We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise”
Review of Stellas's Kitchen

Stellas's Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Lyme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Surprise”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The whole experience will surprise you. Best meal experience you will ever have in an old hardware store in a small and quaint New England community.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Educators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stella's Kitchen is an exceptional restaurant featuring fine Italian food with many made featuring locally grown or produced ingredients in a pleasant setting. I and a friend recently enjoyed their ravioli and eggplant dinners. Both were great and their salads are fresh and plentiful.

The service is very good and the atmosphere is inviting for diners and dinner conversation.

Stella's also has a retail store up front and offers many of their entries frozen for take home as well as speciality sandwiches and side dishes plus a wide selections of local cheeses, chocolates and other items.

I've eaten at Stella's several times and never been disappointed. Can't wait to go back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonP08861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“stella's no more!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There's nothing more disappointing than having your favorite restaurant go down hill! Stella's, a true gourmet kitchen has succumbed to GREED! ....or desperation....the last two times we went there for our lamb sausage and polenta we were very disappointed. We thought the one time was a bad day, but the second time was a repeat of a bad experience. The polenta, a relatively inexpensive ingredient, had changed from a nice mound size to a small thin pancake serving. Other dishes we got like the lamb ragout? or some lamb dish my daughter got was ridiculously small, and had more inedible fat than meat,, The service was a real disappointment also. We had pre-arranged a small birthday celebration for my daughter and reserved a table for five with the understanding they would bring out the cake for dessert after dinner. Nothing came! I had to go remind the waitress who advised she knew nothing about it. Apparently the manager never told her. That was annoying, but the main reason we are not going back is the size of the portions that have dwindled to a ridiculous size. When you leave a restaurant still hungry....even after emptying the breadbasket several times (which we had to wait a long time to get refilled) you know something is wrong! No more stella's for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gone down hill.”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stella's used to be excellent quality, creative food and reasonable prices. Unfortunately the last three meals there have been worse each time. The last and final time was for my sisters Birthday dinner. Where they forgot to bring out the birthday cake we had brought in. Not sure how easy it was to forget since we had decorated with balloons. The waitress blamed the manager saying she was never informed which either way was just plain embarrassing. That was the icing on the cake after a very blah meal. As for the food they have changed the menu with the new menu items sounding promising but lacking any quality, I ordered the new braised lamb (for the second time, I should have know better as it was very fatty the first time) this time I received more fat than meat on the plate with about 75% fat, 25% meat. When your paying around $22 for a dinner you should be able to eat the majority of meat on the plate. Even if it is generally a fatty piece of meat, there was whole pieces of just fat on my plate. From the older menu the sausage and lamb polenta used to be incredible. Now they serve a quarter of the amount of polenta and now they have attempted to grill the polenta which has resulted in a small hard dry piece with minimal sauce. The food used to be elegant and creative comfort food. It's so sad to see such a great restaurant going down hill. In fact the only decent menu items was the cheese plate and the lamb sausage minus the polenta, all the items not made on site.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ebritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Aurora, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The food was good the staff was very friendly and we were served quickly . We needed to find a restaurant in the area on Sunday and most are closed. Hanover is 12 miles away.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank scoobydo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stellas's Kitchen also viewed

Lyme, White Mountains
Lyme, White Mountains
 
Orford, White Mountains
Orford, White Mountains
 

Been to Stellas's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing