We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in historic Inn”
Review of Thayers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thayers Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Laguna Hills
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in historic Inn”
Reviewed 20 September 2008

We arrived into Littleton not planning to spend the night, However, we found that the town needed to be explored, thus requiring the nights stay.The Thayer Inn provided us with a comfortable room in a historic structure dating back over 100 years. We enjoyed coffee in their lobby the next morning. Staff was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — good location within a interesting community
  • Disliked — The building is older and lacks insulation within the walls. We could hear our neighbors talking
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starfire33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    95
    31
    26
    10
See reviews for
53
115
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

My husband works in Littleton from time to time - usually 1 -2 weeks at a time and I usually travel with him. I love Littleton and for several years really enjoyed staying at Thayer's Inn. We once spent a month there.
The history of the place IS interesting. The location is wonderful..right downtown and backs up to the river. For many years this hotel was owned by the Eames family, a local Littleton family. They had the same innkeepers - Don and Carolyn for many many years. Don and Carolyn retired and the Eames sold the inn. Big mistake.
The folks who bought it are running it in to the ground. One night there was a very loud party going on directly over us. We waited several hours for it to quiet down (I hate to complain) and finally went upstairs at 3AM to ask them to hold it down a little. Guess who answered the door..the manger of the hotel. Seems he was partying with his friends. They didn't quiet down until almost dawn.

We also felt at times that something just wasn't "right" with the new management. They seem so very unconcerned with their guests' needs, it just kind of made you wonder what was gong on.

We've since sadly given up on Thayers are now staying at Hampton Inn..nowhere near the personality but quiet, nice room and very accomodating staff. Wish the Eames would buy the Thayers Inn back and bring it back to what it used to be..a great historic old hotel with nice, basic rooms and alot of personality.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jenbobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, KY
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

My husband and I traveled to New England for a fall foliage tour, our first trip to this area. We were going to meet another couple of friends from Boston and drive through New Hampshire and/or Vermont. Apparently, we picked the most traveled weekend of the year for this area. . . peak fall foliage AND Columbus Day! When we went to book an inn or B&B 3 months in advance, we realized that everything was either already booked, required a 3 night minimum stay, or was $250-$350/night!

We began to get discouraged, but then we ran across the Thayer's Inn in Littleton. We were shocked and surprised when they had availability, were only $119/night for a queen room, and didn't require a 3 night stay! This raised all sorts of red flags for us and we were prepared for a shady experience. We were pleasantly surprised at our accommodations. The rooms were super clean, the staff was nice, and the location was excellent. The hotel is old, so that is something you have to be prepared for. The floors slope and there is not a square door frame in the entire house!

I think our room number was 30. We loved this location, because right outside our door was a doorway to the back porch. All of us would hang out on this porch at night and chat. After long days of sightseeing, we would park our car at the inn (plenty of parking) and could walk anywhere on Main Street. There are lovely restaurants and cute shops.

We took the advice of previous travelers and chose not to eat the free breakfast. It looked like cheap continental. Littleton is blessed with two awesome diners, so we hit each one both mornings we were there, Littleton Diner out the front door to the left and Coffee Pot-something out the door to the right across the street. Both had EXCELLENT breakfasts and were amazingly affordable.

We also ate at Beal House Inn one night for dinner and it was excellent. There is an Italian place across the street, but I didn't think it was anything special.

Would definitely recommend this place to friends.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — The building is very old-but it's too be expected
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DSMVTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here one Saturday night over Memorial Day weekend, paying $77 with a AAA discount. I thought that was quite reasonable though we found many hotels/motels in the region with rooms available. The draw is the history, reading about the celebrities who've stayed there, viewing the showcase rooms, etc.

The room was small, with a comfortable bed, a brand new bathroom and otherwise average furnishings. The window air conditioner froze up as they sometimes do. We can't speak much about the service as we required little. Breakfast was average. VCRS were in all rooms and a tapes could be borrowed from the lounge. I thought that was a nice touch. The town is not incredibly conducive to tourists. There were several shops but only one or two dinner restaurants. We didn't note any great views EXCEPT from going up in the fifth level cupola which was neat. We sat and drank wine on the tall second story porch. If you require the Hyatt or above, you may not like this. We enjoyed staying there and for the price, would return.

  • Liked — History, etc.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2007

Thayers is nice to visit because of the history, however if you have a problem, ( and there are problems), there is no manager. The hotel literally had no guests and they put us in a room three flights up with no elevator. Difficult with five pieces of luggage. The room never got clean the first day. The second day it we only got clean towels and the bed made, otherwise NO cleaning. The place was dirty. Wanted the manager, Harry to call us. He never did and we never saw him. Skip this hotel for sleeping, just stop in to view the history.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The staff was uncaring with poor customer service, the place was dirty.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed at Thayer's Inn in while visiting the White Mountains. We had a king bed on the 3rd floor. Note that this is an old property, so there are no elevators, and the floors are a little sloped in places. The furniture is old, and a bit worn, but it is to be expected in such an old place. The room was very clean and comfortable though. There are rooms on the ground floor though, if stairs are a problem for you. The staff were friendly, and the rooms were nicely furnished. We couldn't beat the price ($90/night) based on how much other hotels in the area were, and the great location - it is right on the main street in Littleton. Rooms have tv with cable, a vcr, a fridge, private bath. There is no coffee maker in the room, but they serve it downstairs for free. They also have a video tape library, so you can get videos for free. We never at the free breakfast (just bagels and cereals). Hotel is a good base location for exploring the White Mountain area. THere are balconies on each floor, front and back. Very relaxing way to spend the early evening sitting out on the balcony reading and people watching. Downstairs is a restaurant/bar called Crustacean's, which was really nice too - see the seperate review on that.

  • Liked — Unique rooms, location
  • Disliked — No elevator - I had a cast on my leg at the time, so it was a bit of effort to get up to the 3rd floor
  • Tips/Secrets — If stairs are a problem, ask for a ground floor room when making reservations.
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stamford, ct
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2006

Booked two rooms at this hotel / historic inn for a visit to NH with friends when I wanted more than a place to crash after hiking, but not a fancy, secluded B&B. The prices were so much less than other places, I was skeptical. However this is a gem! Centrally located to Lincoln and Bretton Woods and an adorable "downtown" with a few restaurants in walking distance, and many in a short driving distance. The hotel itself was very clean, well maintained, large rooms, several open porches, and a friendly and helpful staff. This is an old property - no elevators - updated rooms but not brand new. Ask for room in rear of buliding away from main street. If you've been to Mt Washington Hotel, this is similar with much lower prices. (albeit no amenities). Continental breakfast is very basic - visit The Coffee Pot or Littleton diner for good local country breakfast. Below the Inn is a wonderful restaurant, Crustaceans, with a wonderful and very diverse menu and great environment.

  • Liked — location
  • Tips/Secrets — see review
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mysticbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
0.7 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
144 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
734 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
0.7 mi away
Country Squire Motel
Country Squire Motel
#4 of 5 in Littleton
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Exit 41 Travel Inn
Exit 41 Travel Inn
#1 of 4 in Littleton
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thayers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thayers Inn

Property: Thayers Inn
Address: 111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thayers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Thayers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayers Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing