We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Joy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Breakfast on the Connecticut
Ranked #2 of 3 Lyme B&B and Inns
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Joy”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

While house hunting in the area, it has been a joy to visit the Breakfast on the Connecticut. Charming Hosts. Nice peaceful rooms. The sink and showers set up is a big strange, but everything else make up for it. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    24
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
60
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Although the ski part of our ski getaway didn't work out as well as we had hoped (thanks Mother Nature!) we greatly enjoyed our night at Breakfast on the Connecticut. We received a warm welcome and plenty of suggestions for alternate activities when we realized our hopes of skiing weren't going to pan out. The breakfast was wonderful - Donna and John do a great job of taking care of all your needs. The atmosphere in the common areas was friendly and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. We hope to return in warmer weather to take advantage of the amazing property surrounding the B&B. One night simply does not do it justice!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna51047, Owner at Breakfast on the Connecticut, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you so much for your generous review. Shortly after you left the entire Northeast was hit with Storm Nemo leaving all ski areas with wonderful powder. I am sorry that you missed all the new snow. We hope to see you again and maybe next time if the snow conditions are not the best we can convince you to try the Nordic skating track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while attending the Grand Opening of King Arthur flour addition.
Donna and John could not have been more helpful. They were most attentive to our needs. We have stayed here several times in the past for our "getaways".
Breakfasts cannot be beat and the views from this B&B are spectacular.
Thanx again to Donna and John

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Returned yesterday from a wonderful 5 night stay at this great B&B whilst visiting our son at Dartmouth. John and Donna made us feel welcome and comfortable from the minute we met them. Breakfast was fresh and delicious. John and Donna were very friendly and informative. Room 1 was large and comfortable with a delightful view from the private deck of the gardens and the river beyond. The whole ambience was very relaxing. We will definitely stay here again during future visits - we feel we have made some very special friends in John and Donna.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Haz_Gman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for just 1 night. Breakfast was terrific...choice from the grill was waffles with fresh strawberries or a vegetable omelet...we both had the waffles and they tasted great and were beautifully presented. John gave us great advice on a running route and where to eat dinner. Wish we could have stayed longer, but we'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7, which was very nice. One thing I didn't pick up from the photo was that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Our son was married last Sunday at Breafast on the Connecticut. My husband and I have stayed at this wonderful Bed and Breakfast for short weekend trips to visit our sons when they attended Dartmouth. This visit was an extended visit for our son's wedding and it could not have been more perfect. Donna and John made us and all of our guests feel comfortable and at home...no small task with a full Inn. On this trip we were able to appreciate some of the amenities that we didn't have time for on previous visits. We enjoyed the use of the Inn dock, kayaks and canoes On the beautiful Connecticut River. We enjoyed biking on Inn bicycles on the beautiful country roads. We used the spa in the open air gazebo on the night of the "blue moon". It was magical. The Inn rooms were spotless...the breakfasts delicious. Our group included school age children, adolescents, adults and seniors...honestly there was not a single complaint. Guests remarked that they appreciated seeing room pictures on line. This helped in room selection. We felt that the rates were extremely reasonable. We are hoping to return for a family reunion.

Room Tip: Check the room descriptions and pictures on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DTK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Crossing P
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

but the short run on this drive to BOTC was a wonderful exception. Delightful welcoming owners, pleasant comfortable accommodations, delicious country breakfasts, peaceful surroundings and weather that was amazingly perfect. Our too-short stay was a five star treat. We'll be back...

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyme
3.5 mi away
The Lyme Inn
The Lyme Inn
#1 of 1 in Lyme
117 reviews
12.2 mi away
Six South St Hotel
Six South St Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hanover
266 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
439 reviews
13.3 mi away
Courtyard Hanover Lebanon
13.4 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Connecticut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Connecticut

Property: Breakfast on the Connecticut
Address: 651 River Rd, Lyme, NH 03768-3017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lyme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Breakfast on the Connecticut 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Breakfast on the Connecticut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing