We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Washington
1 review
“Perfect place for a wedding!”
Reviewed 9 August 2007

My husband and I had the most amazing wedding at Bishop Farm! Everyone there was so helpful and so excited about our event. I can't imagine a more beautiful spot for a wedding. Their attention to detail is amazing and we truly felt like part of the family while we were there. I highly, highly recommend staying at Bishop Farm, and if you're planning a wedding, look no further.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank DIYgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
106
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Maine
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We attended our son's wedding and stayed two nights. Great food, cozy bed, & warm hospitality.
This is an old farmhouse that has been well restored.
All the furniture and plumbing fixtures are in very good shape.
It is located in a rural and peacefull setting about 7 miles from Littleton, NH. There are large sheltered yards. It is about 200 yards off NH highway 302 which is scenic and easy to drive. It is very easy to find. It sets comfortably above the highway, and the driveway curves up and around the farmhouse with plenty of parking.

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MidMaineTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2007

My husband and I have been waiting for Bishop Farm to open, and when we finally got there, couldn't believe how enchanting as well as inviting a place it is. It's a place that immediately makes you feel welcome, but in no way intrudes on your privacy. The rooms are individually and charmingly decorated, the bed is so comfortable and the sheets so fresh, we wanted to "take them with us." In the morning, Annie, our hostess, made us a completely home made breakfast with top-of-the-line tea and coffee, which complemented our made-from-scratch muffins, and eggs and bacon as we wanted. Although we were only there for one night, my husband and I haven't stopped talking about how we have to get back before it's "discovered" and there is a long waiting list. It is a jewel of a place...and we will be back soon!

  • Liked — friendliness, cleanliness, wa
  • Disliked — too far away from home to visit often
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lightmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern NH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2007

We planned a one-night stay (not avail. at many other B&B's) in Lisbon to do some genealogy from Bath to Lunenburg, VT. Bishop Farm was the perfect base to travel from. The farmhouse dates from abt 1870's but has a happy, clean, fresh and colorful touch thanks to the renovations, distinctive furniture and wonderful paintings and b&w photos by and of Annie's family throughout the farmhouse. The rooms are soothing and immaculate.

After a long day of retracing some ancestral paths from Lunenburg, Dalton, Littleton and Bath, looking through old vital records, searching through obscure cemeteries, and enjoying the mountainous views (saw a moose!), we arrived back at the Bishop Farm where Annie had left the light on for us. We collapsed to enjoy the spring air on the swinging bench on the porch to the roar of peepers and a delicate windchime. A bit later Annie popped her head out the door, offered us a glass of wine and joined us a little while for some evening porch talk that spanned a few centuries.

Our room was Mt. Liberty on the 3rd floor. Annie had put a fan in the window as I'd mentioned we weren't crazy about ac. Dimly lit with a soft hum of fan and a little container of lavender bath salts waited by the clawfoot tub; the perfect ending to a lovely, exhausting day.

In the a.m., coffee on the sunny porch. Goldfinches flocked to the birdfeeder and Kaia, the golden ret., waited patiently for a treed red squirrel. She dared not take her eyes off it, so just wagged her tail goodmorning. Annie cooked us a big farm breakfast (complete with Mimosas) that carried us through the entire day.

Highly recommend Bishop's Farm B&B.



.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maureenhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2007

Starved without winter outdoor experience, two old-time buddies and their female partners came to Lisbon, NH all the way from NYC to spend three unforgettable nights at Bishop Farm B&B.

We felt the warmth of the place even before passing by the fireplace in the living room, as our hostess Annie, who stayed up until we arrived at 12:30 AM, gave us a caring greeting and welcomed into the house.

We celebrated our arrival with champagne and red wine in the beautiful dining room, which was conveniently separated from the inner house by a traditional tearoom, so no other guest would be disturbed. Drinking on premises is permitted; there is no “corkage fee”, so consider bringing your favorite wine. We were given a privilege to use the fine glassware and tea set of the house, which contributed significantly to the overall experience.

The history of the place echoed in soft mysterious whispering of wind chimes on the outside terrace.

My room was on the 3rd floor, very warm (consider the outside temperature of -2F on the third night of stay) and cozy with the quality bed set. The TV had a nice cable channel lineup. BF is a hotspot for the Internet users. My wife caught a few productive moments with her graduate research. The breakfast times and the menu were praised by us. A couple of pretty little birds shared that great experience with us. Privacy was undisputed. Secondary amenities were available on-demand.

Annie was the fairy of the house, who would make our wishes come true. A fun of downhill sledding some 200 yards from the house would never be possible without her organizational abilities and extraordinary personal qualities.

BF is a perfect location for those who seek harmony between inner selves and the nature. Its semi-secluded location in Lisbon, NH was a big plus for us, as we tried to avoid the noisy overrated resorts. Yet, it is only 20-min drive away from main recreational spots of White Mountain region. Wonderful house! (Wooden floors covered by colorful rugs.) Great hosts! (Annie and Mary.) Great value! (Material & spiritual.) Great location! (Perfect for x-country skiers and snowmobile riders with own equipment.)

Enchanting!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank medvede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

My partner and I recently stayed here, and I must say, we were blown away--with comfort, relaxation, peace, and quiet! This is a genuine old farm house that has been lovingly (and faithfully) restored, charming, earthy, but not pretentious. We were met at the door leading in to the living room (with fireplace burning) by Annie, one of the owners, who welcomed us warmly. Not just chit chat, but she really was trying to find out how she could best accomodate us, what special needs we had, etc. As it happens, my partner has some serious food allergies, and Annie truly worked around them the next morning at breakfast. (Will come back to breakfast in just a bit!)

Annie gave us a little tour and showed us all the rooms, before we settled in to the Mt. Madison (3rd floor--shower big enough for 2!); all the rooms (which are named after the presidential range of mountains in NH) looked great, but this one seemed to be calling us! Super comfortable queen bed, everything plush, warm, etc., but again, not overdone.

There's some very nice restaurants just a few minutes away in Littleton, where we ate that evening, before coming back and settling in for a wicked game of chess in front of the fire. (I lost.)
Then we just read to each other until we could hardly keep our eyes open.

Now, I loved this place not just for what it was and what it had, but also for what it didn't have: there were no unpleasant distractions, no children, no rude people, no messes, no lethargic employees with an attitude, no lines, no blaring tv's in common areas, no boom boxes--you get the idea.

After a most restful sleep we met in the breakfast room with a couple other folks and had a delightful breakfast. Annie made a french toast casserole (think 1st cousin to bread pudding), smothered in a pecan praline sauce (die and go to heaven--all at 9 in the morning!) and made a very special breakfast of spelt french toast for my partner. Of course besides awesome high octane coffee, and tea for my partner, there was also a wonderful selection of fresh fruit, banana nut bread, and all sorts of other goodies.

After breakfast we took a walk in the woods behind the place. Annie showed us which path to take, and said that her dog, Kaia (hope I'm spelling it correctly) would come with us. A gentle
but frolicky golden retriever, what fun--she ran ahead of us on the paths, showing us the way, and when it was time to come back, we simply called her name and she brought us back to the house! I think the property is about 20 acres, but it adjoins another parcel of over 200 acres with paths also. Peaceful and beautiful

This was such a special little trip for us--it was my partner's 50th birthday--and did she ever feel celebrated. We want to make this an annual visit now, plain and simple.

Did I mention that there were little trays of fresh baked cookies that were put in the living room on a regular basis? Again, just one of the many tiny touches that made this visit so nice.

By the way, it's not that far from the mountains, from the outlet stores in North Conway, from the cultural stuff going on at Dartmouth in Hanover or the Lebanon Opera House. If you're coming up here to scout for a house or whatever, or need a place for a family reunion, consider this place--I believe you'll be glad you did.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank learn2skate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2006

This review is a little delayed to say the least but I really still want to recommend a fantastic b&b .We stayed here in nov 2005 when the b&b had only recently opened, so hopefully lots of other people had a great experience since.

During our stay we were the only guests and were given the mount washington suite rather than the standard room we had booked as it was available, which we thought was a lovely gesture. as were the homemade cookies you receive on arrival.The inn keepers were so welcoming and friendly but respectful of your privacy as guests too.

We met most of the innkeepers during our stay and found them to be really lovely and genuine. They were also very helpful, finding out information on attraction opening times (we were there out of season and in unexpected snow) and recommending somewhere locally to eat.

The accommodation is tasteful and comfortable and the building has been rennovated beautifully. There is also a comfortable lounge and a welcoming fire. Also despite its rural location there is internet access. We usually stay in hotels and in accommodation of a high standard and were definitely not disappointed with bishops farm, calling it a b&b didn't do it justice in our opinion.

And on the subject of breakfast it was absolutely delicious and plenty of it.

Overall highly recommended and if we were ever in the area again it would be top of our list of where to stay.

A little note : a car is essential

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank doorfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
7.0 mi away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
160 reviews
6.9 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
212 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 33 Bishop Cutoff, Lisbon, NH 03585-6902
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop Farm Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best of Service in New England" by Boston Magazine!! Bishop Farm Bed & Breakfast Inn and Cottages is located between Littleton, Franconia & Lisbon near the spectacular White Mountains of New Hampshire. Adventure travelers come here to hike, bike, ski, and relax. Family-owned and operated, Bishop Farm is situated on 200 acres with seven guest rooms in the main farmhouse and six newly renovated cottages. This restored 1800's New England farmhouse blends the charm and tradition of yesterday with modern lodging conveniences of today. Bishop Farm, your New England home away from home.Farmhouse and cottage amenities include, FREE wireless internet access, private baths, TV/cable, home cooked breakfast for farmhouse guests and kitchenettes in the cottages. We also have walking trails, indoor and outdoor meeting areas and plenty of parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bishop Farm b&b
Bishop Farm Hotel Lisbon
Bishop Farm Bed And Breakfast Lisbon, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing