We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a deal”
Review of Thayers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thayers Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Great old historic inn on Main st.. Had a comfortable large room for two nights for $89/n

Pretty quaint and clean, great staff, Wi-Fi worked,ac worked --actually noisy hallway and stairs only complaint. Get room away from stairwell if can.

Worth every penny but do not expect an impressive room--it was state of the art 100 years ago and little has changed .

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 257 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Winchester, UK
13
Reviewed 24 July 2005

Such a lovely hotel at such an unbelievably cheap price (we paid 69 canadian dollars/night). We stayed in room 11 which was a good size, with a shower but no bath. It was a little dark, but quite a welcome relief from the blaze of the July sun! The staff were very helpful and friendly, allowing us to stay past check-out time and use the internet access to search for our next night's accomodation. The town is pretty and well situated for a trip to the white mountains, I would happily recommend the hotel to freinds and family.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
311
Reviewed 26 June 2005

The Thayers Inn is the strangest old hotel I've ever stayed in. I highly recommend it for a nihgt or two if you have to travel through central NH. The hotel is over 100 years old and has settled over time from front to back...which means it looks a bit like a carnival fun house on the insides - doors are crooked and the floor slopes a bit.

BUT, Thayers Inn is clean, neat, has free parking, is right on the River, and has Character with a capitol C. Down in the lobby you can see photos and read newspaper articles about it that cover it's entire life span.

Just like it's business card says: "An unusually good value." They should make that "An unusual Value."

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2004

We stayed at Thayers September 24-28, 2004. It is an old historic hotel with very nice rooms decorated to fit the mood. Excellent location to explore New Hampshires White Mountains and the price was a good value. Roos are clean and the VCR with a free video library was a nice touch. You can sit on the balconies while overlooking Main Sreet as well. It has a bread and breakfast feel but with private baths and TV.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnnySox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2004

Several yrs. ago, my then teenaged son was working in Littleton and got stranded in a major storm. I was living across the border in VT. THe wonderful people at the Thayer took my son in. fed him and kept him safe until I could get through the next morning. Note this was done out of the goodness of their hearts with no credit card info, only a mothers promise. The charges were nominal and he was treated wonderfully. The people at the Thayer are truly what N E is all about. It is the wonderful people like this that have helped me make my decision to move back to New England. I can never say thank you to them enough. I have recommended them to travelers many times over the years and will continue to do so.

3  Thank 379paulae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cottekill, NY
12
Reviewed 8 September 2004

Been going to Thayers for about ten years.... Hosts Don and Carolyn are always helpful and friendly..... old resorted hotel, each room a little different.....clean and many interesting details throughout hotel..... vcr available and many movies to choose..... continental breakfast OK..... reasonable price....we just like the place.... in middle of Littleton, a nice town to walk around.....been using as base for day hikes in Whites......

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montréal, Québec
14
Reviewed 24 February 2004

I agree with the "Very nice place" review.I went there 5 times 13 years ago and after also, and it has always been like that. Not only the hotel is nice, but the suroundings are also very charming for the evening, after a day in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: May 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Littleton
0.7 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#5 of 5 in Littleton
154 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
782 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
74 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
146 reviews
16.2 mi away
Lancaster Motor Inn
Lancaster Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Lancaster
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thayers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thayers Inn

Address: 111 Main St, Littleton, NH 03561-4018
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Littleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Littleton
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thayers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Henry L. Thayer was a successful Littleton, New Hampshire merchant with a dream to build a hotel more modern in equipment and character that others of its kind. The dream started taking shape in 1843 when he purchased the lot just east of his store January 14, 1850 as opening day for "THAYER'S WHITE MOUNTAIN HOTEL." Success was soon established due in part to the coming of the railroads to Littleton in 1852. After all 164 year pass the Thayers inn still offer great rooms, food and service to all visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Thayers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thayers Hotel Littleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing