and the fireplace was very cozy.The kitchen was surprisingly over equipt with anything you might need.And plenty of towels.There was also plenty of hot water in the shower.Yes there was no tv,but it was realxing and we did bring a radio with us.We found plenty of stores to get groceries without having to drive an hour.I do not understand why any one would write a bad review about this place.We invited the owners to join us at the brook by the picnic table,and we found them to be very hospitable and warm and friendly.Laid back and relaxed people.If anyone is thinking twice about not staying here because of a few bad reviews,please dont believe all those haters and give this place a chance cause I think you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
10.7 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
70 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
19.8 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,762 reviews
4.4 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rustic Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rustic Log Cabins

Address: 1450 Sugar Hill Rd, Lisbon, NH 03585-6716
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: £101 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The original Rustic Log Cabins in Lisbon NH. Hand hewn log cabins by Real Goulet. Come relax and unplug by the Salmon Hole Brook, a 35 foot wide waterway that weaves through the property. Each log cabin is unique and individual and has its' own style. Wood burning fireplaces, full equipped kitchens and romance will await your visit. Open year round. The Rustic Log Cabins are nestled along the Salmon Hole Brook between 80 to 100 feet apart. Come to listen to the soothing brook and take a step back in time. Read that book you haven't had a chance to finish. We have a supply of books, games and cards in the office for your pleasure as well as lawn games. If you need to get connected there is free WIFI at the office.We are about 10 minutes from Franconia Notch State Park which supplies the visitor with hiking, biking, swimming, snowmobiling, and skiing. Wether it be a lake, stream, river or pond all within 10 minutes of the cabins, fishing is at its' best. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rustic Log Cabins Hotel Lisbon
Rustic Log Cabins Lisbon, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing