We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For something special or special ocassion!”
Review of The Beal House

The Beal House
Ranked #11 of 41 Restaurants in Littleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Beal House is a 55 seat restaurant located at a classic New England Inn. Featuring exposed wood beams and soft lighting, there is a rustic but clean atmosphere. The copper top bar and soft lighting make it a cozy and casual space. The food is classic American tavern fare, with a focus on creating delicious fresh and house made dishes. Local ingredients are used whenever possible and the menu is always changing. There is an extensive beer and wine list, together with a craft cocktail menu, ensuring that there is something for everyone at the bar.
Bethlehem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“For something special or special ocassion!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Go here every year for my daughter's birthday. Food is delicious but a little on the expensive side but well worth it so we will always go there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    26
    17
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food, limited service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On our drive down to Indian Head Resort, we decided to stop in Littleton and try the Beal House. Nice atmosphere and although renovated, still remains true to it's age.

Heads up to anyone who needs air conditioning. There is only one air conditioner which doesn't sufficiently cool the restaurant.

The service was very slow and forgetful. For an appetizer we had the coconut curried shrimp which were the highlight of the meal. As a main course we ordered eggplant parmesan and the salmon. The eggplant was good but the salmon had to be returned as it was very undercooked. I realize that there is a very fine line between under cooked and over cooked salmon but if it is on the menu, then it should be prepared properly.

I am glad we had supper at the Beal House but when down in the area again, will try another restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxieMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprising”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped in as a fluke, actually looking for a completely different restaurant turns out it was the same just 4 owners back. Thanks GPS!

We had the restaurant to ourselves and enjoyed our meals! Food was very good. I ordered steak tenderloin tips medium rare which came out closer to medium, but the flavor was still good. Loved the soup du jour, it was one of my favorites, potato leek. My kids shared a homemade Mac 'n Cheese which was also tasty. Again, pleasantly surprised!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElliottML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Restaurant is great - Inn not so much”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were staying at the attached Beal House Inn, so it was convenient to have dinner here. Our meal was by far the best part of our stay. The restaurant staff was friendly and efficient, and the food was delicious. A very nice dining experience.

It's a shame the poor quality inn drags down the excellent restaurant. They should really expand the restaurant to the inn space and just be a larger great restaurant instead of a so-so inn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L0vesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Amazing food, always a nice time!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We always go to the Beal House for dinner when my family visits and always have a good time and great food. The menu is American cuisine, a little bit of everything; vegetarian, pasta, beef, chicken, seafood... The specials are amazing. The staff is very friendly, service and prices are wonderful!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beal House also viewed

Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
Littleton, White Mountains
 
Littleton, White Mountains
 

Been to The Beal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing