We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really nice weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Ranked #2 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Very nice location on a quiet stretch of the river. This part of New Hampshire and Vermont is a bit of a hidden gem. Lovely couple worked very hard to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. Donna is a great cook and she and John have made breakfast something to look forward to. One of us does not like eggs and that can be limiting in a B&B, but there was always a delicious griddle choice. John gave us great advice for biking and hiking and dinners afterwards. The room was nice, but not spectacular. But, the bed was comfortable and the view was great. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noomspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

The owners, John and Donna, helped us map out of route of sightseeing and visits all over New Hampshire and Vermont for each of the 5 days of leaf-peeping season that we stayed there. They were so friendly and gracious - our stay there was more like visiting with friends. We loved the inn and its location. The setting is quite beautiful.

Room Tip: If available, get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Breakfast on the Connecticut is lovely in all ways. John and Donna, proprietors, are warm, welcoming, knowledgeable. Breakfast, made by Donna, was above and beyond what one receives in many B&B's, truly scrumptious, nourishing, large variety of hot and cold offerings, including freshly made delicacies by Donna right off her grill. The rooms are cozy but spacious, clean, attractive, very comfortable and homey. The grounds are stunning. This B&B is just slightly off the beaten track and has Adirondack chairs under towering pines with beautiful views of the Green Mountains, lots of space for kids to run around or for a quiet stroll, but a mere 15 minute drive from Hanover, NH and many beautiful destinations in Vermont. There are lots of great dining options in the area, beautiful scenery, wildife, winter/summer sports etc. And if you enjoy pets, John and Donna have three lovely dogs and a super-friendly cat. A fabulous B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We, the grandparents, our daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren under the age of five, stayed for three nights at Breakfast on the Connecticut. We had a wonderful time. We were treated most kindly and the children were not only accepted but made to feel welcome. The same was not altogether true of some of the area restaurants but each morning and evening it was like we were returning home. The breakfasts were delicious and the room clean and comfortable. It is a tribute to their caring that one day we went out early and left the windows open. By the end of the day it had become oppressive. What a treat to return to the room and find the windows had been closed and the air conditioner put on just enough to provide a welcome coolness when we returned!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamalolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I visited the area for the first time and fell in love with the Inn and the fantastic couple who run it. Both my husband and I have odd food allergies, me Gluten, him apricots, walnuts and mushrooms. Donna is an accomplished cook and made modifications for us without a bit of trouble. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwscats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I spent a short weekend at this lovely inn with my husband & kids. The breakfast was OUTSTANDING and they had a special treat of homemade cookies in the afternoon. Even with a full house the innkeepers were extremely helpful during breakfast and the rest of the day. They suggested fun day activities for the whole family and a wonderful local restaurant for dinner. The rooms were clean and comfortable. This was an exceptional B&B experience. I can't imagine how you couldn't enjoy a stay at Breakfast on the Connecticut.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I enjoy staying in B&B's especially supporting local business and talking with the owners. But this place is terrible and the exact opposite of what we've found elsewhere. Picture staying in your in-laws' basement, hearing toilets flush and loud conversations like you are in the same room---that was our stay, complete with cracked concrete floor and mis-matched furniture. Very odd layout to the Inn. Feels more like a "bunker". We checked in late---9pm--- and were treated with a less than inviting welcome. The following morning we only saw the back of our hostetes' head. She did not try to engage us or even speak with us. The host, he did not introduce himself, only asked what we wanted to eat, absolutely NO small-talk!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeuroPNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 August 2011

I am sorry that you found your stay less than satisfactory. I am also pleased that you support local businesses and would know that they operate on small margins and have difficulty supporting layers of employment help. We are up at 5 AM in the morning to start breakfast and have a daily check-in time of 3 - 6 PM - your late check-in at 9 PM means that we are working on a 16 hour day. We have also learned after 13 years as innkeepers that individuals who check in late do not want small talk but want to be taken to their room. The next day we were serving 36 for breakfast - since I am chief cook and bottle washer (and there is only me) with my husband as waiter, I was focused on serving our guests their morning meal. Our favorite part of innkeeping is meeting and talking with our guests, but with overflow numbers sometimes that social contact is just not possible at breakfast. As to your room - the Inn was built in 1996 - 1997 with some of the most efficient systems possible. There is radiant heat in the floors, hence the painted concrete-like floors. We use only area rugs to maximize the efficiency and occasionally over time a crack may develop - the only crack in that room is a hairline crack in the bathroom and will be addressed the next time we repaint the floor. The bed and matching night table are Pompanoosuc Mills, a very upscale Shaker furniture manufacturer, and the sitting area has two Martha Washington chairs and a matching table, all Ethan Allen. As to the feel of a "bunker", the room has two windows and a 15 light door that opens to a private deck area. Overall our reviews are very favorable and we are sorry you found our accommodations not to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
3.5 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
133 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
469 reviews
12.2 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Hanover Lebanon
13.4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
17.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#4 of 7 in Lebanon
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Connecticut

Address: 651 River Rd, Lyme, NH 03768-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range: £93 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfast on the Connecticut 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Breakfast on the Connecticut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing